Camp NaNo WriMo – August Edition

Some people have asked me whether I’ll be participating in August’s Camo NaNoWriMo competition after successfully completing the challenge well before time last month, I know Laura is taking part this month because she’s a writing machine, I on the other hand am not.

Who would have thought a year ago I’d be talking about writing my SECOND novel?! Let alone my first, since the completion of Twist of Hate I have yet to even edit it. If anyone is willing to have a go at it for me let me know and I’ll send it you to look at even if you just want to read it, I’ll probably get around to it sooner or later I just haven’t had the drive to do it yet. I want to read it with fresh eyes and forget about everything I’ve written then attempt to have a crack at it.

Twist Of Hate probably isn’t good enough for a publisher to even look at, it’s probably not even good enough to be self published, but *shrugs* maybe I’m just overly critical of my work due to me not having confidence in my own writing.

Plus August is likely to be a busy month, I should hopefully have a job by the time August rolls around, it’s my birthday (ugh) in 9 days and I have Leeds Festival towards the end of August, not a good month overall to be writing.

I’ll most likely attempt to write my second novel during the NaNoWriMo in November, the second one I need to plan out carefully, I have so many ideas constantly running through my head, I need to start writing them down. The tentative title of the novel is Ascensionem De Insania (Ascension Of Insanity) and will be based on the series of short stories entitled Insanity’s Ascension which I wrote for one of Jame’s literary blogs. Be sure to read them and let me know what you think!

Since writing them I have thought about how cool it could be to transform it into a full novel, not too long enough I have a lightbulb moment of how I could and hopefully develop the story into a full fledged novel, this time though I don’t want to stop it at 50,000 words, I want to make it longer, I want it to be around the 80,000-90,000 mark so I need to plan it extensively before I attempt to write it in November to ensure I finish it in the 30 day alloted time.

Then once it’s published it’s going to be bigger than any 50 Shades of Shit book, I shall become a millionaire, I’ll buy you all a McDonalds and continue blogging from my private Island somewhere in the middle of nowhere.

…A man can dream.

9 thoughts on “Camp NaNo WriMo – August Edition

  1. Why not go for it anyway? If you fail then you’ll still have it started which sometimes is the toughest part. I know myself I like to have as many things going on at once. It can get boring writing about the same characters over and over again. Overlap in genre, themes, thesis, and other words I’m not positive about the definitions of is very helpful in trucking along.

    • I want to plan this one out carefully this time, write out what I want to happen in each chapter, I started doing that towards the end of the first one and it made it much easier to write where as I was getting stuck in the middle. There’d be no time for that and writing it in August :(

      • August is a busy month for me too. It’s probably a busy month for most people as it’s the best weather month of the year and that’s when we vacation and entertain visitors. Best wishes no matter what you decide to do. I’ll be rooting for you.

  2. Ah well, if not August and you feel confident about November then go for it, it’s up to you when you feel up to it. I think you’re being over critical of your skills, which is not uncommon for many writers but from what I read of that snippet you posted I say your pretty good :)

    On a random note, I hope the weather’s good where you are it’s heavily raining cats, dogs and quite a few other mammals over here, but then again England’s constantly rainy.

    A progressive August to you, Pete ;)

    • It’s not been too bad here weather wise, although we have just had a bit of heavy rainfall, which seems to have stopped for now. I’m just hoping it gets it all out of the way in time for Leeds Festival because the last thing I want to be doing again is standing around for 16 hours while wading through mud! The year before was awesome, last year an entirely different story!

      I try to be overly critical of my skills so I don’t come off as big headed and egotistical, I know how good I am really haha!

Leave a Reply

