Under Two Weeks Until My Birthday *SIGH*

I’m sure most people get excited about their birthday being less than two weeks away, mines in 11 days to be exact. Normally I’m pretty excited for my birthday, but not this year. It’s just starting to feel like another day to me now, every year I’d go out with the same people I’ve been out with in previous years and we all know how it turns out, you probably spend about two hours with the entire group then you all get split up, before you know it there’s just you and the friend whose house your stopping in Sheffield.

Not always a bad thing but repetitive. I’ve decided I’m not doing anything for my birthday this year, mainly because I don’t have any money, but also I just can’t be bothered. I’ll wait a few weeks until it’s someone elses birthday and go out for that, that way I won’t be disappointed on the night when people don’t show up.

The other thing I hate about birthdays is the question, “What did you get for your birthday?”

Not the worst thing to be asked but when you get asked it over and over throughout the entire day and the day after it gets pretty frustrating, this year I have the grand task of telling them all I got nothing, usually I’d get something from my parents but I had my birthday “present” earlier this year as they paid for the repairs on my car when I had the MOT done, which came to £312.

You earn £96,000 a year dad, don’t be a tight git.

I’d usually get some deodorant or something to that effect from my cousin Lynn and that’s about it. All of my mates would normally just get me a pint.

I suppose that’s the one good thing about celebrating your birthday, people buy you drinks. I’ve never been one to ask for free drinks on my birthday, one of my friends though, he’s funny on his birthday, he’ll have a mental list in his mind of people who have bought him a drink and people that haven’t bought him a drink, every pub we’d go in,

OOOH SPARKLES! =/

“YOU! You haven’t bought me a drink yet! Get to the bar!”

*Goes to bar, gets him drink*

“Bout time!”

Not even a thank you! Mate, that’s not why we came out so we could buy you a drink, we came out to celebrate your birthday! You shouldn’t be going round demanding drinks off of people, it’ll just stop people from celebrating it with you in future years! I for one didn’t go out for his birthday this year.

Half the people I go out with now don’t even know when my birthday is anyway! I remember one time in France, I was doing the night shift, I’d left my laptop unattended so the chef, who came back from a night out decided to fuck with my Facebook account, the next morning (Or afternoon, I was on a night shift after all) I had 50 new notifications, I thought,

“This is odd”

Usually I’d get between 1 to 4 notifications over night but not 50, so when I checked to see what they all were, they were all happy birthday messages, the bastard had changed my birth date so everyone gets a message it’s my birthday on the next day! Funny yes, but also annoying because people who posted “Happy Birthday” on the 18th of December are some of the same people that came out for my birthday on August 3rd when my birthday actually is.

Really? Can you not remember that far back?!

People that I had known since school, even FAMILY MEMBERS wished me a happy birthday, family members, people that have known me for 25 years still didn’t know what date or even month in general my birthday was.

I shook my head, changed my profile back and forgot about it.

A couple of days later, did the exact same thing, chef came back drunk, fiddled with my laptop, boom, more notifications, the SAME people who wished me a happy birthday two or three days ago had now wished me happy birthday again, what are they mindless robots? They see “It’s Peter Howorths birthday today” and just thoughtlessly wish happy birthday? If I just changed my profile so it was my birthday every day I wonder how many times those people would actually comment?

Hmm, maybe that’s a future idea for a blog post!

I don’t know if that’s frustration with Facebook, birthdays or just my friends but too be honest, if you don’t even know when my birthday is and your just posting on my wall because Facebook told you to, I’d rather you not spam my Facebook page at all thank you.

I would say last year was the most depressing birthday I ever had, I usually booked the day off but I’d not long started at Voice Marketing, I got to work in the morning, they all had a big gather up and sang happy birthday to the Ops Manager because his birthdays the same day as mine, I stood at the back being ignored, whatever no one knew it was my birthday apart from the people in my training group, though they wished me happy birthday which was nice. Then I spent the entire day getting told to fuck off and end my own life, got no sales that entire day, got home about half 8 at night then went to bed. Just another day.

Although I say I’m not doing anything for my birthday, there’s still 11 days for that to change, Fiona wanted me to go to her mates brothers wedding which is on August 5th, I don’t think so some how, I’m not spending the day I would have spent celebrating my birthday by going to some commoners wedding I don’t know or care about. (When I say commoner, I’m hardly the Prince of Wales but when I look at them I just think… council estate. If you know what I mean?) I’d rather stay in and stalk everyone on WordPress than go to that.

But no doubt I’ll keep you up to date with how my birthday went, hey I may even get a job by then and end up having to work it like last year.

5 thoughts on “Under Two Weeks Until My Birthday *SIGH*

  1. I have problems with other people’s b’day as the only one I can remember is mine. But as I get older I wish I could forget my birthdays and remain 29 forever. Of course, 29 was eons ago.

  2. Okay, you don’t like being asked what you got for your birthday – well, what would you really want for your birthday? I hate birthdays too. I just turned 40. I don’t feel 40 and I don’t think I look it but it is soooo very depressing. I no longer have any friends to spend my birthdays with. I usually get a video game but never any thing I ask for.
    29 was a good age!!!! I would have liked to stay 29.
    okay, now I am depressed – ha ha

  3. The thing is I don’t really want anything for my birthdays or Christmas’ anymore, I could do with money but that’s only because I’m vastly in debt but as opposed to WANTing anything, I don’t. Not like when I was a child and I wanted certain toys and video games or what not, now it’s like, “Great, more deodorant”.

    A night out with friends doesn’t really interest me because I can go out with them any week, the only difference is I wouldn’t be so disappointed if they didn’t show up on a normal night out. Though my girlfriend told me tonight she has planned something, which intrigues me… :)

Leave a Reply

