The Long Road To 30

I’ve been absent for the past couple of days, as you all know it was my birthday yesterday, turned 26 years of age though the real celebration was Tuesday.

I said previously my girlfriend had something planned for me but wouldn’t tell me what it was, she picked me up at 7:45pm, still wouldn’t tell me where we were going, drove me to my brothers house…

Me: Are we going to Tom and Amy’s?

Fiona: We are yeah.

Me: …Why?

Fiona: Picking them up.

Me: Oh right… Do they know we’re picking them up?

Fiona: Yeah we’ve had this planned all week, don’t you worry.


That in itself was a nice surprise, even though I went out for Tom’s stag do the week before I rarely get to see my big bro, so yeah we picked them up and then we went to an awesome restaurant called Damon’s, I went there once before for my leaving do when I left Ibis Hotel last year. Famous for their BBQ ribs, the amount of BBQ they smother on them though, good God. I had BBQ sweats hah, normally I don’t like eating ribs, too messy but with these the meat falls right off the bone!

But yeah we had a fantastic meal, got a birthday cake out of it too (avoided being sang happy birthday at which is always a plus), had a few drinks and for a rare moment in my life I had a good night! It helped that I finally sorted out my sleeping pattern, I’m now sleeping at a regular time (sort of), left the restaurant and my girlfriend gave me my card which I thought I’d photograph for all your viewing pleasure…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yeah, I am pretty fantastic. Don’t ask about the “Treacle” nickname I don’t know where that nickname came from, maybe it’s because I’m sweet but thick? It’s not a nickname I particularly enjoy but I suppose I call her “Trout” (Pronounced Traaat) so it makes us even with the nonsense nicknames I suppose hah. Still getting used to being someones boyfriend as well, before I got with Fiona I was never the boyfriend type.

My actual birthday yesterday though was unsurprisingly uneventful. Same routine, I got up for work, went to work, I always get there before everyone else because I set off early to avoid traffic, everyone else arrives, turns out it’s some old tarts 50th birthday so everyone was pandering to her, while she sat next to me everyone came up to her and wished her happy birthday, handed her cards, had a collection for her, bought her presents, sang her happy birthday. All the while I’m sat there seething with bitterness next to her because one person said happy birthday to me and that’s a woman that I started work with. It took them until half 12 to realise it was also my birthday.

“Why didn’t you say anything?” someone went, well maybe because I’m not that much of a prick to stamp all over someones 50th and announce it was also my birthday, considering the fact it was all I talked about since I started there. No I just sat there silent not talking to anyone getting on with my work, the one guy I do talk to was off that day as he had a few interviews to go to.

On the plus side it beat last years birthday. I was offered a job at the Ibis Hotel in Sheffield which I’ve now decided to turn down due to the place I’m at now extending the amount of time they need me. It feels good to know that I now had a plan, where as when I left Voice Marketing I didn’t know what to do and was extremely worried about my debt. Now I have a plan to get out of it so that’s a good feeling and a lot of weight off my shoulders.

On the down side, my own father forgot it was my birthday, didn’t once wish me happy birthday all day! Seeing as Fiona was at work last night I couldn’t spend any time with her so I ended up going to bed early, I was pretty tired from staring at a computer screen all day anyway. Today when I got in from work I get an apology from my dad as he forgot it was the 3rd of August yesterday, he didn’t realise. Pah! Old age for you!

Didn’t really get much in the way of presents, my dad paid for my car to be serviced and paid for it to be repaired when it broke down earlier this year which combined is worth around £650, my mum on the sly paid for my Leeds Festival ticket as well, I got my birthday meal from Fiona and she also bought me an Angry Birds t-shirt, for those that don’t know, I am absolutely obsessed with Angry Birds, if you don’t know what it is and you have an app phone, get it downloaded and prepare for your life to disappear!

Birthdays as you get older get less special, I came to realise this last year for my 25th, I usually try and arrange a night out with all my friends but rather than being disappointed with people that don’t show up I’ve just decided to arrange a night of extreme drinking with my brother instead.

Today at work it was back to business, my good man Alistair was back and it was back to the usual office banter I became accustomed with, though with everyone knowing I’m a Marshmallow Man (Thanks Lafemmeroar!) they don’t take me as serious anymore, had a much more better day than yesterday, knowing that a day shouldn’t be special is easier to cope with.

What I do have to cope with now is I’m now on the long road to 30 years old! =/

Also thanks to Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge who was the first person to wish me a happy birthday 🙂 It really made my day!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

13 thoughts on “The Long Road To 30”

  1. Happy Belated Birthday! You’re only 4 years older than me, we’re both getting old…It won’t be long now before you’ll purchase your first granny scooter *yay* 😉

  2. I am so sorry – I was two days early!!! And normally I’m the one who is late…. Or forgets 😦 Even with the time difference I was STILL EARLY! 🙂

  3. Firstly – Happy belated birthday 🙂
    Secondly – Angry birds! Love it too.
    Thridly – Your birthday card is so pretty!
    Fourthly – I never realised I wans’t subscribed. And I thought you were low on activity. I guess I have a lot of catching up to do. But since I like your blog, its more like a treat 🙂

  4. Happy Belated B’day mate =D

    Angry Birds? You too? I still don’t get the hype surrounding that app. It is like I am the only one who hates it :/

Leave a Reply

