Back In The Land Of The Living

So today as I said before I had an interview at a company in Sheffield called The Tribal Group, a company that provides educational software to schools, universities, prisons, social services and many other sectors, it’s a big company, employing 1300 people in 5 continents and is a lot more accessible than where I’m currently temping.

Yesterday at work I was contemplating not going for the interview because they offered me another two weeks doing data entry then hopefully getting another six month data entry role in Chesterfield. But I thought I might as well go and see what the crack is, interview was at 10:30 as well so that meant I could lay in and not get up at 6am!

Although because my hard drive is knackered and I had nothing to do last night I ended up going to sleep around 7:30pm and woke up at 12:30 this morning, totally gutted, I stayed up and watched wrestling, think I dozed off around 5am this morning,

“It’s ok.” I thought, “I still have a few hours until I need to get up and get ready.”

Then at half 6 this morning my dad comes bursting through my door.

Dad: Are you not going to work today?!

Me: INTERVIEW!!!

Dad: Sorry I forgot.

Seems like you’re doing a lot of forgetting these days, my birthday, my interview, you’re awesome. Fell back to sleep a bit later on and woke up absolutely shattered, put my suit on, basically just crawled into my car and set off about 9:45, didn’t even shave! Got there early, realised I hadn’t brought my ID with me which is what they asked for in the e-mail, fantastic start to the day yeah? Went in and took a seat waiting for my interview, waited for 15 minutes before they called me in, I was being interviewed by two people, I hate panel interviews. Then again I hate interviews in general, I should just be able to walk in and tell them to give me a job there and then.

So the interview starts and right away I tell them I forgot my ID, they were cool with it though and said if they need it I can scan it in and e-mail it them or just pop in and they can scan it, thank goodness for that! Then I’m asked questions what I’ve been doing, what I hope to achieve, where I plan to be in 5 years time, the usual stuff, I was told that I’d be doing a typing test to prove if I’m as good at typing as I say I am, and do a telephone test, which I was sort of dreading, then I answered some questions based on scenarios which I think I aced.

I was asked what my strengths were, I said my personality, I find it easy to connect to people and have a laugh with people, the next part of the interview was what’s call a Belbin Test, which basically there’s seven sections you rate yourself in areas, you can use 10 points in each section, so you can rate yourself a 10 in one section or 3 in one, 7 in another, etc. Did that, then you add up the points at the end and whatever you scored more in that’s who you are.

If you search on Google for Belbin’s Team Role table you’ll find the full list of results, mine ended up being “Completer-Finisher”

Typical Features

Painstaking, orderly, conscientious, anxious

Positive Qualities

A capacity for follow-through. Perfectionism.

Allowable Weaknesses

A tendency to worry about small things, a reluctance to “let go”.

I was pretty happy with that result and I think it’s the best result on the list.

Next up was the telephone test, which was basically one of the interviewers talking to me through a head-set, I just get some details off of her, ask her what the problem is, I dealt with it swiftly, gave her the e-mail that I had on my screen for her to e-mail to get further assistance, that was pretty much it, not as daunting as I thought it was. They said they were happy with the call and that I had a lovely telephone voice!

Now I was in the home stretch, I thought if they had any doubts before I’d show them what I can do when it comes to typing, they said that the average is about 30 words per minute, they loaded up their program, I took off my watch, because when I take off my watch, it’s business time. They let me at it, I did it pretty quickly, there was nothing to it. They said, “Let’s look at the mistakes then… oh there aren’t any.”

Too right there aren’t any. Plus my rating was 65 words per minute, which they were very impressed by.

At the end they asked me about holidays and what not, I said I needed time off for Leeds Festival on bank holiday weekend and then the following Friday off for my brothers wedding, they said that’d be fine.

And that was the interview over! I was told they’d let me know by the end of the week as they still have some people to interview, they’re after two people so hopefully I’d be one of the two, I thanked them for their time and left.

Thought I did pretty well in the interview, I got a voice mail last week saying that they were very impressed with the telephone interview, I always ace telephone interviews though. Best part of it was:

Interviewer: The annual salary is 14k a year.

Me: Make it 15k.

Interviewer: No, 14k…

Me: Bam, you got a deal!

So maybe they liked my sense of humour! It’s probably one of the best interviews I’ve ever had, when I first started, despite being charismatic and energetic in interviews I just used to freeze up, I’d become dull and boring and difficult to find answers to questions, then after awhile I got a little better.

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve worked in customer service roles for a couple of years or because I’ve had so many of them but I’m usually awesome in interviews now. The last three interviews I’ve had have resulted in jobs, my main problem is behaving once I have the job! It’s something I’m working on though (Not at Ventura, I don’t care what happens to me there!)

I got home about two hours after I left for the interview, sat around, checked Facebook, WordPress, Gmail, the usual websites. Then I had a call from the Tribal Group and they wanted to offer me the job!

Me: That was quick.

Interviewer: Well it was an easy decision. We liked your telephone interview and everything you did in the face to face interview, there’s no point in waiting until the end of the week when we know who we want.

I honestly couldn’t believe it, I have never been that impressive in an interview before that they’ve called me up the same day to offer me the position! They said that because I’m going to Leeds Festival they’ll start me after the bank holiday weekend which works out perfect because my current contract with Ventura ends just before the bank holiday weekend. I’ve gotten complaints there for being too crude while talking to my pal that works there, wait until my last day, they don’t know what crude is!

So today has been a perfect day so far, not looking forward to the doctors appointment later though!

Hemorrhoids update to follow later!

 


Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

4 thoughts on “Back In The Land Of The Living”

  1. They didn’t want to do a natal chart horoscope? lol

    Sounds great, hope it works out well for you.

  2. Good luck on the job, mate.

    ‘ wait until my last day, they don’t know what crude is!’
    Hope you give us the bytes on that too 🙂

    1. Cheers matey! Don’t worry I’ll be making a note of the disgusting tasteless things I say,

      Already offended someone today because I said this can of coke is flatter than my grans tits.

Leave a Reply

