Greatest Hits… #3

I hope these aren’t boring you and are in fact keeping you entertained, I’m sure they are because I’m extremely interesting and you come here to learn more about me so that you might stalk me.

If I see you camping outside of my house, don’t expect me to be scared, it’s been awhile since I’ve had a stalker and would love the attention.

I’d probably take you to the pub or something, you could buy me a drink; it is my birthday after all. When I mentioned before that I didn’t pay for a drink for my 21st, that always reminds me of my mate Bill (my ex-girlfriends ex) whenever we go out for his birthday. When your friends buy you a birthday drink, it’s because they offer to buy you one, you don’t ask for one. It’s just not cricket.

Obviously Bill never much liked cricket and used to make lists of everyone that turned up for his birthday and make them buy him a drink, then he’d cross their name off the list. Bless his cheapness.

Anyway, on to #3 of the list, which is again birthday related.

#3 Singing On Stage In Front Of 200+ People For My 24th Birthday.

My brothers ex-girlfriend’s dad used to be in a band, that usually sang covers of old 70s, 80s and some 90s rock music. Anything from AC/DC to Zepplin, they were pretty good.

The name of the band was called Mutz Nutz, a variation of the saying, “Dogs Bollocks” which in the English language is slang for Awesome.

Every year there’s a pub in a little town called Stavely that’s not far from where I live that hosts a sort of mini rock festival for charity, all the proceeds go to some… worthy cause. All day local rock bands participate, people can buy raffle tickets, play various games around the place etc, it’s quite good fun.

In 2009, that day happened to fall on my birthday so we decided to go down to watch Mutz Nutz play and of course to get extremely drunk. My bro’s ex-girlfriend’s dad, Kev, was the lead singer, he and his now ex-wife (oh how relationships change over the years!) surprised me with a gift, a personalized Mutz Nutz t-shirt! With the logo on the front and “Ard Pete – 24″ on the back. Naturally I put the t-shirt on.

Later on that evening when the band finally had their time slot, Kev usually makes a habit of passing out inflatable instruments, guitars, saxophones and such. The pub they were playing in was packed, it was one of the headline acts, 200+ people squeezed into the pub to listen to the music.

Then Kev stops after finishing a song and announces to everyone in the pub that today was my birthday and sang “Happy Birthday To You…” to me, everyone else joining in. Man did I feel embarrassed.

Then after the three cheers were over he announced that the next song he was playing was entitled “Living On A Prayer” by Bon Jovi and that there was only one man that could sing it, he grabs my arm and pulls me up on stage. Now I was stood in front of over 200 people staring back at me. While I am suave I am also frightened of the stage, he gave me the lyrics sheet and a microphone.

The music started and I began to sing Living On A Prayer alongside Kev, my voice went (from all the yelling I’ve been doing cheering for other bands) somewhere around the middle of the song but I powered through and when we finished the crowd roared and applauded, it was the greatest feeling I had ever experienced! For that one moment, I was a ROCK GOD.

My friends said I did well, despite my sore throat; I couldn’t speak for the next four days but it was totally worth it.

3 thoughts on “Greatest Hits… #3

  1. Most crowds understand a performer is human, especially when it’s some random guy on his birthday. Glad it didn’t turn out to be a whole bust.

    Too bad none of us knew all these stories about you and how important they were. We could have done a “Pete Howorth This is Your Life” segment.

Leave a Reply

