5 TV Shows I’ll Miss This Year

Being out of work for so long has given me a lot of time to think, considering I’ve spent the last three weeks pretty much alone apart from times where I’ll see friends for a few hours once a week or so I spent a lot of my time sat in my room, looking for work or going to the gym ignoring everyone and everything around me.

Recently I’ve begun watching reruns of Chuck and it’s made me think how I’ll truly miss this show, a few of my shows have been cancelled/ended this year and while there were some shows that had promise such as Alcatraz and Terra Nova, the initial potential they had was wasted.

Terra Nova just became boring and I didn’t even watch past the four episode where as Alcatraz I was highly intrigued with until I realized that was cancelled and instead of giving us a fulfilling answer to the mystery that surrounded the prison, we were given some lame ass explanation and therefore I didn’t even bother watching the finale of the season.

While many of my other favourite shows has been renewed recently just five of them haven’t and it’s a real shame.

Time moves so quickly these days, I can remember rushing home from work to watch Angel season 5 that I had recorded on Sky+ and how empty I felt when that show ended, that was in 2003, those 9 years have gone extremely quick.

Then along came Lost, usually I don’t watch a show if I haven’t seen the first episode and because I missed the first episode of Lost I wasn’t going to both until I heard the hype everyone had for it, so I watched the second episode and since that moment I was hooked. We were quite behind with the show in England, by the time we were half way through the season you could buy all of Season 1 on DVD on the American Amazon so I bought that and watched the final 12 episodes all in one sitting.

A lot of people lost interest in this show over the years, they couldn’t keep up or whatever but I could, I loved Sawyer, Sayid, Kate, Claire, Richard, Locke, Jack, each season just got better and better then the show ended and it doesn’t even seem that long ago but that was over two years ago! Same with Stargate Universe which was getting infinitely better after a slow start, but that finished a year ago.

Since that moment I started taking more notice of Fringe, Abrams’ other show and that has currently taken the lead until that finishes next year. (BOO!)

Alas not all of my favourite shows have made the cut this year and these will be ones that I will genuinely miss.

In no particular order:

Eureka I think got off to a slow start but it got better as the first season went on, then as time passed the show developed some hilarious moments. It’s about a town that’s filled with smart people, people with high IQ’s, their main purpose is to create new technology for the military and keeping America safe. Because they need it with all those people they piss off, everyone there are considered genius’ until Jack Carter arrives in town, a US Marshall taking his daughter home and drive near Eureka by accident.

Upon his arrival he’s soon made the new Sheriff of the town and he often clashes with almost anyone he comes in contact with. This show is currently wrapping up it’s final season with only one more episode to go, after that they’re finished and from what I saw in the penultimate episode, things aren’t looking good the town called Eureka.

At the end of season 3 a few members of Eureka travel back in time and accidentally change the timeline when they bring someone back with them unbeknownst to them and from that moment on, the reality on the show has totally changed. I would definitely recommend this show to anyone and now it’s finishing no doubt there’ll be a complete season box set coming out soon.

Chuck as I mentioned before I am currently watching from the beginning once again. Like Eureka its main focus is on comedy and revolved around a man named Chuck Bartowski who was kicked out of Stamford University for cheating on an exam, however he really didn’t do it, it was his roommate that set him up to get him kicked out to avoid him getting drafted to the CIA to protect him.

His roommate already a CIA agent sends Chuck an e-mail one day containing all the secret files the CIA has, upon opening the e-mail that information gets downloaded into his brain and whenever he sees something that triggers the information he has flashes of images containing that information.

Soon after that another CIA agent named Sarah and an NSA agent named John are given the task to keep him safe while also using him to get rid of the badguys. John working at his computer store as cover and Sarah being Chuck’s pretend girlfriend. Each season introduce’s a new evil corporation hell bent on destroying the world and what’s really great with this show is watching Chuck evolve from being a geeky tech guy to eventually becoming a real cool spy himself. The show ended after the 5th season and unlike most TV shows, we actually get a satisfying ending to the show.

