Top 10 Songs…

…Of My Favourite X Factor Auditions

Well it seems I’m still pretty unwell for reasons I won’t go into as they’re pretty graphic and you don’t see to read about it but just know, I’m powering through! To take my mind off of things I’ve decided to do yet another Top 10 List, a special edition if you will.

As you know whether you live in the US or the UK or even Australia, X Factor is currently airing on our screens, I’ve only seen a handful of episodes from the US X Factor, all I have to say is Simon Cowell is sorely missed over on X Factor UK and you guys are lucky to have him while we’re stuck with the monotone Gary Barlow. Should have forked out more money and got Robbie Williams to do it, that’d have been ratings!

Anyway whether you hate it or love it, at some point in your life you have watched an episode and I want to share my top 10 X Factor auditions from some of my favourite acts, this will be a list of UK entrants only as X Factor USA is still in its first season and I havent watched enough of it to make any judgements. So those that watch X Factor over here will have probably seen these and those in the US that haven’t this is a chance to see what England had to offer.

The videos aren’t really that long because auditions rarely last more than 2 minutes. Plus due to some stupid reason, anything X Factor has had their embedding disabled! So instead of posting the videos here I will link them in the title instead, but do watch!

Number 10:

Turn My Swag On by Cher Lloyd

Cher Lloyd from X Factor 2010, while she seems like just a dirty chav is actually a pretty awesome singer, this audition suprised me in a lot of ways, such a big voice from such a small girl, she went on and finished in 4th place, which was pretty shocking, she was my second favourite to win, luckily my favourite who I picked from the beginning did win!

Number 9:

Little Help From My Friends – Danyl Johnson

This awesome guy was in X Factor 2009, also finished four, his rendition of this song still haunts me to this day, I can barely watch X Factor without thinking of this audition, I had this guy picked to win but alas that was not to happen, instead it was some sneaky bastard called Joe McElderry, who when he didn’t get Christmas number 1 single due to a fan protest putting Rage Against The Machine up there, he was dropped from his label! Yeah suck it McElderry!

Number 8:

Supersition by Olly Murs

Olly Murs was also in the 2009 edition of The X Factor, he was my second pick to win the whole thing but as I’ve already stated it was that joke McElderry, this guy came in second place and proved that you don’t need to win the show to be successful as he is currently making music, making an album and only just two years after coming second place on X Factor is now hosting the behind the scenes show the Xtra Factor! Quite remarkable actually.

Number 7:

Blowers Daughter by Diana Vickers

I fell instantly in love with Diane Vickers from X Factor 2008, who also finished in fourth! What is it with all my favourite acts finishing in fourth place?! Her voice is so unique, I could listen to it for hours, although now she’s left X Factor she’s gone on to have a career making pretty crappy pop songs, so I am no longer a fan.

Number 6:

Sex Is On Fire by Jamie Archer

From the 2009 X Factor, he was my girlfriends favourite to win I think, he was voted out after the sixth week though which was a damn shame, I loved his voice and this audition is rare, he got the entire crowd involved. I even got to meet him too when he stayed at the Ibis Hotel I was working at, I threatened to add another night onto his stay if he didn’t leave as he was well past the 12pm Check out! Yeah don’t mess with me.

Number 5:

Change Is Going To Come by Rebecca Ferguson

I tell you something, I wish I was the one that had kids with her, hubba hubba! Her voice can sound eerily like Amy Winehouse at times, she was amazing in last years X Factor and even finished in second place, which was both shocking and a delight.

Number 4:

Cannonball by John Adams

This guy was on this years auditions but unfortunately never made it past the bootcamp stages which I found absolutely horrendous, he was a featured singer on the show and was cut way before he should have been, especially considering the amount of crap we have stinking up our television we have at the moment, this guy not getting through actually made me angry and deserved a shot in front of the live crowd.

Number 3:

Ain’t No Sunshine by Joe Chukukere

Applied for the X Factor back in 2008, didn’t make it past the bootcamp stages which is a shame, he kind of choked it up when it mattered the most, then I met him when I got a job at Voice Marketing, his music career didn’t take off at all as he was stuck doing outbound sales with me! And yeah we ripped him so much for having Holly and Cheryl Cole  drool over him. Don’t know what’s happened to him now though, he just left Voice one day and never came back, maybe there is still hope for him yet?

Number 2:

I’m No Good by Matt Cardle

This was the guy I picked to win last years X Factor the moment I saw this audition and you know what? I was absolutely right! Matt Cardle didn’t disappoint the entire time he was in X Factor and every performance he gave was pretty awesome. The guy is now enjoying success as he has recently released his single.

