Top 10 Songs…

…From My Favourite Bands Of All Time

Day four of the top 10 week is a list of songs from my favourite bands of all time, this is what I spent most of my day deciding at work once I finished writing my blog about Lost. Yeah I know, I’m basically getting paid to go to work and blog. *shrugs* Not my fault!

This is a varied list of bands that I’ve loved throughout the past two and a half decades, I think pretty much all of you will know most of them and whether they’re your taste or not you can’t deny that they are well respected. This list is probably the easiest list I’ve had to make as I know which bands are my favourite, these are the bands that when one of their songs played, I shut up and listen to it no matter what I’m doing.

So as always starting at number 10:

My Way by Limp Bizkit

My favourite song from the band, I know they’ve pretty much fallen out of grace nowadays, well past their prime but they were the best live band at Leeds festival last year and one of the only bands I was looking forward to seeing in 2010. Other songs I love are Rollin’, My Generation and Take A Look Around.

Number 9:

You Found Me by The Fray

I absolutely love The Fray, ever since I heard the first song they released, Cable Cars I was hooked on this band and I even got to see them play at Rock City in Nottingham where they did an awesome rendition of Oasis’ Wonderwall. His voice is amazing and if I was gay I’d certainly be hitting his vocal chords with my Derbyshire thick end. Boom.

Number 8:

Run by Snow Patrol

British legends in the making, they’ve been around longer than you would think and they have that voice to chill you out at any point of the day, I love this song, Chasing Cars, Set Fire To The Third Bar with Martha Wainwright and so many others they’ve done. Everytime I have this song in the car that’s when the bad singing from yours truly is cracked out.

Number 7:

Is Anybody Home by Our Lady Peace

As I said in my blog yesterday about these guys, they’re not that well known over here but they certainly should be, I’d love to see them live and while this is not my most favourite song done by them, I’m saving that for my last blog! I was first introduced to Our Lady Peace in 1998 when I heard their song from Armageddon’s sound track, since then I’ve been a massive fan of theirs and definitely can’t wait for their new album to come out soon.

Number 6:

“Wonderwall” by Oasis

Probably their most popular song and definitely one of my favourites, Oasis are rock LEGENDS, Liam and Noel Gallagher since 1991 (their inception) were notorious for falling out constantly and their most recent falling out meant the death for Oasis as Noel left the band. Liam and the rest of Oasis continued on under a different name, now called Beady Eye who played at Leeds this year but I missed in favour of Muse. Unfortunately for them Liam was the singer but Noel was the writer and Beady Eye aren’t held as in a high regard as Oasis was.

Noel on the other hand started out his solo career soon after the release of Beady Eye’s first album, Noel said he has enough material for two albums, which is ace because he can bust out a tune when he wants to, search for The Death Of You And Me by Noel Gallagher on YouTube and you’ll see what I mean.

Number 5:

Kings And Queens by 30 Seconds To Mars

I’ve already mentioned many times before how much I love 30 Seconds to Mars, they are easily one of the best bands around at the moment and I post this song because it brought back fond memories of Leeds Festival when Leto was just picking people out of the crowd and dragging them up on stage to dance along to this song, such a class act and an amazing talent and I hope he’ll be around for years to come, if he keeps making records, I’ll keep buying!

Number 4:

Better Days by Goo Goo Dolls

Very close to being my favourite band of all time and if the top three weren’t around they probably would be, I have every album they’ve made and it’s one of the bands I need to see before I die, if they split up tomorrow I’d be devastated that I never got to see them, I was first introduced to the band when their song was featured on the soundtrack from City Of Angels, since then I’ve been hooked on this band and it’s definitely these guys I listen to often if I was a chill out night.

Number 3:

Heart Shaped Box by Nirvana

Really what can you say about Nirvana that hasn’t already been said? Cobain who I quote on my very blog couldn’t give a shit what you thought of him as long as what you thought was fair. I was too young to know what this band was all about when they were actually around, it wasn’t until I was in my teens maybe 8 years after Cobain’s death when I realised how awesome this band was, this song is one of my favourites but there are so many songs he’s done that I could listen to. They stand at number three only because I grew up with numbers 1 and 2 but really, I hold the first three places as equally as each other. It’s a shame Kurt ended his own life because he wasn’t old by any means, only a year older than I am now when he killed himself at the young age of 27. Much more of a tragedy than any Amy Winehouse death that’s for sure.

Number 2:

Feeling Good by Muse

This may shock some of you but Muse isn’t my favourite all time band, I said I hold the top three bands at the same regard and while they’re the best thing around at the moment, they’re not my all time favourite band. But they definitely earned the number two spot especially as I finally got to see them live at Leeds. This song I wish they’d have played but it’s all good. Still one of the songs I like jamming to while I’m getting ready for a night out.

Number 1:

Show Me How To Live by Audioslave

Definitely number one in my heart and it was a toss up between Audioslave and Soundgarden because I’ve loved everything Chris Cornell has ever done, his solo work and his two bands, I have all of his albums, ask any of my favourites who I love the most and they’ll tell you Chris Cornell, I remember how happy I was when he became the first non-British male to make a James Bond theme and that theme was amazing, this is probably my favourite song from Audioslave and then there’s Black Hole Sun from Soundgarden, I was gutted when Audioslave split up and the other three members went back with Zach reform Rage Against The Machine, yeah I liked a couple of their songs but meh, but then I get word that Cornell is reforming Soundgarden so all is well with the universe.

This is another person I’ve always wanted to see live but never had the chance to so if they ever tour the UK some has to let me know because I will be there!

And just because I’ve spoken about it I have to show you why Cornell is ace on his own.

That brings us to the end of another Top 10 List, if you’re still interested in these you’re doing well and I appreciate all the comments you guys are leaving, if you have any suggestions of your favourite bands feel free to let me know, hell, make your own top 10 list and post the link in the comments area, I don’t mind advertising so long as you’re a subscriber 😛

This is probably my favourite list I’ve compiled so far as it’s brought back a lot of memories. So I would be interested in hearing about yours too!

Until tomorrow!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs…”

  1. Wow! I seriously have this crazy blog type crush on you now! There isn’t a single song on this list that I am not in love with! Good Choices! I think I might have to take the idea…and bleed it on to my readers! You had me at Our Lady Peace 🙂

  2. Fiddlesticks*, this is a fine playlist!

    As a list of all time favourite bands go I’d say this is doing pretty good but songs-wise how could you overlook man who sold the world; live forever; and plug in baby!

    *Nah, it’s still not really working for me I’m afraid – Sally (aka limebirdsally)

    1. I didn’t include Plug In Baby because it’s featured on one of the other Top Ten lists and didn’t want to replicate but it’s definitely up there. So are the other two songs, I LOVE Nirvana and Oasis. I get to see Noel and his new band in February, cannot wait! Those two songs are definitely amongst my favourites. 🙂

      I think we’ll have to try something else other than Fiddlesticks, “Smeg”?

Leave a Reply

