A Year Of Insanity

Yes you’re finally here to witness it, it’s an event that’s been a year in the making, it rivals the Olympics, it’s my Blogiversary!

On this day exactly one year ago Insanity begun, I had no clue what I was going to blog about when I first started this thing. I just knew I had frustrations that I needed to vent, the stresses of my life I deal with every day; constantly being the person that never gets what he wants or deserves, the last couple of years has turned me into quite the bitter individual; I now take shit from no one and I will stand my ground until the opposition wither and die.

I never really expected anyone to read the crap I produced but over time people have come and gone, some of you stuck around, but every one of those people have always supported me, kept me in high spirits, my former girlfriend once asked me why I wasted my time on this site. But the support I’ve been given from you guys, the advice that my usual friends just can’t provide and the entertainment from reading your own blogs has been immense, you don’t understand how grateful I am for every single one of you and that is the reason why I don’t consider this a waste of time.

Because of Evolution Of Insanity I’ve become a better writer, even writing my first entire novel, something I never thought I’d do, started a short story blog, became apart of James’ (DarkJade) blogging empire working for a few of his 1000s of blogs and generally become a better person.

There’s been one person whose been with me for the ride the entire time since being here, when the year of insanity began, it didn’t just begin with Evolution of Insanity, on the same day Anna created The Insanity Aquarium writing the darkness that floats around in her twisted brain. I’ve said this constantly and I’ll say it again, her blog is the reason I look forward to Monday’s, her stories are just too funny/detailed/gruesome/epic and someone else thought so too as she was Freshly Pressed. (Resisting The Urge)

She was the first person to ever comment on any of my posts and we have entertained each other by sharing our life experiences over the past year, I’m so glad you’ve been by my side the whole time Anna; I consider you a better friend than most of those I know in person. One day my friend; one day, we shall own that llama farm!

I do wonder sometimes when I will call it a day on here, it must be a day that’ll arrive one day, there are some people that have blogged for over 6 years and still going strong and there are those that have given up after a few months, I hope I become one of those people that’ll be around for awhile. In five years time I can look back and see how much I was struggling and I’ll hopefully be in a better place by then. But for the most part I have no plans of going anywhere at the moment. (yay for you!)

In the last year, as of this moment, I have managed to amass 170 “followers”, 29,853 views, written over 200 posts on this blog, started up The Writing Asylum, helped with The Dark Globe, a winner of NaNoWriMo, guest posted for others and currently dabbling in a bit of video blogging. Not bad if I do say so myself considering I had really low expectations when I first started out. Just imagine where I’ll be in another years time, maybe I’ll be getting paid for this shit! :D

So to wrap up all of this mushiness and rambling that’s making me seem extremely un’Ard, let me thank Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge, my first ever follower, who even sent me some of her awesome cookies all the way from America to Derbyshire, England. Even though you may not have the time to blog anymore you’ll always have a loyal reader and friend in me.

And thank you to everyone else that’s thought me good enough to click like, leave a comment, click subscribe, offer me cash for sex, given me some excellent advice, consider me “award worthy” or help make my day that little bit better.

I would shed some tears if I was a pansy, but alas I’m not, I even tried punching myself in the balls for effect but still, it was not to be. Maybe next year! :D

Sincerely,

‘Ard Pete H.

41 thoughts on “A Year Of Insanity

  1. Happy Blogiversary Man, You’ve Achieved a lot in our Blogging World, including “One of The Dark Globe’s Bloggers of The Year”, Lol

    I’m exactly a Month behind you and Anna, as My 1 Year Anniversary for “The Written Word” is August 18th… Hard to believe, where has the time gone, Lol

    Gratz man

    DJ-

      • Well, I don’t work a full time job you were most of the time… Writing is pretty much my full time job, I only work part time at home for my Mom’s Boyfriend… And that has been scarce for a while… MUST… SELL… BOOKS!! Lol

        DJ-

  2. Hello ‘Ard!!! :D
    Happy Blogiversary my British Blok!! :) Great post and I’ll say I REALLY REALLY miss you, your blog, blogging and reading everyone’s happenings and stories. How awesome you put those cookies in here! That was fun for me. :) Haha, it was a kick seeing them arrive and enjoyed by you. :)
    I was just looking at my blog a few days ago…missing those days when I could stay up late night…cooking, taking pictures and writing about it. I’ve thought about deleting it, just calling it quits, but I can’t. I love it and hope someday, somehow, I’ll be able to dedicate some time to it again. It’s been over three months since I’ve posted anything. I’m sure most of my followers have forgotten about me and I understand that. I’m amazed and very happy that you haven’t, though. :) My Blogiversary was actually June 16 and I completely missed it – bummer.
    Work is good. I mostly just work for great insurance, etc… Health care is so expensive here, not sure what it’s like there. It takes about 11-12 hours of my day once I get up, get ready, drive there, work and get back home so I rarely cook and when I do it’s something simple and familiar.
    I am going to make a point to go back and catch up on your life – I’ve lost track of it and I miss it very much.
    I had a big issue with my subscriptions and e-mail settings over a period of a few weeks and ended up unsubscribing from all of the blogs I was following. :( Didn’t want to but I got so frustrated with it. Oh well, long story still long: I’m good, miss your craziness, and hope you’re good too!!! I’ll be back tracking to catch up with your nutty and lovable life.
    Take care Pete!!! XOXO Cheers!

