Top 10 Songs…

…By Artists/Bands That Are Not That Well Known

For the third day of the week of 10 ten song lists, I thought I’d talk about the bands and artists I’ve come across over the years that aren’t that well known, even though some of you may have heard of some of them they’re not generally what I would class as main stream. They may be pretty well known in the US but not in the UK and vice versa, hopefully though you won’t have heard of all of these and I’ve done my job of introducing you to some great music you’ve never heard of before.

Making these top 10 lists seems to have given me something to do at work other than drawing pictures on lined paper using a black ball point pen so I hope you like these following songs as much as I do.

Once you have heard which song I’ve posted, go and check out some of their other stuff on YouTube.

Number 10:

Say It To Me Now by Glen Hansard

I love Glen Hansard, he’s one of my favourite artists, he first came to prominence a few years back in 07 when he produced and starred in a film called Once about an aspiring Irish musician working as a busker where he meets a girl equally in love with music. He sort of rocks along the same sort of flow as Damien Rice, he performed at the Oscars not long before winning an award there, pretty famous in Ireland but no where else it seems. He has his own band called The Frames that’s still going now however over the past couple of years I think they’ve fallen out of prominence. Other songs of Glen’s you should try are Falling Slowly and Britney Spears cover Everytime by The Frames. (Which ends up being better than the original!)

Number 9:

Orange Sky by Alexi Murdoch

Alexi Murdoch, though not totally unknown as he’s currently touring the US, born to a British father and a Greek lives in Berlin, extremely well traveled and an extremely talented musician, the first time I heard this song it was featured on an episode of Prison Break and though you may not notice a lot of his music has been used on many television shows including Stargate Universe, Scrubs, Greys Anatomy, House and many others. I so wish he was on the radio every week.

Number 8:

Iron by Woodkid

Woodkid AKA Yoann Lemoine has only recently started making music, he worked before as a film director and a musical film director, most notably working on Back To December by Taylor Swift and Teenage Dream by Katie Perry. I love this song so much and because he’s new he’ll have a lot more to give in the future, in case you’re wondering where you’ve heard this song because it may be because it’s featured as the music for the trailer of Assassin’s Creed Revelations. Really can’t wait to see what more this guy has up his sleeve. It helps being a music video director as well because this video is awesome!

Number 7:

Wires by Athlete

Most people from the UK will have heard of Athlete because they’re a big English indie band, outside of the UK though they’re pretty much unknown, this song is the biggest hit they’ve had reaching number 4, the rest have had problems breaking the top 20, Half Light is also a very good song of theirs and you should definitely check it out. I feel very loyal to Athlete, they were the first band I saw live when they played at Rock City in Nottingham a few years ago. I almost pissed myself literally because I had so much to drink and didn’t want to fight my way to the toilets because I didn’t want to miss one bit of their gig.

Number 6:

On The Surface by Civil Twilight

Can’t remember where I first heard of these, probably was off the television at some point, they’re a pretty new band that’s starting to become over in the US but over here they’re practically unknown. Their album though, rarely, every song on there is amazing and definitely worth a listen. This one is my favourite off of their album, others being Letters From The Sky, Human and Quiet In My Town. Do check them out you won’t be disappointed.

Number 5:

4am by Our Lady Peace

Bit of an iffy one this one because I don’t really know how big Our Lady Peace is on the other side of the pond, originated from Canada and play frequently in the US, it’s the one band I’ve always wanted to see, over here they’re probably best known as the band that did Chris Benoit’s theme in WWE, but aside from that no one ever mentions them and they’re very rarely featured on television, I love this band so much, it’s probably one of my favourite bands of all time, I know one of their songs is but I’ll save that for later on this week. They have been around since 1992 so why they aren’t one of the biggest bands in the world I don’t know, they’ve certainly had the time to evolve into such. If you like this you’ll definitely like their songs Innocent, Whatever, Thief and pretty much anything else they’ve done is awesome, plus their song Starseed was on the Armageddon sound track!

Number 4:

Dragster Wave by Ghinzu

First heard of this band when watching the credits of the film Taken with Liam Neeson, definitely never heard of them before and this song is split into two parts really, once the piano starts mid way through the song then the guitars and drums they almost sound like Muse, originating from Brussels they aren’t that well known over here and probably not in the US or otherwise either. Been around since 1999 so they’re just plodding along I think but deserve far more recognition, this live version is probably one of the best versions I’ve heard and if you like this check out their song Take It Easy.

Number 3:

Every Breath by Boyce Avenue

Boyce Avenue have been around for awhile, they were at one point signed to Universal Records but have since left to create their own label, 3 Peace Records. The three band members all brothers started in 2004 and have done countless covers of other bands/artists songs, just about every cover they do has been awesome and you only need to search on YouTube to find that out. They’re certainly not mainstream though still needing internet platforms such as MySpace, Facebook and YouTube to advertise and promote their songs, this is their most recent single they’ve released but I urge you to check out their covers, they’re currently one of most search bands on YouTube and I don’t think it’s going to be very long before they become huge and when they do they’d have earnt it having financing everything they’ve done themselves.

Number 2:

Wash Away by Joe Purdy

This man is talented to say the least and is probably one of the most hard working musicians right now, while pretty well known in America I don’t think he’s that over in the UK and when I say hard working, I mean he’s produced and released ten albums in eight years! That’s probably his problem though, most bands and artists do an album and that’s it for them for two years, they spend that two years writing the new album while at the same time promoting the current one and gigging anywhere they can, this man just seems to write all the time and the quality doesn’t lack in any of his music. This song is one of my favourites I was introduced to him in 2004 when I heard this song on the first season of Lost, played by Hurley on his discman, since then I’ve been much been hooked on Joe and would only wish he would become more main stream, because he’s far better than half the shit that gets played these days.

Number 1:

Satellite by Unkle Bob

I knew for certain when I thought of doing this list which band would be number one, they’re not new, they’ve been around for about 8 years and still not mainstream over here despite how awesome they are so I doubt anyone’s heard of them in other countries, originating from Glasgow, Scotland their biggest claim to fame was their song being featured in an episode of Grey’s Anatomy, my favourite song from them which is “Swans”. They’re that unknown that they’re barely on YouTube which is a great shame because this isn’t the song I wanted to post originally, the song Better Off is an excellent song but due to many attempts at trying to find it, I just couldn’t so head on over to iTunes and you’ll be able to get it from there or indeed a torrent site.

Often compared to bands such as Radiohead these guys need to be big, their second album came out last year and it features the song I’ve posted here.

This is a live version of their song “Swans”, it’s not the best video but it’s the only thing I could find that was worth posting.

That brings us to the end of another Top 10 Songs post, this was probably one of the hardest lists to compile as I didn’t want to feature people I’ve featured in previous posts and some of the bands I thought were unknown turned out not to be but hope you’ve enjoyed and as always make sure you give me some suggestions of songs based on the topic! I’m always after new stuff and hopefully you lot will point me in the right direction!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs…”

  1. Nice Post, That KIDWOOD Video is insane… Though I was a Film Maker before I was a Writer, so… The Cinematography is just awesome. I downloaded Athlete’s “Wires”, as well as “Iron” from KIDWOOD.

    Thanks Pete

    DarkJade-

  2. There are some pretty good tunes! Loved them all. And it was rather educational as from the list of 10 I knew only Civil Twilight and Athlete. Thanks for broadening my music horizons 😉

Leave a Reply

