Oops

I think the title pretty much sums up the past few days. I’ve been absent from here for the weekend, Saturday I held the first annual ‘Ardfest at my house while the parents were away. Bought a BBQ, a load of beer, had friends over.

What could possibly go wrong?

What did go wrong was that it was the first time my sister-in-law came over to the Fortress of Arditude, me and some other friends went to go pick someone up and get some money etc, while I was gone, the sis was crying and everyone’s looking at the floor.

“Bit of an issue” she says. “I was showing my engagement and wedding rings to Stacey and I’ve dropped them in the gaps on the decking.”

A bit of an issue?! The decking had been put there 10 years ago and hasn’t since been touched, five minutes in my back garden and Amy’s got me dismantling it. Told her she wasn’t getting them back, and then she started crying…

So me and the men (because it’s man’s work is wood) had to try and unscrew the screws that held a length of decking down, that had been put in place with a power drill. An hour went by and we managed to remove the decking and retrieve the two rings then we spent another half an hour replacement said plank of wood. It doesn’t sit right but if the parents ask I’ll just tell them the woods warped, it’s not so bad that you’d notice it without looking though so I think it’ll be alright.

Before that even happened I had to assemble the poxy BBQ that I’d spent £30 on, what a piece of shit it is. It did it’s job but we had this big bastard BBQ that was gas powered, it had a massive gas bottle and my dad sold it for £50, what a bellend. “We never use it” he said. I FUCKING USE IT!

Now I’m using this.

Then Amy swallows a bottle of my dads wine that was in the fridge, that’s something he will notice. It’s a good job I love Amy otherwise she’d be getting the hairy side of my hand across her chops. :P

Anyway, it was still an awesome night, saw some friends that I hadn’t seen in a long time and some that I don’t get to see that often. I woke up Sunday without a hang over, which is good because I had a lot of cleaning to do the day after.

Then I spent the rest of the day watching films, bliss.

Today comes and I have an interview at a broadband company doing tech support that I was put forward for through a mate that works there, bad thing is it’s tech support and I know fuck all in relation to the technical side of broadband, routers, TCP/IP, NAT, DHCP etc etc. I tried to learn it all this morning before hand but it just wasn’t enough time and when I was asked technical questions in the interview I totally went blank and ended up saying “Don’t know” to most of the questions.

I did alright on the customer service side of things though and apparently they’re big on customer service. So it’s a bit 50/50, one of the questions was, “What really gets on your nerves, what annoys you?” and I said, “Old people.” knowing this wouldn’t be enough I tried to recover and said “lack of team work and people not telling me when I’m doing things wrong.” Big OOPS moment.

I turned up to the interview wet because I had the roof down on the car and it decided to start pissing it down, there was no where for me to stop to put the roof back up so I just had to deal.

Oh well, I’m not fussed if I get it or not, it’s in a location where there’s no parking. Parking in Sheffield is horrific, plenty of spaces, lack of cheapness. I once had a job doing telesales for this company called Unicom, didn’t know where to park it so I banged it in a multi-story carpark, came back at the end of the day and had to pay £16.50 for a days parking! They told me that there was a road that had free parking on it so the next day I got to Sheffield an hour early, drove around trying to find this street.

An hour went by so did half a tank of petrol so I thought “Fuck this.” and went home. Never to return.

Now I’m home, alone again

This sums up how I feel most of the time.

17 thoughts on “Oops

    • Hah thanks, knowing my luck I’ll get it then I’ll have to try and figure out how to get there every day without spending a huge amount at carparks!

        • Sadly no :( there’s a website where people can rent parking spaces at their apartments that they don’t use/need, cheapest seems to be £60 a month!

          • oh wow.. thats so much! so you definitely dont want to do that huh? but if you get the job, you should calculate how much it would be to pay for parking every day as a pose to rent that … bc it might equal the same if not more :/ goodluck!

  1. The Nick Cage compilation was very therapeutic for me. That may be how I feel on the inside most of the time except I keep it hidden! Haha!
    You party sounds like fun was had for one and all.
    Good luck with the job… I laughed with the old people comment! Classic!

    • I sat back in my car and yelled, OLD PEOPLE?! Jesus Christ.

      Another question was, “Tell me about a situation you didn’t handle correctly and how it was resolved.”

      Instantly I thought of telling a customer to F Off and then to resolve it I was fired ahaha.

  2. This explains a lot, Lol… Is some of that footage the one where he thinks he’s a Vampire? Lol Can’t remember if I saw it, and I haven’t seen a lot of that footage before, pretty hilarious…

    “What Really Gets On Your Nerves”… “Old People”, Ha, that is Classic

    You might Try this Method next time

    or

    Lol, maybe not

    DarkJade-

    • I don’t remember that film actually but I’ll have to check it out, this is why Cage was awesome not that Ghost Rider shit.

      You should see another question I was asked on Lisa’s response hah! I hate interviews. Just give me the fucking job already.

      Next time I’m gonna ask for 200 pounds, Good Will Hunting is epic.

  3. If you ever move to the USA I can totally hook you up with a tech support job here. It’s working for the mafia, but in these times work is work. The mafia also isn’t as scary as they used to be. Now they just take money from poor people through loan sharking. Not as much violence as there used to be unfortunately.

    • Working for the mafia, that’s definitely worth the move! What kind of tech support do the mafia need though? “My shovel snapped while buring a dead body, what instrument should I use?”

  4. Oh God, what a weekend! Whatever way the interview went, at least you’re making an effort which is more than can be said for some people. Something’ll turn up, anyway. I’m still waiting on becoming a millionaire- so I can buy a llama farm and I can then employ you to come round and do sweet fuck all. The stuff of dreams, my friend!

    • It’s bound to happen eventually, how can it not? It’s only a week away until our Blogiversary and I realised I’m in the exact same position I was in as last year haha, good times!

      • I’ve made us a special post for our Blogiversary! It is glorious and covered in ketchup. If it makes you feel any better, I’m worse off now than I was last year. At least last year I had some sort of hope- now everything is drowning in poop and poorness. Stuff’ll get better- you’ve got yourself out of it before, I’m sure you can do it again. Companies just need to stop being heartless bastards with no ideas about how to run a company.

        And in other news, this yogurt I am eating is the worst thing I have ever tasted.

        • Damn that’s shit. I had this ice cream last night, it’s like it was too frozen, where it tasted more like ice than vanilla. Still I threw it in a bowl, crushed up some chocolate digestives over the top of it and wolfed it down anyway. Always thinking *taps head*

          I’ve got something to look forward to on our Blogiversary now :D yay! 2012/2013 is the year we become millionaires then on our second Blogiversary we’ll have our Icelandic slaves write for us!

Leave a Reply

