Lost In Television

If there’s one thing I love, it’s television. It makes me wish I was somewhere else and gives me the tools to imagine it, it helps me forget about my life for awhile.

There are a lot of television shows I’m into, my favourite one of all time used to be Angel, the Buffy spin-off, I loved David Boreanaz and the most memorable episode for me is the third one from season 1 where Spike makes an appearance, the greatest television character of all time! I loved James Marsters, some would say obsessed which isn’t good for a man who isn’t into other men. I just loved the character, he was the only reason I watched Buffy, well him and Alyson Hannigan (mmmmmmmm) because Buffy Summers is actually just a whiney bitch and I was actually happy when she died at the end of season 5.

So when Buffy ended, Spike’s character was killed off, absolutely gutted. Even though they’re fictional characters you still want to imagine these fictional characters having a happy ending. I was ecstatic when he showed up for Angel season 5, which turned out to be Angel’s last season, Spike plays off Angel so well and we even got to see Spike and Angel go at it one last time fighting when fighting for a mythical cup.

When Angel was cancelled I think a lot of fans were disappointed with the way it ended, we weren’t given any closure from the show we spent five years following, it was left on a cliffhanger as he was about to take on a dragon. We were given season 6 in comic book form… But I’m not a child so I don’t read comic books.

After Angel ended in 2003 I was wondering what the hell I was going to do for television now? Angel was my favourite show and nothing was going to top that.

Then 2004 came…

2004 television wise will probably be the most known when Lost began, some television executive got fired at ABC because he greenlit one of the most expensive pilots of all time, his bosses not knowing that it’d end up becoming one of the best and most talked about television shows of all time!

I didn’t watch the first episode of the two part pilot because I missed it, I heard people in the U.S. raving about this show, I did however manage to catch the second part and absolutely loved what was unfolding before my eyes, I think I watch the first part later on in the week. Usually if I don’t see the very first episode I won’t bother but I’m glad I did bother. As such with British TV channels, we sometimes don’t get American shows until long after they’ve aired in the US, so by the time this was airing it was already out on DVD on Amazon in the US, I watched the first ten episodes then decided to buy the box set and have it shipped over from the US, I then spent 9 or 10 hours straight watching the remain 15 episodes!

The first episode starts off with the main character Jack waking up, his eyes shoot open in the middle of a load of bamboo, hearing screams in the distance he gets up and heads towards them, he gets to the beach where we discover there’s been a plane crash, pregnant women clutching onto their stomachs, fat guys running around hopelessly, general screaming, wings falling off of planes, someone getting sucked into an engine turbine. It was all happening, they actually bought an old Boeing 747 just to chop up and involve in the show, it was filmed on location in Hawaii, a place I’ve always wanted to visit (My girlfriend Fiona has actually been to the place they filmed it, lucky bint!)

We discover Jack’s a doctor and he’s trying to save everyone, which he does an alright job of under the circumstances. We then get to see the survivors of the plane hope for rescue, realise rescue isn’t coming and eventually setting up a camp on the beach/in some caves.

It doesn’t take long to notice that they’re not on a normal island, largely because a character called John Locke was crippled before the plane, we later find out his biological father stole his kidney, then years later pushed him out of an 8th story window where he broke his back. But now here he is on this island, the first view we see of him is wriggling his toes, then getting to his feet! This island has somehow fixed his back.

Over the course of time we’re given insights into how special this island really is as it appeared to have cured a woman, Rose’s cancer. But it has a bad effect on pregnant women, causing their bodies to attack children during the second trimester, the special properies of this island are explained later on in the series.

If there is one thing that a television show needs though, it’s a badass, most tv shows have them, House has… well, House, Grey’s Anatomy has Alex Karev, 24 has Jack Bauer, Angel/Buffy had Spike, Firefly had Jayne, Chuck has John Casey (Played by the same actor as Firefly, he does play that role very well) and well you catch my drift. Every show needs a badass, someone for the audience to get behind, the resident badass of Lost is none other than Sawyer though a case can be made for others such as Sayid, the Iraqi torturer but he remains calm most of the time (Unless you really piss him off like shoot his woman). Josh Holloway (who was in the first episode of Angel in his first acting gig back in 1999) plays conman James Ford going under the alias of Sawyer, taking that name from the conman that conned his parents when he was just a child.

His mother cheated on his dad with Sawyer, dad found out about it, shot her and then killed himself all while little James Ford was hiding under the bed, that would fuck anybody up. He wrote a letter to Sawyer basically wanting to tell him what he had done to his family, he didn’t know who this Sawyer was but he vowed he was going to give it to him one day and make him read it.

It’s not until season 3 when we get this pay off when John Locke’s dad, the guy who threw him out of the building and a con man himself was brought to the island, Sawyer found out who he was, gave him the letter, Locke’s dad, “Anthony Cooper” read half the letter then tore it up in front of him, this sent Sawyer over the edge and proceeded to strangle him and break his neck with the use of chains.