Awake stars one of my favourite English actors, Jason Isaacs, who you might know as Lucius Malfoy from Harry Potter films, or Blackhawk Down, The Patriot, Armageddon and various other roles.

I was hoping that this show would elevate him as the next big English actor to make it in America however he wasn’t given the chance on this occasion.

The show is about Michael Britten who one day has a car crash with his wife and son inside. His wife is killed and it’s just him and his distant son left, however when he closes his eyes he wakes up in a different reality where his son had died and it’s him and his wife. Every time he goes to sleep he wakes up alternating between the two realities, his psychiatrists, two different people, try to convince him that the other reality is just a dream, but he doesn’t know who to believe.

He wears a green band on his wrist in one reality and a red one in the other so he can keep track of where he is and what is cool is that with the red reality the scenes have a slight red tint to them and with the green reality, we’re given a slight blue tint to it so you yourself know which reality he’s in.

The show had so much potential and further exploring why he’s split between two realities but after 13 episodes I guess the audience just wasn’t there so they tried to give us a resolution the best way he could. Make him wake up and have it turn out that both realities weren’t real, the picture is neither red nor blue, it’s normal and he’s “reunited” with both his wife and son. Even this is a sort of cliffhanger though as the two realities aren’t explained, why they happened and why they ended. I don’t blame the writers though, I blame the network for cancelling the show and even though 13 episodes long it’s worth a viewing all the same.

If you’ve never heard of Karl Pilkington, you’ve missed out. I don’t know popular he is in the US or other countries but you need to download this show, or watch it on HBO or something.

The Ricky Gervais Show which airs on HBO, the final and third season recently ended, is basically old podcasts that are animated and Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant ask Karl about his views on all aspects of life.

The reason why it’s so good is because Pilkington is an idiot, the only qualification he left school with was an E in History, it’s hard to explain him without you actually watching or listening to him. Then you take that idiot and send him around the world doing things he doesn’t want to do all for Ricky and Stephen’s amusement.

It’s basically a travel program but not, he experiences other culture and visits the seven wonders in the first season, in the second season he does various things off of the top 100 things to do before you die list, watching them try to make him do a bungee jump is amazing, I know for certain I wouldn’t do it. I wouldn’t even go up to the bridge they jump off.

It’s one of the most viewed shows in English history but for some reason they’ve decided not to make a third series, the reasons are unknown, either ran out of ideas or Pilkington just didn’t want to. However they are making a Christmas two-part special with Pilkington and Warrick Davis, so at least that’s one thing to look forward to!

The show I will miss the most has to be this one. I’ve been a fan of Hugh Laurie since I can remember, watching him in Blackadder and A Bit Of Fry and Laurie, he’s one of the best things to come out of England and it’s no wonder that his first American TV show managed to last a whopping 8 years.

Most shows finish after the fifth season but it seems America likes a good medical show as ER, Greys Anatomy and others went/go on past their shelf life. Rather than focus on a team of doctors though the main focus is on one man, Gregory House. Who after an accident, lives in constant pain due to his leg. They wanted to amputate it and he refused so he’s now a painkiller addict.

His witty humour and off hand remakes do nothing but help this show, keeping it entertaining, lightening the mood when serious shit is going down. Along with his painkiller addiction he’s on a constant path of self destruction and pushes anyone away that tries to get remotely close but at the same time is the most brilliant doctor the hospital has, often solving cases using unusual methods, sometimes against his superiors orders. But he gets away with it because more times than not he’s right and they know it.

Seeing his relationships with people evolve is probably the best part about this show, Hugh is an amazing actor who I’d only seen acting in comedy shows before this and to remain relevant for 8 years is an excellent feat. I look forward to seeing whats next from Hugh, the ending to House was kind of fulfilling but not really, it did its job.

