Greatest Hits… #1

And here we are, finally at my number 1 greatest hit of all time. A spot that will never likely to be beaten for as long as I am cursed to live.

If you have actually read the other four posts I wrote today then you have my eternal thanks, if you haven’t then what the hell are you doing reading this now? Do you start a new book by reading the last chapter? Go back and read them in descending order you weirdo’s.

I look back to this moment and remember it being probably the happiest time of my life and at the same time I’d never felt so honoured.

There was such a long build up to this moment and when it finally paid off, it was a thing of beauty.

#1 Being My Brothers Best Man At His Wedding

I’d written a full post about our history shortly after the wedding last year, to give people an idea on how much that moment meant to me.

I should clear things up though, Tom isn’t actually my brother, I know I’ve mentioned him in every post in this series, but we’re not biological brothers. I first met him at college at the tender age of 16, almost 11 years ago now.

Over the years we had forged a great friendship and it gotten to the point where “friend” just didn’t cut it anymore, we were family. He’s been there when I needed him the most. When he and his ex-girlfriend broke up, due to her cheating ways I was heart broken, I was hoping to be the best man at their wedding one day.

Then they got back together, they got engaged, I was asked to be the best man. People told me that I would be an awesome best man; but then of course his ex-girlfriend couldn’t stop being a whore and cheated on him again. Ending the relationship, I was gutted, I was no longer going to be his best man.

Soon later he’d met someone new, Amy, and after a series of stupid events we ended up falling out and didn’t talk to each other for nearly two years.

Me and Tom were inseparable, you couldn’t think of one without the other. So when we had fallen out I was left with a great void in my life, I’d said some pretty stupid and hurtful things, because I was angry and that was that for our friendship.

It wasn’t until another friend of ours Ray, got us back in contact with each other and we decided to go out, me, Ray, Tom and Bill, a lads night out like the olden days. Tom and I apologized to each other and that was that, it was like we hadn’t missed a step.

What I did miss out on though was that he was now engaged to his new girlfriend, someone who I barely knew. After forgetting the past we eventually became very close friends and I consider her to be a true sister (after all, I drank drove for her) and I was asked to be an usher at the wedding. The nearer the wedding got, the more I was considered to be the best man, even Amy’s own family said so.

When I delivered my speech, I had so much I had to get off of my chest, so much I needed to say, I started it off saying “But I want to take this opportunity to share my real thoughts on Tom, thoughts I’ve had bottled up for a long time…” Everyone in the room knew the history and what had gone on. So it instantly grabbed their attention and got a lot of “OOOOOHHH”‘s.

It was the first time that I’ve been so emotionally choked up that I actually shed tears, people could see the love I had for him; Tom and Amy and both sets of parents couldn’t help but cry along with me.

I missed out on two years of friendship with that man and two years of getting to know my new sister, two years that I’ll never get back but by God we’ve made up for it since. I don’t know what I would have done with myself if I actually missed their wedding due to a petty argument and too be honest I don’t know what I’d do or where I’d be if I didn’t have them in my life now.

It was nothing but an honour to speak at his wedding and the fact that it was the main talking point of the night meant that I did them proud. It’s hard to believe how time really does fly as they’ll be celebrating their 1 year anniversary in exactly one months time.

If there’s one thing I do know it’s that I’m not one for public speaking.

*SIT DOWN*

*…WAIT A FEW MOMENTS…*

*STAND UP*

Oh alright I’ll say a bit more. I know in most speeches it’s our job to put down the groom, a few light-hearted insults here and there, then get a massive ovation. But I want to take this opportunity to share my real thoughts on Tom, thoughts I’ve had bottled up for a long time…

This man right here, Tom Siddall….. is one of the most… kind hearted, caring, loyal individuals I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

Not only is this his wedding day but the 10 year anniversary of when we first met and I honestly couldn’t imagine where I’d be or who I’d be if not for him.

He was always the one man that had my back no matter what situation we were in, the one man that kept me out of trouble, the man that kept me grounded.

There was a period not so long ago where we didn’t speak and that was probably the worst time of my life. I was left with a void in my heart that only a brother could fill. Beginning of this year was a new start for both of us, he was kind enough to forgive past transgressions. That gave me the chance to get to know the real Amy as well, a somewhat female version of myself, a little hot headed at times but all around a good person. But she’s also someone who is as loving and as caring as her husband.

It now feels that I have also been gifted with a sister and while I’m not blood related to either, they are the family I never had but always wanted and now I have them.

Thank you both so much for letting me be apart of today and for those of Amy’s family that haven’t met Tom before or don’t really know him that well. I guarantee you all that he will have her back, keep her out of trouble and care for her always just as he has done for me. Just as he has done for everyone he’s ever met.

I love you both more than you’ll ever know, I’m so proud of you both, it’s been an absolute honour standing next to you today and I wish you both so much luck for the future.

To Tom and Amy! Queue massive ovation!

Thank you all for reading my Greatest Hits.

9 thoughts on “Greatest Hits… #1

  1. I remember you writing about this before. Such a great story. It’s almost the perfect ending to a movie where you know they have many adventures afterwards.

    My dad asked me to be the best man at his wedding this summer. Hey, summer is almost over and the wedding date hasn’t even been set. I’ll be on the other side of the country before they get married. I’ll have to wait until my best friend tricks a girl into marrying him now.

    • The wedding date hasn’t been set and they’re expecting to get married this summer?! From what I’m told weddings have to be planned well in advance, my brothers wedding was like a year in the making, as was my cousins and another cousin whose getting married next month. Unless your dads having a small gathering?

  2. Happy belated birthday! I hope you had a good one! I’m sorry I wasn’t here to do a birthday dance on the day, but I was off fighting monsters made of fluff and cauliflower. It was awful.

    I remember when you first posted this, and it is just as lovely to read it now as it was back then. This was definitely a Pete win and it is so awesome that you have this as your #1 (though all the others were ridiculously awesome too… HERO PETE TO THE RESCUE!). You are an interesting and wonderful human being with a wicked sense of humour… I’m just glad to be part of the Pete mafia :D

    • Thank you :) it’s okay, I understand, those fluff and cauliflower monsters are a pain and when they join forces it takes some doing to destroy them. I usually suggest Ninja Paste (ground up ninja’s) as a way to get rid of them.

      Haha Hero Pete :D I need to get myself a costume. And by costume I mean a t-shirt with a big H on the front of it and nothing else (AND NOTHING ELSE!)

      And it is a pleasure to have you in the mafia! No one messes with the family [/Godfather]

Leave a Reply

