Britain’s Got Talent 2013 – Semi Final 5

ShadowDancersIn what was probably the best Semi Final I’ve seen in years we were treated to so actual talent tonight; it almost makes the whole week worth it and they sure did do the job of ending the Semi’s with a bang.

Tonight I wasn’t disappointed with a single act; the top four acts of the night in my opinion all should have been in the finals, three I definitely wanted in the finals but of course only two could go through.

Attraction who have been the number one pick to win this show since the very first episode did not disappoint; they managed to jerk tears out of the audience and the judges, hell if I didn’t have a heart made of coal I may have even had the courage to pluck a few tears. But I do so I didn’t.

There are a couple of acts that I think could steal it away from Attraction, namely Luminites and Jordan O’Keefe but of course there’s always the wild card which I hope will be the first person I mention on todays blog. The people I’ll list as people who should have gone through doesn’t mean I thought they were better than the winners of tonights show because I’m happy with who went through, but it means they should have been placed elsewhere in the week where they’d have faced less obvious stiff competition.

I don’t know what they were thinking when they put together the semi-finals, surely you would place the acts you know aren’t all that good with the acts that you know deserve to be in the finals, maybe then there wouldn’t be so many children in the final. But let’s face it, it gives us a chance to crush their stupid little dreams mwahahaha.

PEOPLE THAT SHOULD HAVE GONE THROUGH

Aliki – Singer

This girl had it all for this show; a good sob story, beauty, the look of a star and an amazing voice. I’m so disappointed that she didn’t get through to the finals because she’s so much better than half the acts that did get through but alas she finished four in this semi. It’d have been perfect if she’d have been on in the middle of the week but tonight she was up against a tough crowd. She performed the song flawlessly, she looked and sounded like an angel, I hope this show isn’t the last we see of her and hopefully she’ll get that wildcard position, she’s someone I could see winning this show and she must feel robbed though I imagine her to be so kind hearted she’d never admit it. Marry me.

Steve Hewlett – Ventriloquist

Another act that would be perfect for the final and actually show that Britain’s Got Talent does have a bit of variety would have been Steve Hewlett, his appearance in the auditions was brief as they only gave him a 30 second clip on the show but he proved to be a big hit tonight as he finished third, making the top three and narrowly losing out to Jordan. As I said before with Aliki had he’d been placed on any other show he’d have more than likely won a spot in the finals.

PEOPLE THAT DID GO THROUGH

Jordan O’Keefe – Singer

Jordan was a guy that as soon as I saw him in the auditions I knew he’d get through to the finals, in a night where he was up against some of the best acts he was the audiences second choice behind Attraction and earned a place in the finals, I’d have been happy with either him or Aliki getting through with Attraction no doubt being a dead cert in getting to the finals. His rendition of I Will Always Love You is brilliant; when he starts out the song you don’t know for sure what it is he’s singing then as you pick it up you begin to think “Whoa, this is pretty good.” Well done Jordan on getting through to the finals, I’d have no problem with you winning the show.

Attraction – Shadow Dancers

These guys are like the main eventers of this show; as soon as I saw their audition I picked them to win the whole thing, they still are my number one pick to win and I really do want them to win because they’re in a final where nearly everyone else are singers. I want an act with variety to go through to the Royal Variety Show and be given a much larger slot so they could be given time to tell a story. You wonder how they could top their first performance and in my eyes they blew it out of the water.

And that’s that for the Semi-Finals, in the finals 6 out of the 10 acts are singers and I have no doubt that the wild card 11th act will be a singer (hopefully Aliki); five out of the 10 acts are children so it should be an interesting one this year. I’m pretty excited to see the final if I’m honest because while I don’t believe some of them should be there the ones that are there are some of my favourites.

Top three picks:

1. Attraction
2. Luminites
3. Jordan O’Keefe

Though I believe Jack Carroll could be the dark horse in this competition, get the cripple sympathy vote and win the whole thing, and I wouldn’t have a problem with that at all. But it all depends on who the wildcard act is.

4 thoughts on “Britain’s Got Talent 2013 – Semi Final 5

  1. Attraction made me cry my eyes out AGAIN, so I was so happy they went through. In my opinion, Aliki should also have made the finals, which is why I hope she becomes the wildcard. Her voice in the semi-finals was literally unearthly- it was so striking, and she didn’t have to stretch herself to a single note, it just came so naturally. I wasn’t all that bothered about Jordan to be honest, he did’t blow me away, neither did the ventriloquist… but Maarty Broekman was fucking fantastic! There was no way he was getting through but I enjoyed his shrieking and flailing, and I would totally want to see him again.

    • Lol really?! Maarty?! He looks like he’s just come an asylum for the mentally handicapped with that permanent grin on his face! I thought he was gonna cry though when Simon gave him his comments, hilarious. No doubt Aliki was better than Jordan but I’m not unhappy he got through. Aliki’s has to be the wildcard because no one else came close to her this week.

Leave a Reply

