Maybe You Should’ve Stuck To Rehab

So everyone pretty much knows by now that Amy Winehouse, aged 27 died Saturday afternoon around 4pm in London. The real sad thing is everyone expected it to happen sooner or later which is pathetic for anyone in their 20′s. Now I have my opinions on it, I’m not closed minded, or ignorant, this is just what’s in my mind, I can’t help my feelings on the matter anymore than anyone else can.

So if this particular piece is something some of you may not agree on, *shrugs* get over it.

Having reported health issues as early as three years ago, her own father said she was ill due to chain smoking and taking crack cocaine. What really pisses me off is the sympathy she’s getting, I’ve seen it plastered all over Facebook and various other places, yeah she was a talented musician but aside from that, a horrible human being in my opinion, I don’t expect everyone to agree with me but this is what I’ve always thought about her.

The fact that she constantly took drugs and got away with it makes me sick, people are out there saying what a nice person she was, she was nothing but an over-marketed junkie in my eyes. When you see drug users in the streets smacked out of their eyeballs do you think, “I bet they’re a nice person really”? When they’re mugging you for drug money, do you think it then? Winehouse was no better, she was just a junkie that made a lot of money. Before she even became a star she had substance abuse problems, yet I see people blame it on the music industry.

Tried to stick it out in rehab but eventually just relapsed each time, even prostituted her selfish personal life by writing a song about it, in actual fact she should have been put in prison, you see people go to prison all the time for drugs, the only thing is you wouldn’t have to prove it with Winehouse as she constantly confessed to doing so, her constant rehab trips make it obvious as well. It just seems to me that if your classed as a celebrity you can pretty much do what you want and get away with it. That’s one reason of many why I don’t have sympathy.

I can imagine addiction is a hard thing to overcome, but nothing physically forces you to become addicted in the first place, doesn’t matter if something bad has happened, if you think taking cocaine, ecstasy, heroin, ketamine or alcohol is a good idea to get away from your problems then you must be a complete imbecile to begin with.

I’ve seen people post how no one’s tried to help her, no one knows exactly what’s gone on in her personal life. Well you’ve just contradicted yourself, exactly we don’t know what’s gone on in her personal life, only what those pathetic tabloid magazines/newspapers report, so how do you know if she hasn’t had help or not? It’s easy to place blame, but the blame solely rests on Winehouse for taking drugs in the first place. She knew if she carried on doing what she was doing it would kill her, yet she did it anyway.

While real news is happening at the moment, psychopaths shooting up a summer camp killing around 90 people, we have to constantly be told about Winehouse and at least every 6 months or so on the news before that it was “Winehouse is back on the drugs” well what a surprise!

She was no great role model to the people that idolized her and she had no right being in a position of being a role model in the first place, whether it was assaulting members of the public, spitting at Pippa Middleton or headbutting photographers, destroying her body with God awful tattoo’s, that beehive she called a head, people should be glad she’s out of the picture because now impressionable teenagers won’t be trying to emulate her. If people should learn one thing from Winehouse it’s don’t follow in her footsteps.

It will come out on the news eventually how she died, as it’s “unexplained” at the moment, but I would wager it’s either drug related or suicide. I won’t be surprised at either and obviously at her age it’s not going to be natural causes.

And while the music industry has lost a huge talent, the human gene pool has been improved just that little bit more, as it’s one more drug user in the ground.

If I feel sympathy for anyone it’s the friends and family of hers that did actually try and help her, but to no avail.

So yeah, rest in peace Amy Jade Winehouse, because thanks to you and your selfishness, your family certainly won’t.

14 thoughts on “Maybe You Should’ve Stuck To Rehab

  1. Well said, it’s a disgrace that the death of someone who is a celebrity junkie can overshadow the deaths of 90 innocent children in Norway, the only reason that she is getting attention is because she is a “celebrity” it’s a disgrace. All the money in the world and she wasted it, her life and her talent.

  2. YES! Someone who is slamming down the sympathy card on the monstrosity of her rollercoaster life. She was a bully, and one who I didn’t have the time for – only a small time for her music in another small slot on my Itunes playlists.

    Interestingly enough, I commented on pienbiscuits post saying the exact same thing as yourself – I feel sympathy for her friends and family, rather than for her. She’s now just another musical dead legend.

  3. Hey All. I pretty much agree with ya’ll bout this, too. I didn’t really listen to her, but knew who she was through that one over played song that wore thin quickly…. the rehab song…
    I don’t have much of a feeling either way, I guess. What did people think would happen? I do feel for her family, though, those are the poor souls who have to deal with this now.
    Life goes on.
    I’ve started a new blog… check it out…
    http://www.theexperiencedoptimist.wordpress.com

    Ciao Peter.

  4. i agree with you. you never see an old junkie, do you? at the end of the day its a loss when someone dies so young, but i just feel for her poor dad.and i hate how she is seen as a role model for young people when she was blatently encouraging drug abuse.

  5. AMEN! Thank you. These are my thoughts exactly. She was no hero and sure it was sad that she died so young but IT WAS HER OWN FAULT…ok I feel better now. Thanks for this post.

  6. It is sad when any one dies but I think she knew it was coming sooner or later. She accepted it would happen eventually or she would have stopped. I realize it is an addictios and it is a disease. Some say addicts can’t help it but I believe they can. Addicts are sober some times and in their sober moments I am sure they are clear minded enough to know what their future holds. I have a drug addicted brother n law and he has told me that he knows his day is coming but he is not ready to quit and willing to take the chance of death. He has been so lucky so far but when you play you pay eventually. I like reading your blog and hope you may visit mine.

  7. I don’t really have any sympathy for the family either tbh.

    They knew she was an addict and could have made sure she stayed in there or helped her a bit more. Letting her roam around taking more drugs certainly isnt goin to help is it?

    Mark.

  8. I am so glad that someone has spoken out about this subject. I agree with everything you wrote in your article. Fans were celebrating this artist as she snorted cocaine on stage during her concerts. A talented girl she was, but after everyone attempted to straighten her out, she just wasn’t really feeling up to living life sober. There is only so much friends and family can do when a loved one is addicted to illicit substances. She could have participated in a thousand treatment programs and it probably still wouldn’t have worked because SHE did not REALLY accept treatment. She was going to continue no matter what. People should stop blaming people around her and blame the right person…Amy! Great Article!

  9. Wow, finally someone who actually thought about what happened there. Very good! I remember my boyfriend telling me about how there was a 6 pages special about Amy Winehouse in a New Zealand newspaper and a maybe 300 words long article about what happened in Norway. That does not really speak for our culture nowadays… So thank you for showing me that there are some sensible people left in this world.

Leave a Reply

