Self Pity And Wallowing Over

Edward Ciderhands

It’s been four months now since my position with my last company ended, I’ve actually been out of work for the same amount of time that I was at that company; I know I haven’t said much about my work situation recently, mainly because there’s been nothing to report.

I was out of work for maybe a week before I got a job interview for another company, aced it in the interview and was offered a job, told my start date wasn’t for another month so I decided to have some much need time off. However shortly before I was due to start at the company after filling out extensive paperwork for them and letting them contact a lot more than is required reference’s they told me that the position was no longer available and they were in fact cutting staff.

I was livid, I hung around for a month for nothing when I could have found elsewhere to work, they said they’d let me know if a position would become available in the future; I hung up on them and that was the last I’d heard from them.

Then shortly after that I aced another interview for a Windscreen replacement and repair company, they offered me a job then kept me waiting around for two fucking months for a start date. Kept saying that they don’t have any information to give me when the start date would be. This one was through an agency and I could imagine the agency being pretty stressed out over the situation too; they’re being dicked around as much as I had been.

Luckily the first company called me last week and asked me if I was still available for work as some positions had become available, it’s gotten to the point where I can’t be picky any more, I need some cashflow, my damn car has made sure of that. There have been no other jobs that have appealed to me or gotten back to me over the last four months, I even tried looking for work in Scotland but the area I was looking at has less job ops than here, no wonder they’re all at the pub at 11am.

So I begrudgingly accepted this job, 4k less than what I was originally offered because it’s a different role and 3k less than what I’d be earning at the windscreen place, but that job was never going to happen which is a shame because the Windscreen place had a lot of hot women (and I like hot women).

I sent the agency and the contact at the actual company an e-mail yesterday:

Hi Hayley,

Further to your previous e-mail where you said they’d know 110% when my start date would be by the end of last week, I received a call from them on Thursday to tell me that they still don’t know when it’s going to be.

I’m sure this is as frustrating for you as it has been for me, I don’t know what sort of company offers someone a job then keeps them hanging around for months for a start date, it’s something they should have sorted out before interviewing people let alone offering out roles.

It’s definitely not a company that I will ever want to work for, I have been offered a role elsewhere and have decided to take it.

Thank you for your hard work in chasing the matter up, it’s just a shame that they’ve let us down.

I wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Peter.

So Monday I start my new job, “Service Desk Analyst” which is basically fixing peoples computers over the phone, hopefully this one will work out despite the lower wage; I’m sick of bouncing from job to job all the time, I really thought the last one was it but they turned out to be a real joke.

The last four months have gone by pretty quick, I’ve literally done next to nothing I wanted to achieve, could have hit the gym quite a bit more in retrospect, could have spent less… Could have edited the novel, could have done a lot of things I suppose. No sense dwelling though, I’ve had a pretty great summer overall;

Me And My Creators At My Cousins Wedding

Went to the Olympics, went to Leeds Festival, Scotland for my cousins wedding, I wrote a novel, numerous nights with friends… Could have been worse!

When I was made redundant from work four months ago resulting in me giving up the apartment I’d found with one of my best friends, three days after my girlfriend split up with me; I was in a pretty dark place, like the universe had once again decided it was my turn to get screwed over, that company was like a constant battle every day and it felt like I’d lost the challenge I’d set myself of making that company a better place. That was after having a mind numbingly boring job before that and before that and before that.

So these four months, while they haven’t been good to my bank account or my body from doing nothing most days, they have been good to my mental state. They’ve helped me get back to a place where I haven’t been for a long time.

I can walk into this new job on Monday (providing they don’t screw me again) all fresh, meet new people and start all over again.

15 thoughts on “Self Pity And Wallowing Over

  1. A new start Pete and the best of luck with it, your lucky to get a job, i can see things getting worse.

    You look well in the photo, putting a bit of weight on ??? :)

  2. Well, at least it’s something. And I bet you’ll get some good material for your blog–people with computer problems are not the most rational… ;)

  3. Wonderful, my comment didn’t go through.

    All I said basically was it’s good to get a fresh start every once in a while and I’m going to ejaculate once I finally quit my job to do the same. It was much more poetic and contained more nudity the first time around. Blame Bill Gates.

  4. A new start! How exciting! Sure, there are the down parts to it all, but, in the end, it’s a fresh beginning (and all the other ways of saying ‘new’) and I can’t imagine anything better! You’ll rock this.

Leave a Reply

