And Then…

I thought I’d update everyone on what I’ve been doing since coming back from Leeds Festival.

As I said before I started my new job Tuesday at The Tribal Group in Sheffield, didn’t know what to expect, all I knew was that I was tired. Damn tired, after a weekend of doing nothing but eating junk and drinking beer I didn’t really want to get back to normal life quite so soon.

Not only did I have that to contend with but I also had to try and write a speech for my brothers wedding! Which is Saturday!

So Tuesday arrives and I turn up to the building looking pretty smooth in a shirt and trousers, I hate wearing shirt and trousers, I feel so restricted! I’m greeted by the same receptionists that greeted me at my interview and they sort me out with a pass then my line manager Claire takes me into the office, she shows me my desk, the first thing that popped into my head was:

Wow! I have dual monitors on my desk!

The second thing was…

Whoa! I have my own desk!

Never before have I had my own desk, at Dixon’s and Voice we had to fight for whatever desk we wanted, you basically just sat down wherever you could and get on with it, here we have our own area, with our own set of drawers and our own bin!

It may seem nothing to the rest of you but with the jobs I’ve had previously, this was ace.

The first day was pretty much practicing logging calls onto the database, basically there’s 28 different projects Tribal do, I’m not going to list any of them because, well, I don’t know enough to make a list. But for now I was using one of the projects, waiting for e-mails to come in, then log it in the system, which gets sent upstairs where one of the consultants picks it up and contacts the customer back.

Pretty easy job so far, yesterday I started taking phone calls, it was something I was dreading because I hadn’t taken an in bound call in a long time. But I soon started getting the hang of it, I just tell them I’m new and they’re alright with it. But basically the last two days of work has been me waiting for the phone to ring while watching an e-mail inbox. Just waiting for activity.

The second day was funny…

Claire: Pete you’re on calls today.

Me: Uhh… Alright.

*Sits doing nothing for an hour and a half*

Claire: Okay it’s your lunch hour.

Literally nothing happened for that hour and half! It doesn’t seem to busy at the moment but that’s because they’re easing me into things, me being me I’m picking things up quite quickly so Monday they’re going to give me more stuff to do (more inbox’s to watch).

Wednesday I pretty much wrote a rough draft of the speech I have to give at my bro’s wedding, I told my girlfriend Fiona that I’m not sure if it’s any good, while I am the funny guy in almost every situation, I’m only funny if it’s not forced, so I thought any attempt to make a funny speech may just go down badly. I spent ages looking at best man speech web sites and while I found some good funny ideas I decided to write what I wanted to write and write it from the heart.

Which is what I have done. I showed Fiona today when we went out for dinner and she had a few tears in her eyes, so I think it may go down well, if it, I’ll come out with a joke randomly that’ll make everyone laugh.

I think I’m more nervous about tomorrow than Tom is, he seems to just go with the flow where as I over-analyze everything, I really do hate standing in front of big crowds, I especially hate talking to them, I have to do both Saturday, maybe a few shots of whiskey may be in order beforehand?!

Apart from that nothing else has really happened this week, I’ve slept, got up for work, come home, worried about the wedding, gone to bed, that’s all this week has been really. I’m sure I’ll do fine, I’m awesome afterall. Just have to remember not to offend anyone.

Must not offend anyone…

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

7 thoughts on “And Then…”

  1. Nice to have you back. Glad your new position is going really good. Leeds sounded like a lot of fun but also a pain since it was gushy mud everywhere. A lot of cool bands.
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Wedding speeches are the worst. “I decided to write what I wanted to write and write it from the heart” sounds a bit gay.

    Can we have a post of the speech mate? It’d be good to see what you came up with.

    Mark.

  3. Good luck with your speech, and massive congrats on your new job! I need to find somewhere else to work- my boyfriend got ill a few days ago and we had to take him to hospital. He was well enough to go home, but the doctor told him that someone needed to watch him for 48 hours, and I volunteered. I had to call up work to tell them I couldn’t come in for two days, and it was as though Hell was unleashed down the phone. But, really? Nearly three years I’ve worked there, and I can’t have two days off to look after someone I love? I stood my ground but they’ve forced me to take more hours next week, on days I’ve already told them I couldn’t do. But I suppose it’s worth it, for the sake of not having a vomit-covered beloved on my hands.

    Where was I? Oh, yeah. Huge congrats on your new job! Hopefully they’re all very nice… and anyway, you have a nice desk all to yourself. It’s literally the stuff that dreams are made of, and I’m not even joking 😀 Any vacancies, you know where I am!

    1. That’s the thing with Asda and other places like that, they don’t care about your personal life, you’re not a person to them just another number, it’s shit that I hope your boyfriend gets better soon. Speech went well, everyone said it was easily the best thing of the night, even got emotional which adds to it! 😀

Leave a Reply

