Working Life

Well everyone for the first time ever you all get to read a blog written by me, while at work! Not much going on at the moment, now that Leeds Festival and the wedding are both over with this is my life for the foreseeable future. Doing nothing but working trying to free myself from debt, which is a good thing because I’ve been in debt since the year began and now I’m working for this company, I plan on being out of it by the end of the year.

Usually when I start a new job I can pretty much tell within the first week or so whether or not I’m going to hate it. Previous jobs for example, a few years back after leaving my position as supervisor at electrical component manufacturing firm AGW Electronics (I was fired) I found myself as a packer at Utopia Tableware, packing glasses of all varieties. Stood next to a massive machine where at one end they print the logo onto the glass, then send it through an oven on a conveyor belt to heat it so the painted logo stays on, then at the other end I’d be putting them into boxes.

That for me was definitely the worst job I’ve ever had in my life, as I stood there for 10 hours a day Monday to Thursday next to a machine that generates a lot of heat on the other side of the factory away from anything resembling fresh air. I sweated like an absolute beast every day I was there, very little rest, the conveyor belt came up to my knees and I had to lean right across to get the glasses in the middle, all that pressure on my leg tore the ligaments in my knee, I then had to work injured, savouring every moment I was sat down. I dreaded getting out of bed in the morning for that job, taking between 25-35 painkillers a day just to take the edge off.

I was there for about five months before I went on holiday for a week in Wales, while I was there I got a phone-call telling me I had been replaced by some Polish prick, I was only agency staff so there was nothing I could do.

But in all honesty when they told me this I was relieved, at last I didn’t have to get up every morning and endure the pain and punishment for minimum wage. By the end of the five months I had lost two stone in weight, tore almost every ligament in my knee, had a trapped nerve in the same leg so the entire side of my leg was numb for most of the time and ended up with an addiction to pain killers.

I was out of work after that for around three weeks, in that three weeks I got myself off of painkillers and gave my leg a chance to heal, coming off of painkillers was hard, probably harder than it was quitting smoking last year (Though I’ve since started again hah).

After that I did a crappy part time gardening job just to get a bit of money in, that was only two weeks then I was given my first customer service role working for Ibis Hotel in Chesterfield.

That was probably the best job I had as I enjoyed the crack with everyone there, I knew most of the staff anyway, one of which is now my girlfriend. I enjoyed having banter with the customers and it was good having a job without targets for once. Unfortunately I wasn’t getting the hours there and while the people I worked with were awesome the manager was an absolute bitch. When I asked for more hours she saw fit to reduce them!

I got my own back though because when she gave me a week of 45 hours, I got a job elsewhere and walked out. Meaning she then had 45 hours to fill! Serves her right and from what I’ve heard since she still doesn’t treat the staff any better there.

When I say I know if I’m going to like the job after a few days or not, this has proved true as I got a job with a company called Zee Solutions, door to door selling on behalf of charities, didn’t really know what I was getting myself into with this one, they failed to tell me it was commission based pay only and classed as self employed, I did that job for four days and outright quit.

Same for when I did outbound sales for Unicom in Sheffield, I wasn’t impressed with the company, how the management acted and the fact that there is absolutely no parking in Sheffield, I quit that after a day then got my job at Voice Marketing back doing outbound sales for E.ON gas and electric, I hated the job last year but some how managed to do five months so I went back, this time was even worse, the data was worse, the management were replaced by absolute jokes of human beings and I knew I deserved something better. I quit there the second week on the phones and the company then saw fit to deduct £500 of wages for leaving early.

I’ve been at this company now for about two weeks near enough and I think I’m going to like it. It’s been awhile since I’ve had a job I’ve liked, while it’s quiet at the moment I know it won’t be soon, I’m training on the new systems and while it’ll be daunting at first I do tend to pick things up quickly, so while I’ll be busier as time goes on, I’ll be able to handle it and I think this is the company I’d like to stay with for a long time.

The thing I like most about Tribal is all of the people I work with are ace, usually you get that one dick head, but there isn’t one in my team, I have got people looming over my shoulder making sure I’m doing my job properly, if I do something wrong, I’m told about it straight away by who ever picks it up, not just bitched about to management and internet access! At Dixon’s Customer Service, we never got that, mind you we never had time as we were bombarded constantly by the idiotic public. At least when someone calls this company they work for a professional organisation!

Anyway! Thanks for reading this nonsense, just trying to keep myself entertained in between systems training, why don’t you tell me about the worst jobs you’ve ever had?

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

2 thoughts on “Working Life”

  1. Epic post. I especially love how you left that bitch with 45 hours to fill, it’s like the perfect way to leave and shit all over the company at the same time. I love it!

    My current job (ASDA) I used to be very comfortable with, but since graduating and having no release period from the place, I’ve started to wonder what the Hell I’m going to do with my life.

    Still, it beats the worst job I ever had though: I used to work at a place called Juice Zone in Leicester while I was at Uni. It was wonderful because the people I worked with were total chavs- I always felt like I was doing a good job because no-body else really was, and I would have worked there for this reason, probably until I died. It was a break from my jobs before (Marks & Spencers, MSR Newsgroup etc) because nobody gave a shit, not even the management, and I could drink free smoothies whenever I wanted (i.e. ALL THE TIME).

    They were behind in paying me by about £100, and then one day I turned up for work and the place had shut down. No trace of the owners. No trace of my fucking money. I think they got swallowed in the ‘economic crisis’ and just decided to make a run for it. As I had no official evidence of me ever having worked there- it wasn’t that kind of place- and the owner’s contact numbers mysteriously weren’t working anymore, I could literally do nothing. To this day they still owe me over £100.

    I have a huge amount of (misplaced) faith in people, and so this happening was just devestating. I knew they were having issues with the business and such but in my own naivety I thought they were just working it all out. Turned out they were drowning and dragged us all down with them. The next job I had was at BB’s Coffee and Muffins, and there was a total race heirachy, where I was at the bottom and stayed for some time until I left, but at least they actually paid me, I suppose!

    I do still remember the owner’s names and I have even managed to find them on Facebook, but have no idea what I’d even say to them. I also couldn’t be held responsible for my own actions if I saw them. It’s probably best to keep it this way: silent, but non-threatening.

  2. I know how that feels with Asda, I felt the same at Voice, I worked at Voice (Marketing) for five months, I hated the job but I knew there was going to be a light at the end of the tunnel, despite the fact I was top seller it was still a horrible job but I only had to last until the end of November then I’d be going abroad to work in France. When I went back to Voice a few months ago it felt like this is what my life was going to be, so I took a ballsy move and quit.

    I couldn’t imagine you working at BB’s Coffee and Muffins without at least sticking a few razor blades in someone’s muffin haha, if I were you though and I found the people that owed me £100, I’d be adding them on Facebook and I’d be threatening them with violence until they paid me.

    I’d do my absolute best to find out where they live, how dare they just up and fuck off without paying their employee’s. It’d be either give me the £100 or I’ll cause £100 worth of damage to your property! Boom!

Leave a Reply

