Top 10 Songs…

…From My Favourite Artists Of All Time.

So yesterday I posted my top ten bands of all time, today I want to talk about my top ten artists of all time, the guys that don’t want or need to share the spotlight with anyone else.

It was a hard list to compile because there’s so many that I like but so few spots but this is the top 10 not the top 100! Some of these guys aren’t around anymore, hence the “Of All Time” and some of them you may not agree with but they’re my favourites for a reason and that reason is mainly they’ve left an impact, not only on the music world but in my life as well.

You’ve no doubt heard of a lot of these people, only not knowing a couple if you’re completely deaf to the British music scene.

So enjoy!

Number 10:

Sweet Euphoria by Chris Cornell

So despite Audioslave being number 1 yesterday, as a solo artist Chris Cornell only makes it to number one, when he’s in a band he’s the best thing else, but he hasn’t had much of a solo career, doing a couple of solo albums between bands. When Soundgarden split up all those years ago Cornell went solo and made the album Euphoria Morning which this song originates, it’s one of my favourite songs Cornell has made and even making it at number 10 shows how much Cornell still means a lot to me when he’s not in a band.

Number 9:

Feeling Good by Michael Bublé

Michael Bublé is a modern day crooner, following in the footsteps of the greats that used to rock the 50s. This guy radiates charisma and talent while at the same time being completely down to earth, a lot of people these days get big and then get big headed thinking they’re too good to talk to you, not this guy, he’s a genuinely nice guy and I love his rendition of this song not to mention the awesome music video, this guys still got years to go too and he can only get better!

Number 8:

God’s Gonna Cut You Down by Johnny Cash

I am sorry to say I wasn’t introduced to Johnny Cash until later on in life, I’ve only really been a fan of his for about 6 or 7 years when I heard his rendition of “Hurt” on an episode of WWE SmackDown after Eddie Guerrero died, after I heard that song though I made it my business to find out more of Johnny Cash and I’ve liked a lot of what I’ve heard, he was a musical legend having been in the music industry for almost 50 years! It’s amazing to think that this guy had already been in the music business for a couple of decades before I was even born, he got ill in 1997 but carried on making music until his death in 2003 and even though he’s dead, I hope he’s taking comfort that his music is still being recognized by people in their 20s.

Number 7:

You Raise Me Up By Josh Groban

If I was to ever go to the opera, it’d only be because Josh Groban would be there, he has that sort of voice that’d be perfect for it. For years I’ve been a fan of Groban’s because his voice is so smooth and I can’t think of a bad song he’s ever done. He seems like the type of guy that’d be down to Earth and this is definitely a perfect placement for Josh Groban to be.

Number 6:

Cannonball by Damien Rice

Damien Rice has one of the most calming singing voices ever, the only thing that upsets me about Damien is that he’s been around since 1991 and he’s only made two studio albums, one in 2002 and the other in 2006, he did a live album in 2007 and we’ve heard nothing since, every song he has ever done I have loved and he is the guy that turned me to the Irish folk music sort of genre that’s made a lot of talented people famous.

Number 5:

Angel by Sarah McLachlan

I first heard of Sarah McLachlan after hearing this song from the film City Of Angels, Sarah has such a unique voice. Some would say I love her and they would be right, over the years I’ve become more and more of a fan of hers and it all started from this song. This song I was going to save for my all time favourite songs on Sunday but I’ve already made that list and she’s most definitely number 11, she is gorgeous and she’s still rocking on even now and I can’t wait to hear more of what she has to offer.

Number 4:

Black Or White by Michael Jackson

How can you have a week of top 10 lists and not include Michael Jackson? The guy is an absolute legend and it’s a shame that his musical career has been tarnished by allegations of child abuse and the extensive surgery he had on his face and body, when he used to be black a few decades ago he was quite a handsome man and I don’t know why he had to have his skin pigmented. But despite his personal problems he was a very talented musician, this is one of my favourite songs. I remember being forced to watch these Michael Jackson movies he did way back when by my mother and I was pretty into his music even back then. Before he became such a hit as a solo artist he was in a band known as the Jackson 5, it’s a shame he was the only one that made a successful solo career but if anyone was going to do it, it was going to be Michael.

Number 3:

American Bad Ass by Kid Rock

Massive fan of Kid Rock and you won’t believe how much I marked out when I went to China to see my mate living over there and his Chinese girlfriend is also a massive fan of him too! This song is pure rock and it’s this song that got me into Kid Rock, I’ve followed him closely over the years and even though he’s no longer Rock he’s done too much for me to just forget about him. Nowadays he makes country music and that’s a shame because when he’s rocking out like he is here there is no one better. And the fact that he even managed to pull Pamela Anderson only adds to the respect I already have for him.

