Back To Reality

Well I’m back home after four days at Leeds Festival and 8 days in Scotland. I’ve never been so exhausted from driving than I am now!

The week in Scotland has been pretty awesome if I’m honest, obviously you know from my previous post that I visited my grandmother at the beginning of last week, that was Tuesday. Wednesday we went to St. Andrews to buy some t-shirts because like an idiot that’s the one thing I’d forgotten to pack; two pairs of jeans, my suit for the wedding, underwear and socks. All I had was the t-shirt I was wearing and that wasn’t going to cut it for a whole week!

There’s one thing I’ll say for the region of Scotland I was in, everything was just so calm. I don’t know if it’s because they live on the coast and all of that fresh air makes them high but everyone I spoke to were nothing but polite.

Obviously this isn’t the case for most Scottish people, but the ones in Fife were awesome. Thursday we (me and my cousin) pretty much did nothing all day; watched films, drank beer. Standard.

Friday was drinks with the male side of the family and my other cousin Shelley’s husband to be, Sean and his family. It was pretty good, I couldn’t understand most of them as they had thick Scottish accents but anything I didn’t understand I just went with the tone of their voice, if it was low and serious I’d shake my head and go “Mhmmm” and if it was high and jolly I’d just laugh and nod. I got away with it.

Saturday was the wedding, my cousin Paul was an usher so I he had to leave early and I had to make my own way to the church, that was when my SatNav decided that it didn’t want to turn on anymore; the power button’s somehow broken inside, luckily I managed to rob Paul’s SatNav and I was away.

The view from the wedding reception.

I know I mentioned before that I hated weddings but I actually enjoyed myself, the wedding part didn’t take all that long; I didn’t burn from being in a church (it’s been known to happen) and I sang “All Things Bright and Beautiful” in Barry White style; much to the disappointment of my uncle.

One of my cousins Stephen was trying to chat up Shelley’s best friend, who had to keep reminding him that she was happily married to which he replied, “Yeah but to a black man so it doesn’t count.”

…I doubt there’s anything else that could kill an atmosphere as quickly as that. We all just shook our heads, then I slapped the back of his head.

Anyway, a couple of hours of me being my charming self and she seemed to forget she was married as I was able to sneak a kiss. I’m pretty sly like that.

I also got to spend some time and chat with the new bride Shelley, we’ve always gotten on more than me and her sister have, which was probably why I enjoyed it more. Plus she made a point of sitting me with people I actually knew. Rather than the dull table of idiots I had to endure at my other cousin’s wedding.

My cousin Shelley dancing with my two favourite ladies, Paige and Phoebe.

My mother informed me that I had gotten a letter, but she hadn’t opened it so she doesn’t know what it was. I thanked her for that helpful and useful bit of information.

After the night party six of us shared a taxi home, which me and Paul didn’t have to pay anything towards because we’d already been given enough money which is always a plus. Then we watched a bit of That 70s Show (Donna is SO hot), then bed.

Sunday, Paul took me back to the church so I could pick up my car, on the way there we saw a huge crowd of people looking out onto the sea, it turned out that a lot of whales had gotten beached (click the link) and there was a whole rescue team down there trying to save them.

Poor whales :(

26 whales were stranded, 10 were saved, 16 died :( it was such a sad sight to see. If only Hancock was there to save them.

Once I’d picked my car up, we bought Fish and Chips from the “world famous” Anstruther Fish and Chips shop, it was greasy but very tasty.

Then we headed back home and continued to watch the whole of season 3 of That 70’s Show, that was pretty much our Sunday afternoon/evening/night!

My mother phoned me Sunday evening to inform me that she had opened the letter, I’d been caught speeding, doing 40 in a 30 and I need to either pay £90 for a “Speeding Awareness Course” or a £60 fine and three (more) points on my license. I’ll probably do the course, the last thing I want is 3 more points on my license, especially considering the 3 I already have are due to come off next May.

Today arrives and I pretty much just packed up my stuff and set off about 1pm, took me 6

My cousin Paul and Gran’s former dog Pip, pretty much our Sunday.

n half hours to drive back, though it was sunny the entire day all the way through Great Britain so I drove the entire way with the roof down on my car. Best ever!

Forgetting I had just been done for speeding, as soon as I hit the motorway I hit 130mph a few times. There’s no speed cameras on the motorway and I was pretty confident that there were no police. (and there wasn’t)

That’s pretty much my entire week, it sucks to be home, I didn’t want to leave. Had I managed to find a job up there I’d have probably stayed but there seems to be less jobs up there than their are down here!

Join us tomorrow when I finally get round to telling you all about Leeds 2012! Also I’m sure there’s some photo’s of me looking well suave at the wedding, they’ve just not been posted online yet, but as soon as they are I’ll let you gasp in awe.

2 thoughts on “Back To Reality

  1. Whales are getting weaker and weaker. Remember when they used to dive over children? A beached whale is like a fat guy getting stuck on the couch not being able to get up. Poor whales.

Leave a Reply

