A Trusted Betrayal

Someone asked on the forums what else we write apart from blogging, I quickly wrote this as a prologue to a novel I wanted to start writing, it only took me about 30 minutes to knock this up, so apologies if it’s a bit shit, I did actually write a few chapters before my car was broken into and my bag, sat nav and iPod were stolen last year, but in the bag was the note book I had all my plans for the novel in. I kind of got disheartened after that. Then a couple of months ago the external HDD I kept the novel on broke so I don’t even think I have it anymore, damn shame because I enjoyed writing it at the time.

I also started writing a book when I was fresh out of Voice Marketing on why I was so bitter about life, started with call centres, I wrote the first chapter on call centres but after that I started working again then blogging on here and I never really had time to carry on with it, although it’s something I’m thinking of starting back up again, if anyone would be interested in reading that, give me a shout.

He looked over to his right and saw Gabriel laying in a pool of his own blood, he looked at his hands and saw the same red substance. He had caused this massacre though he couldn’t remember a thing. His mind had gone blank and now he has found himself in a whole lot of trouble.

“What the fuck did you do?!” Yelled Sophie, though she got no reply he was too frozen in shock though that was the thought that was running through his head, what the fuck had he done? How did his best friend end up on the floor in a bloody mess? Shawn ran up the street to check on his fallen friend. The rain began to pour more heavily now and started to wash the blood away. The street almost looked like a red river with the amount of blood, Gabriel was not in a good position.

Chris and Dan stood in the shadows looking pleased with themselves, Cassie stood behind them crying. She knows she was the real cause of this, why she allows herself to be manipulated by Chris is a mystery even to her. She hates him but at the same time loves him, it’s because of this that she’s managed to cause so much carnage.

Jeff dropped to his knees, tears streaming down his face.

“Gabriel wake up! Come on man!” Yelled Shawn, Gabriel didn’t respond. Jeff shuffled over to Gabriel and put his hand on his chest, he could feed his heart still beating though faintly. He looks up from Gabriel and spots Chris standing in the darkness, laughing. He then sees Cassie stood next to him, he could then feel rage overcoming his entire body. His face began to tremble with anger as he rose to his feet and started bombing towards Chris and Dan.

Chris backs off as Dan steps forward, Chris then drags Cassie away.

“Jeff! Where are you going?!” Yells Sophie but by then Jeff was out of ear shot. As he gets closer to Chris, Dan tries to intercept him but finds himself getting tackled to the ground. Jeff mounts him and begins slamming his fists into his face, loving every connection his hands made. Dan tries to fight back but it’s pointless. Dan could feel himself slipping out of consciousness and it’s not long before he’s totally out of it. With his face a mess Jeff is satisfied with the damage and stands up and turns his attention to Chris.

“Now calm yourself the fuck down big guy before you get yourself hurt.” Says Chris as he holds Cassie in front of him, almost using her as a human shield. Jeff still says nothing, he just stands there breathing heavily, seething with hatred. His mind torn, he loved Cassie so much and would do anything for her but all she’s done is hurt him. Not on purpose but by leading him on then going with Chris. His heart had been broken so many times there wasn’t much of one left, too many a night had been spent crying himself to sleep, putting on a tough guy façade for his friends. This feud between Jeff and Chris started over Cassie, the jealousy over each others affection they received off of her. The hatred between the two groups grew for other reasons but the situation with Cassie certainly hasn’t helped.

Cassie just stood there frozen with fear, she always felt safe with Jeff until now, she doesn’t know what he might do. All she can see is pure hatred and pain in his eyes. Jeff marched towards them both, his fists clenched, Jeff didn’t know what he was going to do, but it wasn’t going to be pretty.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

8 thoughts on “A Trusted Betrayal”

  1. This is really good, it would be interesting to see what else will happen! Sucks though about you losing the originals because of theft… I’d literally be tearing my hair out. It’s great that you’ve at least started again on the project, and it certainly looks promising!

    1. I haven’t started again on this one, I have on the other one though detailing my hate for life, I’d love for you to give me your thoughts on the first chapter I wrote? If your interested I’ll dig out the link from my scribd account 🙂

  2. It looks quite long, so I promise to have a proper read of it later when I come back from the Doctors. Looking forward to it!

  3. I read it and had a jolly good chortle! The part about Mr Osbourne wearing a hard-hat especially made me laugh. Like I’ve said before, I love reading your stuff, because you have the attitude that we ALL want to have, and say the stuff that the rest of us wish we could say. ‘Bitterness and Hatred’ indeed!

    One suggestion I would make would be that the story about your head-teacher in the prolouge, would do really well as an opening chapter/introduction, rather than just being explained quickly. As a whole chapter, it would get the reader on your side and allow you to explain in more detail about ‘the moment my life started to go downhill’, if you see what I mean; it would serve as an excellent introduction to the rest of the book, and would explain the aforementioned bitterness in an equally witty and tragic way that would pave the way for the rest of your awesome ‘ranting’. At the minute, in the prolouge, it just seems like a bit of a reference, whereas in actual fact it can be the opening of your book and give justification and humour to the following chapters with a little more clarification and detail for the reader.

    But that’s just my opinion! Obviously people will have other ideas. Generally I think what you showed me is well-written and really interesting to read- and I love your tales from the various jobs you’ve had! Just out of interest, what were your plans for this book? I mean, in the long-term? Were you considering getting published or anything? Not that I know how anyone would even go about doing this, however, but I’m just interested to know 🙂

    1. That’s a good idea! There is a back story of why I ended up lamping my head master, wasn’t on purpose haha, I started writing it just vent the huge amount of frustration I had when I left Voice Marketing for the second time, I was in a very dark place, in debt, no job and on the verge of being extremely screwed, since then things have gotten kind of better so I had no anger left to direct into the thing, but it’s definitely something I want to continue writing. I did think about wanting to get it published if I ever finished it but I doubt very much it was going to happen, a lot of people don’t have our sense of humour, it was just something a project I fancied doing. I think I may continue it, just to say I’ve written something.

      Not only that but looking through my old hard drives, I’ve found the first three chapters of Trusted Betrayal I wrote too haha 😀

      Thank you for reading it, apart from the people that may have skimmed through it on Scribd, you’re the actual first person I know of that read it!

Leave a Reply

