Born In The Wrong Decade

I’ve always thought this, even from a young age.

I was born in 1985 in Oldham, England, moved to Chesterfield in North East Derbyshire at the age of 3, still living with my parents at age 25. There’s nothing I want more than to move out but I can barely afford to buy petrol to run my car, my overdraft in my bank is £1500, of which I am currently overdrawn by £1100.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not so stupid to think that there wasn’t debt decades ago, but I doubt it’s as easily achievable as it is today.

2011 is a year in the age of technology, but I can’t help but wonder what life would have been like in a different decade. Time seemed so much simpler back then, say the 1950s or 1960s, after both the World Wars were over with, work wasn’t so hard to find, once you found a job back then you stuck to it. The people were better, in the 50s you didn’t have chavs, you didn’t get idiots sat at the back of buses playing music on their phone as loudly as they could.

I read in the paper once that some teenager stabbed a grown up because the grown up asked him politely to turn the music down. Back in those days children were disciplined.

I’m proud to be from England, I’m proud that there was once a British Empire, but I am not proud to be English, not in this century.

At some schools, especially the one I went to, they’re riddled with drugs, young offenders in the making, if you tell the teacher to shut the fuck up what does the teacher do? Give you detention? Back then you’d be getting a cane across the fingers.

My mother once told me how she used to misbehave at school and for her trouble the teacher broke her hand with a cane. My class gave our form tutor a nervous break down, super-gluing him to his chair, putting iron filings in his coffee. I don’t believe in beating children but I do believe in discipline.

Maybe if I was disciplined I would have made something of myself, I wouldn’t be the complete failure I am now. Don’t get me wrong I’m not self deprecating, just stating fact.

Back then there was no mobile phones, there was no internet, no Facebook, Google, YouTube, Twitter or even MySpace, if you wanted answers, you had to think for yourself, if you wanted to talk to someone, you had to go outside and meet people, now you can stay in doors becoming extremely unhealthy and overweight while talking to people all you want. Either one click of the computer button or one click on your iPhone and you can call anywhere. We are spoiled by technology, it’s making us a weaker race, yes there was television back then but not to the extent we have at the moment, no one cared about or even imagined 3D technology, there’s so much shit on television now it’s unreal, members of the general public can get on television and make money for doing nothing rather than going out and getting a real job. Jade Goody was a perfect example of this, she went on Big Brother in the UK for a few months and afterward carried on getting magazine deals, television deals, business deals all through being an uneducated retard.

Even when she got cancer, she exploited herself and flaunted it and her family all over television, it made me sick, it made me sicker that other uneducated idiots pandered to her. There are people out there, good honest hard working people that deserve way more than she ever did, yet they suffer in obscurity while even now she’s still mentioned on television, my grandfather died of cancer last year, he fought for this country, was he get mentioned? No, he wasn’t. But you know what? He didn’t care because he was from another time. So was my great uncle Kenneth Howorth who protected his English brethren against the IRA, until he was blown up by an improvised explosive device, does he get mentioned? No.

If anything they’re lucky because they no longer have to suffer any of today’s stupidities.

I look back and times just seemed better, children were disciplined, anyone that skipped school were dragged to school by truant officers, there wasn’t so much need to recycle everything, you could smoke in doors, no strict driving laws, whatever else you can think of that is banned or non-existant today, more than likely existed before and while it is true the reason we have to recycle everything now is because of what our elders have or haven’t done in past generations and it is also true that they are not flawless themselves, it just seems a whole lot better place to live than it is now.

Music was a whole lot different back then, there was no Tinie Tempah, Dizzy Rascal, Chase and Status. There was Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Tony Bennett etc, jazz was popular, real music. Not the shit we’re forced to listen to in this generation.

Imagine a world without obesity and the television shows that exploit these lazy excuses for homo-sapiens, imagine a world without recycling, inflated prices, no need for political correctness, not getting fired from jobs because of something you may have posted on the internet, a world where there’s no “super injunctions” and “phone hacking”, a world of discipline and respect.

Seems hard to imagine in 2011. Not so much 60 years ago.