That’s all for now, no doubt more of my favourite shows will get cancelled next year, I know for a fact that Fringe is ending which I’m not happy about as is Breaking Bad, both are terrific shows and there’ll be a definite void once these are finished and no doubt Continuum will get cancelled. But it’s okay, because my favourite TV show slot will most likely be fulfilled by The Walking Dead which I hope goes on for a few more years.

And let us not forget Supernatural!

9 thoughts on “5 TV Shows I’ll Miss This Year

    • Jeffster getting a record deal is not satisfying? You are a heartless woman :P

      They beat the bad guys, everyone moves on, Chuck and Sarah will obviously be together in the end, it was as satisfying as it was ever gonna get. Shows have ended much worse so to me this was satisfying :)

  1. I love the way you write, did I ever tell you that? :)

    I absolutely love An Idiot Abroad, I’m pretty sure the only reason they haven’t done another series is because Karl refused. You can see him becoming less complacent in the second series- that episode where he has to stand on top of the plane makes me piss everytime. I’m pretty sure they must have offered him shitloads of money to do it, as he was refusing to do the bungee jump (I wouldn’t have done it either!). After seeing him in Idiot, I don’t actually think he’s as moronic as we were led to believe in the first series of the Ricky Gervais Show- a lot of the stuff he says makes sense, it’s just the rather hilarious way he says most of the things. He says some stupid stuff, but occassionally says something really poetic, like when he climbed to the very top of that mountain, ‘Who’s the idiot now?’. I love him quite a lot, he’s the underdog of the whole show, and Ricky pokes him with a stick. I always end up rooting for him while I’m wetting myself with laughter.

    And I’m quite glad now I didn’t see Awake, the adverts looked pretty awesome but it sounds like it had a terrible ending! Nice, unique idea for a show, though.

    I’m currently waiting for the next series of Grey’s Anatomy to come on. I’m getting withdrawal symptoms just thinking about it. Oh! And Waterloo Road… but only because it’s so bad, it’s good! :)

    • Well I love the way you read :P
      I tell ya, I fall to sleep most nights with one of the many Ricky Gervais podcasts playing, the voice of Pilkington makes me forget all about my troubles and think of monkeys. I can’t believe he stood up in that plane but he wouldn’t do a bungee jump, I would’ve turned the plane down, I’d have probably wet myself when he turned it upside down! I only just recently heard the World Cup podcast and Karl said he spent 15 minutes just sitting there letting saliva dribble out of his mouth because he wanted to see if it’d run out. So he is definitely an idiot :D

      I think I need to download all the the latest series of Greys Anatomy because I just stopped watching it for some reason, since Preston Burke was fired from the show and George O’Malley was killed off I lost interest. I can’t remember where I stopped watching, somewhere around season 7, I’ll have to get on it!

  2. You’re totally right about Karl. I knew the explanations of him before and never fully could grasp him until I saw him. I bet there are a lot more people out there like him. We need to let those people be heard.

    Don’t most British Series last only 2-3 seasons? Americans love beating a dead horse. Do you watch Breaking Bad at all? The 5th season started here Sunday (not sure if you’ll get it a little later or not) but I would highly recommend it. Starts off a tad slow, but damn by the 4th season you’ll be like me staying up until 5 in the morning because you can’t not finish it.

    • I download American TV shows ahead of time as I don’t have Sky TV anymore, but yeah I love Breaking Bad, I watched the fourth series in one whole sitting. And yeah season 5 looks like it’s gonna get good with him having his hair back at some indiscriminate point in the future.

      A lot of British shows have lasted many years unfortunately the season only contains of 6-8 episodes, which is shit compared to the 13-22 episodes American shows usually get.

  3. I’ll miss House and Fringe and Breaking Bad. I won’t miss quite a few others that went to the wayside–shows so bad, I can’t recall the names.

    • I’ll definitely miss Fringe, it started out slow but got so good. Leonard Nimoy is amazing. At least we’ve got one more season to enjoy though :)

Leave a Reply

