Meet My Friend… His Name Is Gym.

Well it’s that time of the month where everyone who gets paid monthly are starting to get paid and with that, that means a weekend full of partying, drinking, smoking, sex, drugs and shopping!

It’s a great feeling when you get your wage packet through at the end of the month, it makes you feel like the work you’ve been doing over the past month has been worth it. But while everyone else is doing that, I won’t be doing any of the above.

No I will in fact be returning to the gym to attempt to lose weight, no this isn’t the gym I go to, this is just a stock gym image I found on Google Images, the gym I go to is much better than this shit tip hah! I joined the gym around May last year and kept it up right up until I left England to work in France at the end of the year, I had to pay the rest of the contract off because it worked out cheaper than paying the fee every month. But when I injured my self in France I was in no fit shape to go back to the gym straight away, so I laid around the house doing nothing while looking for work.

By the time I was in a job I was pretty much in debt, I’ve been in debt since the beginning of this year and so far I haven’t been given a chance to get it down. It haven’t been under £600 in debt since January, a lot of you might think this is no big deal but for me it is because I’ve had that mentality that I have to save and not enjoy myself at all for the entire year because I’ve wanted to get my overdraft down, I hate being in debt. I always had one promise to myself and that was when I get below a certain amount in my overdraft I would head back to the gym, but then I got fired from the call centre job and I’ve pretty much been hopping around for jobs this entire year, my overdraft losing the battle of trying to go down.

Debt slowly rising by the passing month, I got a job at A1 Comms and got it down to 700 after five weeks, but then I was let go from that job aswell, then I went back to Voice in desperation, for the last five or six months I’ve been at least £1000 in debt and whenever I get it down, something happens to the job I’m in and it slowly starts creeping up again.

Well I got paid today and my overdraft which was at £1146 is now only £297! So for those that are going out tonight, tomorrow night or even Sunday night I hope you have a good time, because I certainly won’t be out drinking, first thing tomorrow I’ll be marching (well driving) to that gym and re-registering with them. All I need to do is go another month without wasting my money on stupid nights out around Sheffield spending more than I need to be doing, concentrate on spending my money on petrol for the car and by the end of October I will have gotten myself out of my overdraft for the first time in 2011!

I’ve come a long way since joining WordPress back in the middle of July, in the short two month span I’ve gone from being extremely bitter about life and horribly in debt, to someone who doesn’t quite mind their life at the moment. When next month comes and I get a full months pay (I had only been at this current job about three and a half weeks) then you will see a big change in my overview of life.

I’ll still be the sarcastic bastard that I am now, I just won’t be quite so bitter. Unless of course I get fired and become broke again.

But I will let you all know how my first day back at the gym is tomorrow, it’s going to be a long process trying to get my weight down, a year of doing nothing will make you extremely lazy and unhealthy and overweight I am hoping this dramatic drop in my overdraft is the start of a new ‘Ard, a happier ‘Ard!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

7 thoughts on “Meet My Friend… His Name Is Gym.”

  1. I’ve been in my overdraft for the past three years, so I know exactly what it feels like. The worst it ever got was about a year ago, just skimming the edge of my £1500 limit- today, however, I got paid and only have another £190 to go! One more month’s worth of work and I will actually be in CREDIT (Holy Shit!, What the Fuck?! etc.) which is somewhere I don’t entirely remember ever being before… it’s going to be awesome! But then there’s the £26k’s worth of University fees still left to pay off which is gaining interest as we speak, so I’m not going to buy cake yet. Or at least not a very big one.

    And good luck with gyming! I’ve never been one for the gym, and the last time my boyfriend went he got a migrane and threw up all over himself. The bed and television is definitely the safer bet, if not the most awe-inspiring way to spend your life. But hey, it’s better than having your leg chopped off by a moustachioed psychopath, eh?

    1. Haha I need to get a job at Asda if you’re getting around 1300 a month! It seems like next month will be a good month for both of us! That’s exactly why I didn’t want to go to University, a lot of my friends went to Uni and they have jobs in something nothing to do with what they studied, I don’t see the point really..

      I don’t mind it at the gym, I like to wait until people finish on the weights, look at him, look at the machine, put the weight to one notch heavier than what he was doing then nod and do a few reps, I then get a few impressed looks from people, as soon as they walk away, take off a few notches before my arms tear apart.

      That and when particularly buff gentlemen walk past me, I puff out my chest and breath in! Don’t know why I do these things, I’m there to lose weight not to impress anybody, but I suppose the good thing is the treadmills are at the back and the cross trainers of the are in front of them so when theres sexy ladies on the cross trainer, boom I’m on the treadmill and it’s almost like I’m following them!

      1. £1300 a month would be AWESOME, but alas it’s taken me more than a year to whittle my overdraft down month by month to what it currently stands at now! I get paid in pennies. And sometimes in 10ps. I would recommend only getting a job in ASDA if you enjoy being yelled at by the unwashed masses, or have a bit of a fetish for face-meltingly uncontrollable boredom.

        And LOL @ arms falling off 😀

    1. Thank you! 😀 It’s been one hell of a year, good in my personal life but horrible in my professional life, hopefully with the new job that’ll all change and I’ll be where I want to be by the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