Progression isn’t always the correct direction.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Born In The Wrong Decade”

  1. Such a great topic! I don’t know if it’s a “Western world” type thing but everything you’re talking about… the technology, the lack of discipline, embarrassment towards your country, etc. that is DEFINITELY felt here in the States. I think it’s great that you’re proud to be from England! As a little kid growing up, I was (and still am) obsessed with British history always wishing I was born in the U.K. instead of Colorado. I understand where you’re coming from when you say you don’t feel proud to be English in this day and age. That’s how I, and plenty of Americans, feel as well. Proud of our history but not so proud of George W. Bush, Iraq and the less than stellar performance of Obama. Anywho, this is such a great post! I look forward to reading more from you. I strongly recommend that you see Woody Allen’s latest movie “Midnight in Paris”. It deals with a lot of what you’re talking about–being born in the wrong decade, the decline of man etc. It’s really funny and it’s shot beautifully so if you get a chance go see it! It takes an interesting look at our nostalgia for the past.

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read it! I know what it’s like not to be impressed with your government as well, ours isn’t so great either. But I suppose there are much worse places to live, so for that I am also thankful. Thanks for the film recommendation, I’ve heard of Midnight in Paris, I will definitely check it out!

  2. ….your pretty much right in everything you say here….some of your solutions are a bit on the heavy side for me but your absolutely right about England. I felt exactly as you did when I was a teenager in the 80’s, proud to come from England, not proud to be English. We were lucky enough to move to Switzerland three years ago and we have NO intention of ever moving back. Switzerland is closer to how I remember growing up in 70’s Yorkshire. Here 4 year old’s walk to school on their own, (my own daughter included, groups of teenagers say good morning when you pass them by…enough said.

  3. Often enough, the good times of the past were not always what they are cracked up to be. Take what you think to be the best of the past but keep your eyes on the future. It’s all yours for the taking. Grab it. You are tomorrow’s elders. What will the young to say about you? Give them something good to talk about. And don’t ever doubt that you can’t do it. Yes, it’s good to talk, but “doing it” does it better.

  4. I appreciated your well written article and hear where you are coming from. The good old days only look “good” when viewed in hindsight. My message is “listen to Patti” and seize the day!

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read it. It is looking at it through rose-tinted glasses, but I can’t help but think times were simpler then…

  5. Haha in the 50’s there were no chavs! Reason enough. I can’t believe your mom’s hand was broken for punishment. Poor thing.
    After living in England for 3 years, I have to agree with you. People seem angry. They liter, they graffiti, people don’t say ‘thank you’ often..it just seems like everyone wants to drink their problems away. The 50’s definitely seemed like a happier, brighter time.

    1. I just find it funny how silly teenage white boys pretend they’re Dr. Dre or something, I blame this on poor parenting and poor school discipline, my mum may have misbehaved but after that incident she certainly behaved herself afterwards! I believe kids of today would benefit from truant officers, now if someone skips school they’re free to terrorize the locals.

  6. Thanks for linking up to the Love Politics Blogs Showcase. I think the most worrying change we’ve seen is that so many people seem to have a complete lack of personal responsibility. Without that we can’t look after ourselves, we can’t raise our kids and we certainly can’t improve society as a whole. Having said that there were big problems with the time periods you’re looking back at. Rampant racism and homophomia, institutionalised child abuse, very basic healthcare, I could go on. Maybe the grass is always greener?

    1. In agreement about the racism and homophobia but it’s not like it’s still not around now, same with child abuse. The personal responsibility is a scary thing especially when those people are having children! Anyone that ever has gone on a chat show like Jeremy Kyle needs to be put down.

  7. “if you wanted answers, you had to think for yourself, if you wanted to talk to someone, you had to go outside and meet people”

    I guess our problem today is the lack of a cause, a lack of something meaningful to fight for.

    But what do I know? I’m just another idiot who use the internet and not my brain when looking for answers.

    1. Don’t feel bad, we’re all idiots that use the internet instead of our brains 🙂 wait until they make Google chips to implant in our heads then we’ll never have to think about anything ever again!

Leave a Reply

