Moving On

Well here I am, back from London; didn’t get stabbed so that’s always a plus! Needless to say I had an awesome time, despite too much time spent on the underground, getting sweaty trains from one part of London to another.

While we were down there, saw an old friend of a friends and stayed at her boyfriends after a house party. Sleeping in the kitchen didn’t do my body any favours and neither did drinking half a bottle of vodka. Ugh.

So we went down Friday afternoon, got stuck in traffic but not so bad that it was a major problem, stayed in some crummy Ibis hotel in Hounslow; dropped off our stuff and went straight out, went to Hyde Park which was simply amazing. There were screens everywhere showing various sporting events, watched a few of them, bought the t-shirt.

Then later that evening Feeder played a 40 minute set, which for free is awesome and just makes me more excited to see them again at Leeds Festival next weekend!

On Another F’n Train

Had a few more drinks around Hyde Park and got back to the hotel around midnight, we had to be up early to get to the other side of London and get our tickets and we were pretty tired too so had a somewhat early night.

No Spooning Involved

Love how at the hotel because we were paying cash we had to give them a £50 deposit in case we damaged or smoked in the room, yet when we checked out they just gave us the money without checking the room!

Headed over to Camden and dropped off the car around the corner from Phil’s mates house, had some lunch at some greasy spoon (literally pulled a long black hair out of my mouth while eating a poached egg *sigh*) hopped on the tube, went to Wembley, headed to the Stadium and grabbed our tickets, went inside the Stadium, I mainly kept on the soft drinks as I wasn’t really in the mood for fighting to get to the toilet because I’ve drank too much beer. The Stadium was massive, it holds 90,000 people; over 86,400 people went to the Olympic football final between Mexico and Brazil, I saw Mexicans and Brazilians in real life for the first time ever; they’re great people.

There was no animosity between either people, they were there to have a great time no matter who won, same with everyone else that was there too no matter what country they were from, it was like a peaceful harmony of people. I don’t know about elsewhere but I’ve never been somewhere without seeing at least one fight kick off, especially in London so this was a really pleasant surprise. Not to see some idiot ruin it for himself and others.

After the riots last year I became ashamed to be English, but after these Olympic events I now feel proud once again to be English, especially after finishing third in the medal table!

Well done to you American’s for smashing the Chinese and taking first place too, I was rooting for you guys.

The football match it self was pretty “eh”, I along with so many others expected Brazil to win the Gold, they’d won every single one of their matches in this tournament by scoring exactly 3 goals, this match kicks off and in 29 seconds Mexico score, they then score later on making it 2-0, Brazil manage a 2-1, almost equalizing but missed a header in the final seconds.

After the match had finished we left Wembley and went to Regents Park, got some food and beer and had a mini picnic, then headed out for a couple of drinks, went back to Camden, went to previous said house party, I probably would have been much happier just sleeping in the car but once I got half a bottle of vodka down me time soon flew by.

Headed back Sunday afternoon after going to a different greasy spoon, I felt awful and the food didn’t make me feel that much

Sleeping Draped In The Colours

better either. However I was soon fully alert when an hour into travelling home on the motorway; a car with a trailer connected to it started swerving lanes, smashed into a minibus full of people, the trailer smashed into the car behind it, causing three more cars to crash into each other. Thanks to my superior navigational skills and my mates quick response time we just managed to avoid the demolition derby and escaped via the outer lane.

Never seen an accident on the motorway like that in real life, it was scary stuff; my mate said he was glad I was there as he wouldn’t have known what he’d have done. Someone else we knew ended up getting stuck in a traffic jam due to said accident. Luckily from what I can tell no one was seriously hurt in that accident.

Once home I took a long shower because I spent the whole of Saturday just sweating, watched the closing ceremony which was a pile of crap until Eric Idle came out and sang then things began to pick up. Fell asleep around midnight and woke up at half 3 this afternoon, 15 and half hours sleep! Body must have been exhausted! Although I was awake 36 straight hours from Thursday afternoon to Friday night so that probably had something to do with it too.

