Facebook – The Cancer of the Internet

So I’ve been wanting to write about this topic for awhile now and as I sit here bored at work I may aswell write about it now.

I’ve been a member of Facebook since mid-2006 and when I first registered to the site it was fun, I used to play all sorts of games that were on offer, I enjoyed uploading photos and videos, chatting with friends and reconnecting with people I haven’t spoken to in a very long time.

I remember a game on Facebook where you fought other players and got points, I can’t remember what it was called but it was addictive and fun.

It was fun coming up with events for nights out at the weekend, that way we could always better organize everything. Or joining groups you were interested in like say, “People of Duckmanton Primary School”.

But it seems now though Facebook isn’t something you do for fun, it’s something you do for necesscity, where if you’re not on Facebook you’re considered mental. Parents are using Facebook to track their childrens movements and while a good idea, parents have never needed to do this before.

Uploading photo’s is just something you do now out of habit rather than because it’s a fun thing to do.

This may not be the case for everyone but it’s certainly the case for me.

And “friends”. Don’t even get me started on friends, before I used to try and get as many as possible. Now I like to keep it trim, getting rid of the clutter, there is an option to hide peoples status’ now but really, if you don’t want to see anything they post why bother having them on your friends list at all?

The thing is though when you remove people off of your artificial friends list, it seems to end actual friendships aswell!

My mate Ray joined Facebook about a week after I did in 2006, was on it for six months and then got rid of his account, he hasn’t used it since, I envy him because instead of checking a stupid website every day he actually goes out to see his friends.

I removed four friends off of Facebook, Ella, Liam, Rachel and Ryan, because I already had all of their accounts hidden from my news feed, mainly because they only talked about what they did the night before, or it was Ryan “facebook raping” (lovely term) Rachel every two minutes. Funny at first but it gets old very quickly and it was becoming tiresome.

So I removed them all then I don’t speak to any of them for five weeks until I went out last weekend with Liam. The other three I still haven’t spoken to, Liam said they all think I’ve fallen out with them. Fallen out with them over what? I was then said that they weren’t happen about me removing them either… Has it really come to the point if you want to remain friends with someone you must have them on your friendslist?

Sorry I don’t want to see every little bit of shit you post every two minutes, spamming my news feed.

If they want to be like that though, fine, that’s their decision, if a friendship is based on a friendship on a social networking site then it really has no real basis.

The one thing I remember from 5 years ago was that Facebook was fun to use. But every time we get a new update of Facebook it seems to please no one. I certainly prefer the way Facebook used to look than the way it does now. It just seems to get worse everytime they piss around with it, the mobile Facebook website certainly hasn’t been working correctly for me for awhile now.

Then there’s the privacy issues everyone keeps banging on about, as a default they make it easier for them to search for you, so? You can still be as private as you want to be all you have to do is spend 5 seconds going to your account details.

But the thing that annoys me the most is that for one reason or another I’m not able to leave Facebook as a user, if I deactivate my account I get loads of texts either asking me why I’ve blocked them or am I in a mood because I’ve deactivated my account.

“Pete’s not on Facebook.”
“Oh he’s probably in a mood.”

But not only that if I do leave and ignore all the texts I get, I then get very bored because I’m not reading what everyone else is doing! If I’m sat at work or on break there’s nothing else I do than check Facebook. Maybe it’s just out of fear of being the last person to know or missing out on something big.

There are  a ton of other reasons why Facebook is bad and there’s probably more bad to opening an account than there is good.

I was fine before Facebook came out, now I just can’t seem to get rid of it, it’s like a drug. If Jedward is the cancer of television, Facebook is certainly the cancer of the internet.

I predict it won’t be long until there’s a Facebook’s Anonymous support group. When that happens that’s when we’ve failed as a civilization.

Thanks Zuckerberg for ruining my life.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

11 thoughts on “Facebook – The Cancer of the Internet”

  1. I am in agreement with you. And there’s no actual tech support. I once tried to start a group called “Facebook is run by drunken monkeys,” but I discovered someone had beat me to it. And all of its admin had been mysteriously “removed.”

