Naughty

Well so much for posting something every day right? I decided to take a few days off from blogging to recharge my batteries and what not. I had to spend more time trying to look for work as I’ve now ran out of money.

Surprisingly I didn’t get the technical job I applied for, though as I said it was a terrible interview and not really a job I wanted anyway, I don’t want to work in the centre of Sheffield, it’s a ghastly place. Unless I’m already living there I don’t think I’ll be seeking work there.

Some companies called me and it turned out that the customer service jobs I applied for were in fact telesales and I told them where to shove it. I said it should be made clear what the role is before you advertise it, because customer service and telesales are two different things. I’m not going to be one of those cunts that pester people about mis-sold PPI insurance.

I do have an “assessment day” and possible interview on Friday for a company in Chesterfield which is customer service and more money than I was being paid at that last shit hole of a company I worked for so I just need to be awesome on Friday and I may find myself back in the land of the working before long, considering Leeds festival is coming up I need to get some money saved!

The title of todays post refers to Saturday night, I went to my brothers house for some bro-time as his wife was out on a hen night in Sheffield, it was the first time she’d ever been out in Sheffield before, she gave us some money for food as I agreed to drive her there, got her there in the time she needed to be there although Sheffield was absolutely jam packed due to it being the “Tramlines Festival” that weekend, which is basically a load of local bands playing throughout Sheffield, in all kinds of pubs, clubs, on the street, in parks etc, it’s a bit event so Sheffield was filled.

I wasn’t that bothered about attending, I don’t know any of the local bands, I think I knew one artist that was playing but it wasn’t worth making the trip just to go and see her so I gave it a miss.

Me and my brother watched The Machinist with Christian Bale, a very odd film and he’s extremely skinny in that film compared to the tough badass he plays as Batman now, then we watched The Punisher because he hadn’t seen it in ages and I had a hankering to watch it again, we get a phone call around 9pm from his wife to let us know that she fell down some stairs at the restaurant she was in and that she’s bruised all her leg. I asked her if she wanted picking up as I’ve only had three bottles of beer and will still be alright to drive. But she said no it’s alright and that she’ll get a taxi home.

I could tell she hated it in Sheffield, it was far too busy, especially for her first venture there on a night out. Then it got to midnight and another phone call, telling us she can’t get a taxi because a lot of the taxi drivers are celebrating Ramadan and they’re not working and the ones that were wouldn’t give her a lift back to Chesterfield.

By this point I had just finished my sixth beer, but I could tell she was getting a bit scared and didn’t know what she was going to do, she said she’d have to walk home or wait around for the train station to open in 7 hours. Her friends had left her to go into some night club, she was on her own, at night, in the middle of Sheffield.

So I told her to stay where she was and I’d be along shortly. Six beers, I was definitely over the limit, don’t get me wrong I wasn’t even feeling the effects of alcohol, not at six beers but I’d still definitely get ass raped if a police car decided to pull me over.

Chesterfield isn’t so bad, but Sheffield pull people over randomly just to check to see if they’ve been drinking or not, I’ve been pulled over twice in Sheffield, luckily I wasn’t drinking on either of those nights but it was the last two times I had driven out of Sheffield so I was a bit anxious. But what was I gonna do? Let her wander the streets until the morning? I don’t think so.

So I hoped in my car, raced over to Sheffield, she was lost, I only vaguely knew which area she was in, I drove through a red light as a police car was coming the other direction, then nearly ran someone over as he jumped out in front of me. Sheffield was rammed.

I parked on some random street, got out and found her on foot. She’d never been so happy to see me, I don’t blame her, she was in the busiest part of Sheffield. I managed to get her out of there, got her back to Chesterfield and avoided anything even resembling police. Mission accomplished.

Got her back home and continued the drinking while we watched Ca$h with Sean Bean. Spent Sunday recovering, spent Monday sweating due to the extreme heat.

It could feel the adrenaline pumping through my body while driving round Sheffield at that time of night, not something I’m going to be doing again in the near future, just as my sister in law has stated she’s never going out round Sheffield drinking again. Good choice. Leave Sheffield to the big boys.

So feel free to slap me on the wrist, but it had to be done. =/

8 thoughts on “Naughty

  1. You are a modern day Saint, Pete :)

    I shall be passing through Sheffield in October on the way to Manchester to see ETID at Halloween. I shall have to watch out for the ram-packedness and you randomly running people over :D

  2. Don’t you and A Gripping Life have birthdays coming up? I thought we were all Leos.

    Christian Bale lost a ton of weight for that role in the Machinist, he’s amazing.

    Glad all turned out well for you and your sister in law!

    • I am currently waiting to be come a YouTube sensation before I begin monetizing them, then hopefully that will transfer over to here and I can monetize my blog. Then I can just sit back and watch it all come rolling in.

Leave a Reply