    • Yay! I miss you too, loads, you should never delete your blog, even if you never blog again you should keep it online because I may one day decide to make some of the awesome things you’ve got on there plus it’ll be there just in case you ever return! And how could I forget about you? My first follower? My cookie sender :D

      Health care is actually free over here, national health service is a perk of being English that’s for sure. I know what it’s like though not having much free time due to work, long story short the company I was working for ended up really not caring all that much for its customers, even after they were bought by a trio of pricks, then complaints and other things started piling up on me, I was working 12 hour days. Due to the lack of time my girlfriend knowing full well of my troubles decided to split up with me via text message, then during that same week the company decided to make staff cuts and they got rid of me. So for the past two months I’ve been back on the job hunt and I’m back exactly where I was a year ago except I’m now in singleville. The more things change the more they stay the same!

      I’m glad works going well for you, I hate working, is 26 (27 in two weeks *gasp*) too young to retire?

      Happy blogiversary for June 16th :) xxx

  3. We will indeed own a llama farm one day! And eat too much cake, and generally raise Hell in the streets of the Midlands… you just wait! By the time our second Blogiversay rolls around, we’ll have taken over the majority of the world, just you wait.

    And those lovely things you said about me have made me feel all warm and fuzzy on this otherwise dire Thursday morning. I feel exactly the same about you, your writing is immense and I come over all excited when I see you’ve posted something new. I hold you in such high regard as a good friend too- WordPress is a better place for me having met you :)

    • Too right it is! How shit is it today?! I’m pretty sure it was sunny yesterday, though I spent most of the day in bed because I did my back in at the gym trying to be a tough guy the day before, now it’s pissing it darrrn! On our Blogiversary! I protested and stood in my back garden in the nude and smoked a cigarette. That’ll show em!

      • Good God man! I’m just on the way to work, will have to celebrate our special day by standing on the desk and hula-hooping for 9 hours.

  4. 17 more years and I can have legal sex with your blog.

    I think the key to keeping up with a blog is knowing people out there are reading and commenting. I always got frustrated in the past when I had no clue who was actually seeing anything. WordPress has a great community. Once you figure it out there’s no stopping you.

    Keep up the great work! Hopefully one day one of us in this crazy blogiverse will become a hugely successful writer and let the rest ride the coat tails.

    • In 17 years you have my blessing to get busy with my blog, but make sure you strap it up before you slap it up because I don’t want any mini-blogs running around!

      Knowing people are reading and commenting is definitely what keeps me going, imagine those people that blog to nothingness, floating out there never to be read. Losers.

      • I comment here and a lot of other blogs, but i have found that people are cutting down on commenting.

        I think its a left over from a few months ago when WordPress made a complete bollocks of the follow up comments tick box.

        • Indeedy, I do too, I have been getting a lot of followers that just like one post, click follow then I never hear from them again. That’s a tad annoying.

          • Totally. Who knows if it’s always like this during the summer? It’s also impossible to navigate to find new blogs on WordPress, at least for me. I used to be able to simply click on a subject and see all the blogs. Now I either have problems or I have to look at the same idiot posting 100 posts of pictures he found all in a row. There’s such a blog turnover too. You can’t count on the same people forever to be loyal.

    • I’ve noticed it slightly…no one who is a frequent commenter has reverted to the evil ways of just clicking “Like” I’m actually on an anti-click Like to protest those who do it when I know they have not read a thing. Sometimes I forget. Old habits die hard.

  5. Congrats on the first year, Pete. It looks like it’s been a therapeutic experience so far for you (include in ‘therapeutic’ – which by the by is a difficult word to spell for a partial dyslexic. Whoops no, I’m not partial, well I am, but… never mind..) er… include in ‘therapeutic’: fun, enlightening, friendship-inducing, friendship-staying (can’t think of the word I want, so ‘staying’ will do) and, um… other things.

    Don’t give up til you turn into a little pink axolotl. If you ever do turn into a little pink axolotl, that will be the time to stop blogging. Mostly because it’s very difficult for an axolotl to click the ‘publish’ button.

    • Haha thank you Val, I know what you mean :) even when I turn into a little pink axolotl I’ll just get a waterproof computer (they’re bound to make them somewhere) and I’ll be alright :D

  6. Awww… Pete, I’ll always read your blog and be around as a friend for any support I can lend. I also think you’re funny as hell so that will always keep me coming back. The life of Pete Howorth has its ups and downs like everyone else’s life. It’s nice that we can be there for each other, for encouragement and laughter and the occasional crotch thrust. ha!
    It’s my honor to call you my friend : )
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