    1. No I think there’s a form if you have problems with the site? But no one ever gets back to you, no suggestions are ever taken on board. I won’t be surprised if they try and charge everyone to use it sooner or later either.

  2. I’ve stayed well clear of facebook for all those reasons, I even put off getting a mobile phone until I really had to, I hated the though of being contactable ALL THE TIME! Now look where we are with twitter et al. of course its great to have the choice, i chose no…at least till now!

    1. That’s the thing aswell, being contactable all the time, if you don’t want to go out for whatever reason with your friends, either you have no money or whatever, you then go somewhere else and you make the mistake of posting it on Facebook, you get the third degree from the first you let down to begin with,

      “Thought you had no money but then you did this”, that shouldn’t ever happen. Or if you skip work and you have work friends on your Facebook, sooner or later it’ll get back to your boss that you’re on Facebook when you’re meant to be ill.

      I got fired from a job a few years back because I made a joke group ripping the management of the company, they fired me for gross misconduct, absolute bullshit and they got away with it. A lot of companies are using Facebook to fire people these days.

      This is why Facebook is doing more harm than good.

  3. Facebook was useful while I was at University to keep up with the various societies and whatnot, but it’s fair to say that I’ve fallen out of love with it recently. I agree totally with everything you’ve said, although to horribly contradict myself, a few days ago I was able to do something utterly wonderful by using Facebook. Long story short, I’m going to have some of my work published (if ‘published’ is the right term for a 29-word poetic description) in four Eerie-Co bars throughout the country. They requested such a thing on FB, and my response was chosen.

    I’m not going to lie, this is one of the greatest thing that’s happened to me recently. I’m so excited that I could literally dance until I had no legs left. But on the flip-side it could show that companies do rely a great deal these days on social networking sites, so I can see your side to it too. The last few days though I’ve been extremely thankful that FB existed, even though too many people use it to be horrible to other people. There’s always good alongside a whole loada bad on the internet. It’s up to the individual to make sure that they don’t become a Facebook Whore.

    And in other news: You have a new theme! Me likey 🙂

    1. I know Facebook gas its uses for some people just wish it had that effect with me too lol

      Congrats on the publishing! You’ll have to let me read what you wrote =D

      Everything relies on social networking sites these days though, people use them to get ahead, look at MySpace and YouTube, how many singers have used that as a platform, just the age we live in now I guess.

      Glad you like the theme, thought it was time for a change, bloody took me long enough to get it how I wanted it!

    1. This is what Jedward is, two very annoying children from Ireland, they first appeared on X Factor, much to Simon Cowells disgust they were put through to the next round, then for some ungodly reason they were put through to the judges houses… Then they were put through to the live shows despite there being a hell of a lot of other good singers and every week people wanted Jedward to go but the public kept voting someone else off.

      After X Factor they haven’t gone away, they’ve been in Big Brother, countless tv shows and represented Ireland at the Eurovision song contest. I hate them more than I’ve hated anything. They live in their own little bubble world collecting money wherever they go while hard working people like my self is forced to watch these pair of twats.

    2. Facebook is starting to annoy me as well. Nobody has anything to say that really has any merit at all. I only enjoy some of the brands/companies who post sale’s, specials and that sort of thing.
      In fact I deactivated my daughter’s page(she got FB last summer so she could play Farmville…she was using mine and I kept getting messages from people who wanted to send me sheep!)it was her choice, she didn’t want it anymore. Some of her friend’s moms can’t believe she didn’t want it. They wanted to know why I deactivated it…like it is some kind of lifeline or something…ridiculous.
      My husband got a message a few days ago from FB informing him that he hadn’t checked his page in 5 days. REALLY?
      I am seriously thinking about getting rid of mine as well…

      1. I deactivated an account I had ages ago, one I created for a joke. I once got an e-mail reminding me that “Your friends are still missing you”.

        So even when you deactivate your Facebook account you still get pestered. Ridiculous!

  4. My friends boyfriend took off their relationship from facebook and she was distraught for days. Then she realized they were still going out and facebook is a load of shit.

Leave a Reply

