Originally posted on Legendary Post:

You’ll notice if you go to the WordPress forums that there are no longer Off-Topic or Showcase forums, meaning they have effectively killed off their community.

While the real reasons behind this remain unknown, they’ve cited wanting more activity for peoples blogs as the “offical” reason. However what they don’t understand is most of the people I’ve met through WordPress has been through those forums.

It’s great for starters to showcase their blog, I know without those forums Dark Globe wouldn’t exist, I personally wouldn’t have a readership on my own blog or forge the relationships I have with the people that also use this site.

First, we’ll be removing the Off Topic and Showcase forums. Many of the posts in Off Topic could have been blog posts. In place of that forum we’d encourage everyone to write postsfollow your friends, and carry on the conversation through…

View original 243 more words

13 thoughts on “

      • I was hoping we could post deliberately provocative topics on the normal forum for you to tear into as a birthday present since there was no off-topic left.
        If our gentle complaining got us chucked off, imagine how annoyed they would have been with everyone then ;)

  1. I’m genuinely saddened by this, I’ve met so many wonderful people on the Off-Topic forum. I won’t be posting on the thread about this in the Support section because I just know it’s going to make me mad. All I can say is that this has been really unexpected, and I think it’s a really bad move by WordPress; the community here was one of the most charming aspects about the whole site, and they have seemingly dismantled it. They’ve provided alternatives as to how to connect with people, but I know many people saw Off Topic a hub of activity and I for one am really going to miss it. It made me laugh and there was always someone there to have a whimsical chat with, there isn’t really an alternative in my eyes.

    No matter the theme of the person’s blog, everyone could have a chat. Blogs only attract people with similar interests, Off Topic let EVERYONE connect together- which in turn led to perhaps discovering something new, and far more subscribers whereas now all we have to connect with are tags, and we essentially limit ourselves with this by only searching for things we’re already interested in.

    I’m totally against this, really sorry to see it go.

    • I was pretty riled up this morning because the original thread I created was deleted without any such response. Although I did start it off with “I don’t know whose been smoking what to decide this would be a good idea” hah. There are no alternatives to the Off Topic forum, saying “go elsewhere” is a slap in the face to everyone that’s dedicated their time into making it a fun place to be. It’s the reason I joined, it’s the reason I hate Tumblr and blogs like it. I can see my interest levels in WordPress dropping vastly pretty soon because of this.

  2. … I was just about to reply to the thread in which you called me Anna Montana with some witty kind of response, and then I was like… this is a thread about some guy’s support query… I CAN’T PRETEND TO SLAY ZOMBIES IN THE SUPPORT FORUM! I miss Off Topic :(

Leave a Reply

