Unemployment Isn’t What It’s Cracked Up To Be

My Bored Face

It’s been two full weeks now since I walked out on my job, I was hoping to have another job by now, I guess I was too cocky and thought I could walk straight into another job, but things do not look good, I don’t mind the fact I’m overdrawn, but I have Leeds Festival in a months time, I at least need a bit of money coming in before I go. Considering I haven’t paid my friend for the ticket yet either!

I always think when I’m at work that there’s nothing more I’d like than to not work, just sit around the house all day in my underwear and watch television, but here I am, doing it, no money at all to do anything else… I don’t think I can take it anymore!

I apply for as many jobs as I can every day, one thing I’ve noticed is there’s not as many jobs getting posted as there were previously, I apply for the ones I can, even being so desperate to apply for factory jobs again, I think though looking back I enjoyed factory work more than call centre work, being more a

ctive is good for you, the past year I’ve spent in call centre’s I’ve put so much weight on, I hate my appearance and it’s largely in part to not having time to exercise.

Now I have the time to exercise, I’m so used to doing nothing I can’t be bothered to force myself to exercise, I go to sleep every night/morning at around 4am, because, well what’s the point in getting up early? It’s not like I have work to go to, but I do try to wake up before mid-day so I at least have time to do something constructive, but all I do is get out of bed, have a cigarette, have a wash, sit in front of the computer, maybe spend an hour looking for jobs, then watch some t.v. show on my hard-drive. Before I know it, it’s half five in the afternoon, great I’ve done nothing apart from check Word Press, Facebook and occasionally check job websites.

See the lengths I go to, to entertain myself?

There’s nothing really anything to do, it only felt like a couple of days since I went out with my friend Will and girlfriend Fiona for a quiet drink, but that was a week ago now. Didn’t seem that long ago I took my girlfriend to the airport, but that was two weeks ago! Every time I look at the clock it’s never 10 or 20 minutes that’s past, I looked at the clock and it was mid-day, then next time I looked it was half 5, looked not long ago, it was half 8, where the hell is all the time going?!

Time is running out, I have one month exactly to start earning some money before I go to Leeds Festival, I know when I come back I have a back-up job in another call centre but the start date for that isn’t until September and it’s a 40 minute drive to get there, maybe I should start considering part-time work rather than just looking for full time work?

I hate those people that choose not to work and try to claim whatever benefits they can, spending tax payers money because they’re too lazy to earn any of their own, that’s why I try my hardest to conserve money rather than claim benefits myself, I honestly can’t remember the last time I was on Job Seekers Allowance, usually when I sign up to the JobCentre, a job presents it self before I have

chance to take money, perhaps I should try that!

I need to do something rather than sitting around the house all day, in the same spot doing nothing, then going back to bed only to repeat the day after. It’s not as if it’s stress free either, because all I have on my mind is money issues. I definitely think I need to start making some better decisions, going back to Voice was for certain a bad decision, I can’t afford to make anymore of those.

If anyone who reads this has any good ideas on how to look for jobs, or any advice in general, please don’t hesitate to tell me, I welcome all good advice, I would say I certainly need it!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

6 thoughts on “Unemployment Isn’t What It’s Cracked Up To Be”

  1. Oh my goodness, I love this post.

    You are very funny…though, I should find out if you are trying to be before I compliment you on it 😀
    I am not making light of your situation, but I too did the EXACT same thing in March – and I haven’t found the job I want YET. Although, I do keep myself very busy – the opportunities weren’t there like I had expected them to be. Luckily, it’s not a pressing situation for me.

    Good luck on your search!!! When the time is right an opportunity will present itself. I’m not saying you should stop looking…but things have a way of working themselves out most of the time. 🙂 I feel for ya, Pete.

    1. Don’t worry, I’m a naturally funny guy 😛 thought I’d post something less serious than what I have been doing. But yeah, things always do seem to work out eventually, it’s just whether they’ll work out in time! Four weeks, hopefully people will give me money for my birthday which is in two weeks!

      The thing that annoys me the most, is I used all the shaving foam when I did that, took the picture, had a shower, realized I didn’t actually shave my face when I had the chance. Now I can’t afford to go and get more!

      Woe is me.

  2. Wow I know exactly how you feel! Honestly, sitting at home doing nothing is not satisfying unless you’ve been productive at some point. You have absolutely NO motivation to do anything when you’re unemployed except lay around and watch TV…although I’ve recently added words with friends to my list. Anyway, my blog is all about unemployment. I posted some hilarious videos yesterday and spent the whole morning laughing. At least that gives you something to do 😉

Leave a Reply