Number 1:

Your Song by Janet Devlin

This girl has the sweetest voice I’ve ever heard and is absolutely gorgeous, I’m so in love with her and if she doesn’t win this year it’ll be a crime! Her performances on the live shows have been epic so far and I know for sure that she’ll last for a long time, she is my pick to win the whole thing and I’d like to update you all sometime in the future and brag about how I was right two years in a row!

This is the best audition I have seen and I’ve been on her YouTube channel, she has a fantastic taste in music and I just know that if she ever made an album, it’d be amazing and unique, a lot of people compare her to Diana Vickers, just because of how different their voices are compared to the main stream stuff of today, it’s not a bad thing except I have hopes that Janet won’t go on to make cheesy crappy pop songs!

And there you have it, this has been my top ten, sorry for the links to video’s, I think X Factor are being nazi’s when it comes to embedding, why I don’t know. But whatever, I had an idea in my head and I did it regardless!

I’ve been watching bits and pieces of X Factor USA and so far there are two people that have really stood out to me, the first is Chris Rene, recovering drug user came on and sang his own song, something which is rare in any talent contest. The crowd the into it and so was I.

Dexter Haygood, old school in every sense of the word, he was pretty famous I think back in the mid 80s but things went south and he ended up homeless five years later, now he lives at friends or from his car, you can tell how much this means to him and I hope he really gets back on top from this show.

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs…

  1. I’ve basically seen most of the episodes in all the seasons of X-Factor! I can’t even deny that I enjoy it, as shameful as it sounds, because my boyfriend tapes it for a few weeks when I don’t see him, and then we have a bit of a catch-up together and pig out on shit. It’s awesome and I love it. There, I’ve said it. There’s no going back!

    I actually think there’s so many great singers on this season and it’s going to be so hard to kick people off, once the usual novelty acts have pissed off (*cough, Frankie, cough*). I love Janet and I love Craig and I love Johnny but most of all I freaking LOVE Mischa. She’s like an artist already and the best thing she can do is to not win the show because they’ll just turn her into a ghost like all the other winners. Her performances are just exquisite. Not my kind of music at all, but I love her.

    Oh, and Matt Cardle is coming to my ASDA in December, just to let you know. See? We get all the great celebrities *rolls eyes* :D

    Oh oh oh! And Tulisa on rock week: ‘I didn’t realise it was “rock”, I thought it was just like, you know… the vibe, the energy’. Rhythmix do Kesha. PESS OFF YER LITTLE CHAVVY BITCH!

      • Nothing to be ashamed about haha :D I’m not a fan of Johnny though I suppose he appeals to the females more, don’t know why. When Janet gets eliminated that’s when I stop watching. Though Mischa will probably end up winning.

        I need to get down to ASDA! I swoon over Matt hahah, first Keith Lemon and now Matt Cardle! We get Elton John booked to play in the Chesterfield FC ground! (LOLWUT)

        And yeah Tulisa probably hadn’t heard of any of the songs the other acts sang, stupid tart.

  2. Sorry you’re not up to par, Pete.

    I don’t watch X Factor but do see an occasional vid clip now and again. Is Janet Devlin still in the run because I want her to win.

    I don’t even want to hear the version of ‘Ain’t no Sunshine’ on there because the original artist is one of my very favs… Bill Withers. Love him. No one can compare.

    I do love Simon. He’s in commercials over here off and on, I think he’s someone most Americans love to hate. I think he’s quite cute.

    Feel better my little pub crawler :)

    • Get it listened to! He’s my friend who was actually on TV! Haha, he did a good job at it.

      I love Simon because everything he says is the truth, that’s why people don’t like him I suppose. When people go on the show they don’t care about the others opinion, it’s only Simon’s that matter.

      And yeah my Janet’s still in the running :D

  3. Pete, my laptop has died! Like, actually totally died. It’s been awful for about a year but this morning it just went bleeeeggh. How coincidental that it died just as we were on about it! Some supernatural being clearly hates me and I need to give him sacraficial ferret-blood cake.

    Ahem. Anyway, as such I won’t be on WP again until it’s fixed. There’s a forum thread on it anyway. Just wanted to let you know I’m not dead… my computer is. :D

    • I’ve just seen! I am very not impressed! How will a captain run his ship without his first mate by his side!

      He shan’t I tell you! HE SHAN’T!

      I shall come up with some crazy Aquarium Monday story for Monday while you are gone and post it in your honour!

Leave a Reply