After this Sawyer starts losing his badass edge because the one thing he vowed to do he finally got to do and it was one of the biggest pay offs the show gave us.

The show is notorious for giving us a lot of questions but very few answers, I won’t even begin to try and list them all because you’ll be reading this all day. As the seasons go by most of the big questions are answered but there are still a few fans aren’t happy about not being answered. Not only that but it’s well known for killing off members of it’s main cast every season, out of 26 main characters across 6 seasons, only 9 survive by the last episode with Jack dying in the very last episode.

This show turned from a simply story about a plane crashing into a story of a war against the inhabitants of the island and then spreads out further turning it into something that’d never happen, time travel, smoke monsters and various other elements start to come in to play!

It’s not a show you can turn on one day, watch a few episodes then go back to it a season later and still know what’s going on. A lot of people I know gave up on it because they didn’t have the patience but there was never a tv show I looked forward to watching more than Lost. Every episode left me wanting more and that was still the case at the end.

A lot of fans weren’t happy with the ending but what show have you watched where you were happy with the end? Think about it, the reason your unhappy is because your favourite tv show has ended, no matter what the end you’re going to be unsatisfied.

For me though I was happy with the ending, it was one of the first shows that was given a definite end date, in season 3 it was announced they would do 3 more seasons which gave them something to build to and in the end it all comes down to Jack and Locke (Well an entity that has taken on the form of Locke’s body as he dies in season 5), this fake Locke dies and then Jack eventually dies. The last image of the show was Jack laid down where he began the show back in 2004 and rather than his eyes opening in shock, they close at peace after the long and terrible journey he’s taken over the course of six years.

Flash backs were replaced by flash forwards in season 3, showing what happened to six people when they got off of the island, season four was split between what was happening on and off the island, season five split between what was happening in 2007 and in 1975 (don’t ask) and season six we had something new called flash sideways where we got glimpses of an afterlife everyone went to once they died.

The last episode in the afterlife, a place they all went before moving on we had a reunion of all the major cast members in a church before moving on to the afterlife.

If this all sounds confusing to you that’s because it is confusing and it’s very difficult to try and explain just what the hell is happening half the time and it does take patience watching the show but if you stick to it and take time watching it you will realise you are watching one of the best shows ever created.

The reason I got the need to talk about it is because I’ve recently finished re-watching all six seasons from start to finish and it is amazing how much everything changes from episode one of the first season to the last ever episode. For me, they could make an episode of them all just chilling out and doing nothing and I’d still watch it, but there are none of those episodes, it’s all action all the time and it’s great to see how so many characters from different backgrounds get along and pull together when shit goes off!

Borrowed the boxsets off of my girlfriend and watch them all within two weeks, now I’m left without anything to watch and I am still getting urges to watch it from the beginning all over again! (I won’t though.)

Now I’m left without a favourite tv show to look forward to again and it’s all happened so quickly, there are shows I love watching but not ones I need to see as soon as possible or I’m going to explode, I think six seasons is long enough for a tv show, Greys Anatomy I used to be hooked on and that’s another show that cycles through main cast, but now it feels like I’m watching it out of habit rather than enjoying watching it, House, the same thing although this last season that’s been on has been pretty awesome.

I suppose the show that I look forward to the most these days is Fringe, created by J.J. Abrams (Who also created Lost), this story is developing so well and it looks as though season 4 is going to be extremely different yet still awesome.

So if you have actually read this ramble and you haven’t seen Lost, just buy or rent season 1 and I guarantee that after the pilot episode you will be hooked. Then once you’ve finished watching that, get Fringe watched as well!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

3 thoughts on “Lost In Television”

  1. I love lost. It was a great show. I didn’t get to watch all episodes though. By the time I got into it they ended.

    I do hate when they leave you hanging on an ending and never finish it. That sucks.

  2. I loved Buffy and watched the whole thing, now see it in reruns. Didn’t get too far into Angel but watched on occasion, mostly because I missed Buffy, LOVED Spike! Lost was amazing until the end, to me the end was lacking.
    Have also watched House, probably all of them. Was so surprised the first time he spoke off set…I didn’t know he was a Brit. 🙂
    My favorite show now is TRUE BLOOD on HBO. Have you seen it?

    1. Haha Hugh Laurie is definitely a Brit 🙂 best friends with Stephen Fry one of the cleverest people ever born!

      You should see how British he is in Blackadder and A Bit Of Fry and Laurie.

      I’ve tried watching True Blood but I can’t get past season 1, I just get too bored with it, nothing really happens in the first half of season 1 and moved on to something else that was worth taking up my time. People keep telling me it picks up later on but it should be picking up from the beginning damnit!

Leave a Reply

