Greatest Hits… #2

The penultimate post of what has been an enjoyable series to write about, thinking back to these moments in my life has brought back many great memories of friends that I once shared many great times with.

It’s reminded me that my life hasn’t been a total waste of time, the past couple of years have been extremely difficult, dealing with things mentally and emotionally; it’s sometimes hard to think that the light at the end of the tunnel is anything but just a train coming to end it all.

Bordering on depression most days there isn’t really much that lifts my spirits, I’m quite possibly seen as a failure in many peoples eyes but I can look back to these posts in future and realize that it hasn’t been all bad and that there were genuine moments of happiness, genuine moments of accomplishment.

This post is about a time when I felt I had truly done something good.

#2 Protecting A Girl Who Had Her Drink Spiked In A Club – Called A Hero

I say a girl, she was actually older than me by a few years. Looking at the list Charlie Pace wrote out, he’s called a hero after saving Nadia from being mugged in an alley and this is what sparked my memory of this moment, a moment that I still think back to from time to time.

We’d met through my brothers ex-girlfriend as a few of us went to Magaluf for a week of drunken partying for a week. There were us two lads and five girls, her being the oldest out of the lot of us she wasn’t really into the partying scene, she definitely wasn’t into pulling random men in a sweaty club at 3 in the morning so she spent most of her time with me and Tom.

Since the holiday we had become good friends, she actually came out for my 21st birthday; soon after coming back from holiday she had gotten pregnant but her boyfriend left her when he found out. What a scum bag move.

So she gave birth to a little baby Corey nine months later, we used to joke that I was his real dad. He was an awesome little dude.

Soon after she was on a night out for one of the many fancy dress nights that tended to take place during that time period, she hadn’t had many nights out since having the baby, I think this may have been the first.

Obviously a night out consists of drinking in various pubs around town then ending up in a nightclub, I despise night clubs now, why should I have to pay to get into somewhere to listen to music that I hate while buying moderately cold overpriced drinks in somewhere that’s under ventilated?

I can’t remember the last time I was in a nightclub, I can barely remember the last night out I had too be honest… But I remember this one well.

She was fine all night, sure she barely drank since having the baby but she went from being fine to passing out in a ladies toilet. She’d sent me a blank message to begin with, thought nothing of it, probably just hit the wrong button.

Then sent me another text saying that she needed me, I rang her and she was crying down the phone, I got her sister and my brother’s ex to go and check on her. The bouncers came to investigate and carried her out of the toilets, one of the male bouncers said that he’d make sure she’d get home safe. A bouncer that’s known for being a seedy bastard, for all I knew he was the culprit!

I told him he was going no where near her and even at one point came so close to knocking his lights out, as soon as she was carried out of the toilets and laid eyes on me, she lunged her self forward and grabbed on to me for dear life; she wasn’t letting go of me and I wasn’t letting go of her.

I carried her towards the exit and phoned a taxi driver who I knew well and asked him to come and pick her up. She didn’t let go the whole time it took for the taxi to arrive, once it did she and her sister got in and were taken home, safe in the knowledge that she was now safe.

Everyone then carried on their night out like nothing had happened, I remember being so angry for the rest of the night. What sort of gutless son of a bitch would spike someone’s drink? Had she been out with anyone else there was no telling what might have happened; bouncers didn’t care, they just wanted her out, despite the fact that it could be happening to someone else in the club.

It’s since that moment that I’ve never left a drink unattended and when people I’m out with leaves a drink unattended, I’ll make sure I keep my eye on it.

When I woke up the next afternoon (I’d not gotten home until 5am) I had a text waiting on my phone, it was from Nic, it said “Thank you for taking care of me, you are my hero. I love you.” I still remember opening that text message like it was yesterday.

She was fine after a couple of days of sleeping it off and life continued. So when people think of me as a failure, I’ll think back to this moment and know that one thing I do not fail at, is protecting my friends.

7 thoughts on “Greatest Hits… #2

  1. I had a friend who did this once. Didn’t you help a girl who was getting smacked around too before? I must go to non-violent venues. I have a friend who did something similar to what you did. My older sister also broke up a fight with a billiard stick.

    It’s amazing how a guy could use date rape drugs. All it means really is he wouldn’t care if something like that happened to his sister, mother, girlfriend, etc. A sick world. Good to have guardians like you out there!

    • I did indeed, I hate “men” that think doing these things are alright; I’m pretty much easy going most of the time but when shit like that happens I tend to snap. Thankfully I haven’t found myself in a situation where having to look after someone or beat someone else up has presented it self for a few years now.

      Your sister sounds badass, did she go Chuck Norris on their asses?

Leave a Reply