Number 2:

Superman by Eminem

Eminizzle fo shizzle, ever since his first hit I’ve been obsessed with his music, everything he says you know most of it’s from the heart, he was that legendary white haired rapper and as he’s gotten older he’s only gotten better and matured. He’s had a lot of personal problems with his woman but who the hell hasn’t in the past? This guy is awesome and every song he’s done is awesome especially this song, which shares the same views about women as myself 😀 too many favourite songs of his to mention but the recent ones he’s done as well Space Bound and 25 to Life are amazing and you should definitely check them out.

Number 1:

My Way by Frank Sinatra

Yeah I like Frank Sinatra, what of it? The man is a legend in the music industry and will always be a legend and never forgotten for as long as the music industry lives. This video was from his final concert in 1994 before dying in 1998 and boy did he go out with a bang! My father was a big fan of his and I grew up listening to a lot of his music, the guy has been nothing but a class act his entire life and it’s people like that we’ll always remember not the current bunch of shit we get these days. The personification of big brass band singers and it’s lead to people like Michael Bublé to be inspired by him.

What a life he must have had, it’s hard to imagine what went on before you were born, I know nothing of life before 1985 but by that time, Frank was already 70 years old! He had 60 years in this business and there isn’t a man I’d like to meet more than Frankie himself.

Thanks Frank for giving us years of hard work and one last show before you were physically and mentally unfit to continue.

Hope you’ve enjoyed my list of top ten singers, it was an interesting list to come up with to say the least and I think provides quite a bit of variety.

Please tell me who your favourite artists are of all time and please be more original than the current crop of shit that’s flooding the music scene at the moment!

Also I just want to share a duet two of my favourite artists of all time did a few years back on Live 8. Damn McLachlan’s a sexy bitch!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs…”

  1. I’ll forgive you for Michael Buble, but only because you have Cash, Rice and Sinatra in there! Also, kudos for Eminem. I’m a metalcore girl at heart, but you can’t beat a bit of white rapping, ‘And get ready, cause this shit’s about to get heavy… I just settled all my lawsuits, FUCK YOU DEBBIE!’. Ahem. I go round singing that more often than I should.

    As for my favourite songs, I wouldn’t know where to begin in trimming them all down: my absolute most favourite however is Alexisonfire’s ‘Happiness by the Kilowatt’, a song inspired by Vonnegut’s ‘The Euphio Question’ and laced with such aggressive and melodic vocals that you’re instantly some other place. Some place wonderful and crushing in equal measure: ‘So this is continuous happiness? You know, I always imagined it something more…’

    For the same reasons I also love Every Time I Die and Thursday, but to round off my list of 10, I’d also recommend A Day To Remember, Against Me!, Aiden, Animal Alpha, Emilie Autumn, The Dresden Dolls and The Used 🙂

    1. Haha I totally just did a “FUCK YOU DEBBEHHH” out loud.

      I shall have to check some of these out, especially Thursday because I’ve heard a few of their songs before and they were pretty good plus one of my mates keeps raving about them too. I’ve heard Happiness by the Kilowatt and it is indeed an epic song 🙂

      And there’s nothing wrong with a bit of Micky Bubbles 😛

  2. I am completely with you on most of the artists/songs here. My top would be Chris Cornell. He is one of my all time favorite musicians/vocalist. I remember growing up listening to Soundgarden and falling in lust (I think I just gave away my age). Even his work through Audioslave…mostly the first album.

    Michael Buble’ is very hard not to like. As Anna said, I am a very hardcore metal rock, kinda girl….yet…Buble’ hits the stupid inner high school girl in me (not like in the fetish sorta way…lol).

    Sarah McLachlan, has always had that emotional part of my brain in her grasps. Between the haunting beauty of her voice, and the amazing lyrical talent, I have been captivated.

    I look forward to more posts like these!!

    1. When Cornell’s in a band he is on top but he hasn’t done much in the way of solo but he’s still awesome. I must see him before I die. The first album was definitely the best but I’ve liked songs from the others too.

      There’s still two more posts to go and then that’s the week of Top 10s over, they’re all under the Top 10 page though if you want to check the others out!

  3. That was such an awesomely eclectic list of great songs! I was thrilled to see Cash on there, especially a song that isn’t usually considered one of his greatest… good choice!

    I’ll be heading over to iTunes right about now…

Leave a Reply

