Aggression With A Capital GR.

It’s been awhile since my last post, so I thought I would update everyone on the happenings, not much as happened apart from work, watching Lost and then bed, rinse and repeat basically.

But this week has been pretty action packed to say the least, on Facebook it now comes up with “This day in 2010” and then a status you posted a year ago, on Saturday mine came up with “First night out in Chesterfield in ages, minding my own business, nearly got hit with a pint glass and then offered out for a fight”. That was pretty much the last time I went out around Chesterfield, I don’t know if it’s because it’s boring or because I’m getting old but the place really doesn’t interest me anymore, I don’t like Chesterfield nightlife as I once did years ago.

Years ago when someone started kicking off with me, offering me a fight, I used to take them up on it, then I’d show them what happens when you act like a prick on a night out. I’m not saying I’m the toughest person in the world, but I’ve never lost a fight. I’m quite handy at submissions so if I can’t hit them, I’ll choke them the fuck out.

After awhile that began getting boring, I started laughing it off and walking away, whether it’s growing up or getting old, point is I haven’t been in a fight in long time, even that night when someone threw a pint glass at me, I was out with my mate Will and several women, I was the bigger man and had the bouncer throw the prick out. I hadn’t been out around Chesterfield since.

Usually when I’m out I’m out around Sheffield, the night life is better and yeah there are still fights but I’m never involved in any, plus most of my friends have moved to Sheffield now, so it’s easier for me to go there and sleep at their house for the night then drive home than them to come to Chesterfield and pay for a taxi home at the end of the night. The pubs are better, the girls are hotter and in most places the drinks are cheaper.

This Saturday, the parents were away so I had the house to myself for the night and after my first full week at work I was looking forward to a weekend of peace then I got a text off my friend Liam, someone who I don’t see very often, asked me out for a shifty beer or two, as I didn’t see him I thought why not, plus I was interested to see what Chesterfield was like these days, so met up with him, I was driving so I kept it to a safe four pints.

I was out at 9pm and by 11pm I was almost involved in my first fight in years, some drunken prick trying to impress his woman and his pals, starting throwing insults about my weight, like I didn’t know I was fat? Yeah I’ve had it for years so I laugh it off most of the time, I tried intimidation.

Keep running your mouth and you won’t have a mouth to run, you dirty little chav.

Though the alcohol had gotten to him so he wasn’t intimidated, he carried on throwing insults, I began twitching, my mate knew shit was about to go down because when I get really angry, my legs start shaking and my face twitches, so I spun round, walked over to him, grabbed his face, squeezed until my fingers were only millimeters from crushing his jaw and thrust him back, he flew back, stumbled backwards, fell and smashed his head on the side of the table behind him taking out a pint glass and several bottles and was more or less out for the count.

His filthy rat of a girlfriend looked in horror, handling him I knew would be no problem, but it was his five friends jumping me I was worried about, although when I’m in that state of mind, I didn’t care.

They decided against it once they saw the rage pulsating through my face and backed off. The door men rushed to the scene, asked me to leave,  they didn’t drag me out like they would anyone else, they asked politely. I stood there for a moment and looked at him cowering on the floor, then I regained my senses and left with Liam and headed to another pub and reminisced on how awesome I apparently was.

Most people feel regret after something like that, I didn’t, I loved it. I think that’s what I fear the most. But it was also a sign to stay away from Chesterfield town centre on a Saturday night. Stick to Sheffield.

On a lighter note, my girlfriend, myself, my brother and new sister in law all try and do something on Tuesday nights, SURPRIIIISE CHOOOSEDAY! as we call it, my woman said I’d have to guess what we were doing.

Cinema I said.

Wrong she said.

What then I said.

Bowling she said.

Looking forward to it for a week I was.

Tuesday came it did.

Took me to the Cinema she did.

Serves you right for guessing she said.

Disheartened by the lies I was.

Really looking forward to bowling, hadn’t been in ages, but I wasn’t paying for cinema so can’t complain, went to see the Inbetweeners movie, anyone outside of the UK probably won’t have seen The Inbetweeners, I hadn’t until earlier this year but now love it. Not the best film I’ve seen but it made me laugh quite a lot and I am easily entertained.

In hindsight coupled with the fact I’ve made amends with the girl I fell out with at Leeds Festival after she apologized, a perfect end to a stressful day at work, still learning while given more responsibilities, plus for the first time today it was actually busy, not busy enough to stop me from drawing pictures in my note pad. Pictures I will show you now…

Friday's Bordem
Yesterday's Bordem
Today's Bordem

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t claim to be a great artist, the first one proves this, but it’s something to keep me busy while I’m at work, the wonders of a black ballpoint pen! I may continue to keep drawing shit pictures and then insult your eyes with him throughout the week hah!

But anyway, that brings us to the end of today’s Life of ‘Ard Pete lesson. Hope your weeks going as well as mine has been!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

Leave a Reply

