Petey Howorth and the Olympians

Well, first off; thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes, they were mucho appreciated! Needless to say I had an awesome time on Friday. It was just a small gathering at a friends house, who also bought me a birthday cake and set the place up with balloons, which I wasn’t expecting. Had a quick BBQ and watched some of the Olympics.

I’ll be honest, apart from the Team GB football matches I hadn’t watched any of the Olympics until that day, shocking I know but since then I’ve been hooked and have a feeling of pride for my country. It goes to show that we don’t suck at every sport we partake in.

Friday a friend of mine was trying to find tickets to attend the Olympics on Saturday just gone, hoping to go and see the athletics but he unfortunately left it too late. Plus trying to buy tickets on that website is like getting blood from a stone, imagine 4 tickets being released to be sold and thousands of people trying to buy them all at the same time. We didn’t have a hope in hell.

Then we decided that we’d try and buy something for this coming weekend, if not then just go to London anyway as the atmosphere is going to be electric and maybe just go to Hyde park and watch the events on the big screens.

But my mate never fails to get tickets, he’s the one that always gets us awesome tickets to go and see live bands so I had faith in him, he managed to purchase four tickets for the mens Football (soccer) Gold Medal final at Wembley Stadium on Saturday! I never even contemplated going to London, let alone see an Olympic event until this weekend and I’m finding myself becoming extremely excited.

Sure it’d be great to see Team GB in the final playing for gold but as we proved with the Euro’s and every major tournament before that, we suck at our national sport. My experience with seeing football live is limited to say the least, I’ve been to two Chesterfield FC matches, one at home, one at Blackpool and most recently a Sheffield United match; which I spent sat in our box watching wrestling, sipping champagne and eating chicken.

Football is just a small part of it, I get to see an Olympic event, something I probably won’t get to see again in our lifetime, then soak in the atmosphere in London, the place is going to be PACKED. Plus I’ve never been to Wembley Stadium before, the second largest stadium in Europe, then there’s the night out afterwards.

Credit: @ZacharyLevi

I so wish I had gotten to see an event this past weekend, Zachary Levi of Chuck fame has been there all week tweeting photo’s, I’d have loved to have met him, I’m currently on a Chuck binge right now so it’d have been the icing on the cake.

I just need to find an appropriate patriotic t-shirt to buy and wear on the day, if you have any suggestions point them my way!

I’m hoping the US manages to get themselves back in the lead of the Medal table, they were doing well but recently let China pass them by. It’s so close though, it can be done. Reading up on the history of the Olympics the United States are the most accomplished country in the Olympics of all time, they’ve won the most medals and usually come in the top 3 every time. Behind the two giant countries of China and the US is little old United Kingdom.

I think taking 3rd place in this instance is just fine and watching Jessica Ennis who lives 15 minutes away from me, getting her Gold medal is a sight to be seen and there’s been a lot of love for her in her home city.

August is going to be so busy for me, after the Olympics, I then have Leeds Festival on the 23rd, then as soon as I come back from that I’ll be going to Scotland to see family and ending that week seeing another cousin get married. Then in September I should hopefully be starting my new job.

Which is good because I’ll no doubt be extremely broke by then.

So many photo’s to be taken!

23 thoughts on “Petey Howorth and the Olympians

  1. ooh lucky you! Wembley Stadium is awesome. I watched a Rugby Match there once. I have been glued to the TV nonstop. Definitely proud! From Athletics to the cycling and to even Tennis. I screamed for joy when Andy Murray won that match.

    GB Football team is just cursed. I swear something cursed us long ago. Or we can just blame Stuart Pearce. Everyone is blaming him at the moment ;). I bet Beckham is laughing at him right now…

    • Holy shit I forgot all about Murray! I’m sure after the defeat to Federer we thought the exact same was going to happen again, why couldn’t he have beaten him then too?! And getting the silver medal for the mixed doubles, definitely proud.

      Agh it’s always the managers that get blamed, not the actual players for under performing.

  2. Glad to hear you had a good time for your b-day. Bless you’re friend who rounded up the tickets! Ahh, London :)

    I haven’t kept up to date with everything but I was looking out for those two, I had a feeling Murray would win this time, the last match at Wimbledon (I think) vs. Federer let him down big time, he pushed for that gold.

  3. Olympics and Leeds festival should be rad! England has been having so many celebrations lately (royal wedding, diamond jubilee,etc). Of course all this fun stuff happens after I leave.

  4. I have to say I wasn’t too interested at first, but I have watched quite a lot of it and it is rather exciting. I hope you have an awesome time! I’m not a huge fan of London, but I’m sure you’ll love the whole experience :)

    • I’ve been a few times before, the last time was for a gig earlier this year and me and a mate ended up getting lost, so lost it took us 4 different train rides to get to the place we needed to be 5 hours earlier. Going to Hyde Park on Friday too as Feeder are doing a free set :D

      • Awesomesauce! The last time I went to London I went all by my lonesome to see City & Colour, where Dallas Green was a diva, and a small bottle of Smirnoff Ice cost £6.50.

        • How much does a small bottle of Smirnoff Ice cost nowadays? You make it seem like it was the olden times when I could go into a pub with a shilling, buy a round and still have enough left over for a packet of pork scratchings.

  5. Hi Pete, you should start a new blog and name it ” test blog ” i have one for trying things out for all my sites.
    When you have tried something, delete it, just make a sticky with all you links in it.

  6. It should be illegal to have the Olympics within 3 hours of where you live and not at least try to attend them. Good for you!

    The US only dominates because we’re shallow pigs who care more about athletics than anything else. Dick and boob size are important too as they should be.

  7. You know Pete, I went through a few blogs today that I have been following since the dawn of civilization, ok I kid, since I started blogging but a lot of them are no longer active. It makes me sad. This blows.

    People should continue to blog unless they pass away… which is also sad :(

    So, I guess what I am saying is, please do not let your blog ever become a carcass on the face of the internet! Thank you! YOU SO FUNNEH! :D x

    • Awh thank you :) don’t worry I’ll be around for the foreseeable future! I’ll be taking some time off for a couple of weeks at the end of this month but I’ll be back! And I wouldn’t just disappear like those people do, if I ever decide to stop I’ll let people know, that’s the respect they deserve!

Leave a Reply

