Buskers

What better way to end Monday/begin Tuesday depending on where you are with some local music? Well local to me anyway.

It was just a normal day of doing nothing again yesterday and to keep myself occupied while I wait for those job offers to come rolling in I was looking for random music on YouTube, I came across a video of a girl busking in Leeds City Centre and then that started me on my obsession with busking videos for a few hours before I finally fell asleep and woke up at midnight. Standard.

I like buskers, they’re not doing it to make a shit load of money, they’re just doing it because they feel they have a talent and want to share their talent with other people. It’d be like me walking up to people and smacking them in the face with my laptop and telling them to read my blog.

Naturally not all of them are great at what they do, I remember this one old guy who used to play the harmonica, in the 20 years I saw him stood around Chesterfield town centre he never did get out a tune, he probably got out about three notes in every ten blows. He may have been good 50 years ago but he just didn’t cut the mustard in this day and age.

Anyway, I hear he’s dead now, buried with his harmonica.

Where was I? Oh yeah, buskers. There are some hot buskers floating around these days though they’re not all homeless looking freaks, some of them I’d like to take home and just have them in a corner playing music non stop.

This first video features an upcoming artist named Hannah Trigwell, this was the video that got me frantically searching for more busking videos, she’s gorgeous, visually and vocally. Doing a cover of my favourite song, Iris.

Be sure to check out her YouTube channel as she’s going to be big one day.

When I was in Leeds late last year, I remember hearing this girl playing in the city centre, I didn’t know who she was at the time and I’d have loved to have stopped and listened, besides when people are busking it’s only to polite to stop and listen but my girlfriend was impatient and dragged me away.

Then today to my surprise I see a video of her playing on the day that I saw her, I couldn’t believe it. I’ve listened to this song countless times, I think it flows really well and I hope she sticks to doing it because I believe she could be very popular in years to come. It was an original song she’d written herself entitled “Humming Bird” by Imogen Hey.

But it’s not all about girls with guitars, as pretty as they are. I’m not really a fan of dub step music, but I am a fan of this, by a guy called Dub FX, he makes his own music using just his voice, looping it and it comes together well. He’s not really local as he’s originally from Australia but it needed a showing, imagine seeing this in the middle of a crowded area on a random day. Loving the whore in the short skirt drinking a can of Carling, such class.

Of course street performing isn’t always about singing, how this guy does this stuff with a football I’ll never know, I can’t even do kick ups so to do this is unbelievable, it takes a lot of skill to pull this off and what I love most about this video is that you can see the crowd forming around him, a lot of the time you just watch people walk past while people try to entertain so this is great to watch. But can ya blame them? I’d definitely stop and watch.

And finally finishing off my favourite 5, Neill Ryan performing in the even more local area of Sheffield City Centre, whenever I’m walking around Sheffield I’m pretty miserable, usually because I’m in Sheffield and I hate the damn place.

But I’m sure if I heard this guy playing it would brighten up my day and in the end, isn’t that what busking is about?

Quite surprised he avoided being robbed or stabbed actually. Good man.

Thanks to the people that uploaded these awesome videos, it kept me entertained for a day.

I’d love to do some busking, but I unfortunately am unable to play an instrument, sing or even dance. My only talent is writing and whose going to throw a few quid my way for just typing on my laptop in the middle of town?

Maybe that’s what people are doing though when you see people typing in coffee shops and whatnot? Maybe they’re busking! Next time you see someone typing in a coffee shop or whatever, throw a few coins at em and give them a pat on the back. Tell them they’re doing a good job. I’m sure they’d appreciate it.

15 thoughts on “Buskers

  1. What a nice post :) I’ll have to watch those videos when I get home later.

    I had last Friday afternoon off and on my way to Greggs to get a corned beef pasty *salivating*, I wandered past two young men who were busking. They were playing Blink 182 songs, but singing so quietly that you practically had to be sat on their knees to hear them. I still gave them the change from my Greggs purchase because it’s rare to hear buskers singing alternative songs like that. They weren’t very good, I just felt like someone at least needed to show they were listening/laughing on the inside… thinking about it now I should have just led them away and stabbed them through the eyes, but I was hungry and wanted to go home and watch South Park. Meh.

    • The third and fourth videos are must sees :) The third one, I was pleasantly surprised!

      I’m glad you left them that change, because I then rocked up and took that change and used that in conjunction with my own change to buy a sausage role. The buskers weren’t pleased but they shouted as loud as they sang so I couldn’t hear them.

      In any case, I don’t like being disrespected in a crowded area so I stabbed them in their stupid faces with a javelin. I never leave home without one.

    • Cheers mate, obviously they’re not all great, I’m met some people that just abuse a guitar in ways I’ve never thought possible and they’ve expected money. So the good ones need a shout out.

  2. I actually know someone who knew someone who knew someone who would do this in Boston. Somedays he would make a couple hundred bucks. He has schizophrenia now so I guess all for nothing.

    I also heard the fat guy from Lost is a street musician in Philadelphia now. I think it was someone being racist and interolerant toward the overweight whatever nationality he is.

    • Haha I’m sure Hurley still gets acting jobs though, he was just in a show that got cancelled, unless times have gotten extremely rough since then?

      Busking in big cities could lead to quite a lot of money I would guess, but maybe it was all the voices he heard on a daily basis that sent him psycho.

  3. My thumb is up for buskers. They add something special to our Farmer’s Market and it’s a delight to visit each week. Having said that I have to admit that where I live we aren’t short on local talent. The islands are in large part artist’s communities and that’s among the reasons we chose to live where we do.

    • Exactly, no one particularly enjoys shopping all that much, it’s just something to do if they’re bored or if they actually need something. So hearing some awesome free live music would definitely brighten my day. You’re lucky to live in such an area, there isn’t much talent in the town I live in, but in the near by cities their are so it’s not too bad.

  4. I love buskers. We don’t really have them so much in the States, which is a shame. In general I’m not nuts about big cities, but buskers ( and largely irrespective of their talent) definitely charm it up for me.

    • Surely you jest, there must be loads of buskers in the states :O especially in the big city, I’ve seen Friends, Phoebe used to busk, I imagine everyone to be like her haha :D

  5. Agreed, some buskers are unbelievably talented and it sometimes feels quite strange that this huge talent is just sitting in your local high street when they should be in a recording studio somewhere. And I’d throw money at you if I saw you sitting on a bench in a shopping centre tapping in your laptop. Well, I’d buy you a sandwich at least.

Leave a Reply