Move Along

Now I’m back home I’m thinking about how much I really am bored with where I live, a friend of mine comes back from China for a month next month, I have Leeds Festival next weekend then as soon as I come back from that I’m off to North Scotland for my cousins wedding, after that, I’m back to having nothing to do.

The only friend that actually invites me to do things says he’s moving to Australia later on this year which will be a drag, everyone else has moved on it seems and I’ve been left behind which is why me and my cousin have been talking about moving, he wants to come down here and live with me and I want to go up there. I doubt he’d come down here any time soon as he’s close with his part of the family and with our grandmother’s ailing health I think he’d want to be close.

Plus where he lives is so peaceful, it’s on the coast, if I can get a job up there it’d be an awesome place to live, a close knit community and far away from this shit hole I currently live in now, it’s why I went to France although this time there won’t be any ice to help me break anything.

I want to move on from this life, just as my friends have done and find something better.

Keep you updated.

22 thoughts on “Moving On

  1. “There won’t be any ice to help me break anything”…

    …Trying to come up with a clever “breaking the ice” comment, but I got nothin… Ran outta coffee last night, running on fumes today.

    I’ve never been over there, but sounds like you had a great time!

  2. We missed out on the closing ceremonies because NBC promo’d a new show. Bugger.

    The move starts with you–if you find that chance inside, the outside is the easiest part to move about in; it’s just new scenery. Settle yourself, your heart and head and soul, and pick a place and go there. If anyone can do this, it’s you!!

    • What?! Blasphemy! Man, American networks piss me off.

      I’m gonna discuss the move with my cousin when I head up there so hopefully he’ll be up for it, he spends most of his time alone anyway so I reckon he’ll be glad of the company! :D

  3. Sounds like you had an amazing time in London.

    Comfort zones are a bugger, sometimes they aren’t all that comfortable, but it doesn’t make them any easier to climb out of.

  4. I was rooting for Brazil too, they’re one of the teams that I firmly stand behind for the world cups but I’m happy for the Mexicans and from what I saw on BBC they were pretty elated as they should be, too much of their new is about drug cartels and trafficking.

    You deserve better so I say go for it, maybe a move from where you are might be the best thing that could happen. That kitchen floor looks … comfy. Sounds like it was a good outing overall besides the accident which your mad skills helped you and friends escape.

  5. I did post on this a few days ago, but the internet monsters seem to have eaten my reply… I just called to say I’m glad you had a good time and I am even more glad you weren’t maimed in that accident! Oh, and that I love you :D

    I totally know what you mean about wanting to move away, I think the very same thing most days. The trouble is that often we have too much of a connection with the place we already are in, be it family, friends, jobs or money. We too often grow far too comfortable where we are to ever get out, even though something better might be on the other side.

    If I could do anything I’d move to Berlin and work in a museum, be an academic librarian (or work on a llama farm). The only problem with that is I don’t speak enough German, and I am a huge £300 away from purchasing the Rosetta Stone pack to learn it. I always open savings accounts and then within a few months have to empty them into my ever shrinking bank account. But, we deal, we hold onto thinking that we might be something else even though holding onto the dream may be exhausting. It can be scary to get out, but it can be worth the effort eventually, and if not… there’s always under my bed :)

    • Haha thank you :) I love you too! I’m loving the new picture too, such a “I’ve just shit in your trainers and you won’t find out til the morning” grin! :D

      That’s why I feel like I’m ready to move, I barely have any of those connections anymore, the money things probably the only thing keeping me here because I’ve been out of work for three months (flown by!) but if I could just get up and go I would.

      You don’t need Rosetta Stone to speak German, just speak slowly, loudly and angrily and you’ve got it sorted. That’s how I talk to them anyway.

      Under your bed sounds more appealing everytime it’s suggested, I’m going to start buying ornaments to have on the floor lol!

Leave a Reply

