Top 10 Songs…

…That Chill Me Out

After a week or even a day at work the first thing I do when I come home is listen to music, usually I have music on in the car and it’s probably rock music, to drown out the silence the day at work brought me. Driving home tends to stress me out by itself with the amount of traffic and idiots that somehow managed to get their greasy hands on a driving license.

So when I get home I prefer to sit by myself, not having to talk to anyone and put on some music.

The top ten songs that get me chilled out may be depressing to some or boring to others but to me it helps me unwind and forget about the day I’ve just had.

So let’s begin at number 10…

L.A. by Christian Kane

I’ve loved this song ever since I saw it on Angel all those years ago, Christian Kane was one of my favourite people on that show and it’s a shame I haven’t seen him in much of the other stuff I’ve watched. But this song has always stuck with me.

Number 9:

A Drop In The Ocean by Ron Pope

I think Ron Pope is awesome, he’s pretty much unknown and I can’t remember who introduced me to his music but I was extremely happy when he recently got some exposure with this song on the first episode of Vampire Diaries season 3. He see’s like a genuinely awesome guy and I hope he does really well.

Number 8:

Together by The Kin

The Kin I was first introduced to a couple of years back when I was watching the short lived TV show Moonlight, since then I’ve become a big fan of theirs and especially of this song, this version I love but the original song is awesome too so if you do get the chance check that out as well.

Number 7:

White Blank Page by Mumford & Sons

Totally gutted when I missed them at Leeds Festival last year, I didn’t really know them so I wasn’t that bothered though but when my friends told me how awesome they were I checked them out and they have quickly became one of my favourite bands. Their album that they have out is one of the only albums I’ve heard that has no filler on it, every song sounds like it could be released as a single. Every song is awesome.

Number 6:

Ain’t No Reason by Brett Dennen

Too be honest I haven’t heard much of his stuff, I’ve listened to a couple other of his songs and wasn’t that impressed but I think this song has relevance to what is happening today and the sound and grace of it is orgasmic to my ears.

Number 5:

Float On by Modest Mouse

If there’s one thing that lifts my spirits after a particular stressful day, this is it, it’s just a happy song and would make even the grumpiest fucker crack a smile.

Number 4:

Passing Afternoon by Iron & Wine

Another one off song for me as I haven’t heard a lot of his stuff, I love this song though, I think I heard it on House, it seems I hear a lot of my music on TV shows haha, but that’s where the best songs are these days!

Number 3:

Brand New Day by Ryan Star

The original version used for the Lie To Me opening credits is awesome but I also love this version he did live with a little help from the crowd, I never get bored of this song and is almost on every playlist I ever create on iTunes.

Number 2:

Freebird by Andre Braugher

I much prefer this song to the original made by Lynyrd Skynyrd, Andre’s voice in this is so good and the song he did with Paul Giamatti, Try a little tenderness is awesome too. This is from the film “Duets” and if you haven’t seen it you need to, it’s basically karaoke but with people that can sing, not the Saturday night in the run down club with your aunt that’s butchering her favourite song from the 70s. I just wished they made a full version of this…

Number 1:

Divenire by Ludovico Einaudi

There’s nothing that chills me out more than a bit of classic music, Ludovico Einaudi got me into classical music and this is just one of many of the songs I absolutely love. I listened a lot of his stuff late last year when I was in France, away from home and stuck doing a job that I actually couldn’t stand with people I could stand less. Every composition he does is amazing and if you do like classical music or even if you don’t I beg you to give him a chance because you won’t be disappointed.

That’s pretty much it, there are loads of songs that I listen to when I want to chill out and relax, but these are the top 10. Originally it was going to be a top five but it was too hard to decide which songs I wanted to keep off the list and even now there are still many songs I want to share.

Feel free to tell me which songs you listen to when you just want to relax, I’m always looking for new songs to fill my iPod with!

And I’m sorry but just because I mentioned it and I really want you to take a look at how awesome Paul Giamatti really is, here’s Try A Little Tenderness from the film Duets.

17 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs…

  1. Well that’s just an awesome list. I haven’t heard of many of them. 10) Christian Kane, isn’t he in “Leverage” now? Good song, I downloaded it. 9) Sadly, Ron Pope, I could not find. Wow, what talent. 8) The Kin, wow. They’re unbelievable. Sadly, I could not find the either, but then again I’m looking on a different site than Itunes. But wow. 7) Mumford and Son’s I’ve heard of, and I downloaded a Live Version of that song. I’ve been meaning to pick up their Album, just awesome. 6) Brett Dennen, wow. Some of this stuff makes me think of Tracy Chapman who was quite good. Downloaded that song. 5) Modest Mouse I have heard of, and I’ve heard that song, but didn’t know it was them. Downloaded it. 4) Iron & Wine, very nice. I haven’t heard of them/him, but I used to watch “House” quite a bit, and may have heard it on there. Downloaded it. 3) Ryan Star, awesome, once again, I haven’t heard of him/them. Downloaded the Album Version. 2) Duets. Wow, Andre’s voice is truly Sweet. I do believe I caught the end of this Film at some point. I’ll have to watch the whole thing, couldn’t find his version of it on my site. 1) Ludovico Einaudi. Wow. I might have heard this song, and him before, but I didn’t know his name. Downloaded that song, and will research more of his music. Andre and Giamatti, love Giamatti as well. Watch “Sideways” often when I cook Italian Food, lol. And have a glass of wine. Here are a few of the Song I myself listen to http://darkjade68.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/emote-a-darkjade-musical-journey/ my Post Emote – A DarkJade Musical Journey. I keep many songs on Playlists, but Change my Fave Playlist Frequently, depending on my Mood. At the Moment I have Several Songs from “Evanescence” including “Anywhere”, what a lovely song, “My Last Breath” I’ve used a couple of these on my Posts lately, “Imaginary”, “Eternal”, “Fields of Innocence” and “Ascension of the Spirit”. Excellent Post, thank you for sharing a bit of your Soul with us. I shall call this new Playlist, Ard. lol

  2. Pingback: Utopia | The Written Word

  3. I feel quite bad that I haven’t heard of any of these bands or songs! I’ve heard ‘Free Bird’, obviously, but only the Lynard version.

    To chill out I normally listen to some Thursday. It’s like end-of-the-world music, it makes you just want to lie on the tracks and wait for the end to run you over. It’s amazing. Listening to them literally tears the breath from my lungs… hmm… I have a funny conception of ‘chilling out’, evidently. Still worth a listen though…

    And this is an excellent post, as always :D

Leave a Reply

