Et Tu Gym?

Well today was the first day back at the gym, went in there and re-registered, told the sexy lady that was registering me I had been before so I didn’t need to be shown around the place, I know where everything is. Just want to get straight back into it. I knew that going back to the gym after a year long break was going to be tough but I didn’t realise how tough.

The first thing I went on was the exercise bike, I hate the bikes because they’re so boring and extremely uncomfortable, the first day back I only did 10 minutes on there, not because I was too tired but because I wanted to get back into the weights as soon as possible and time was dragging sat on that thing. So I hopped off the bike and straight on the cross trainer, my favourite, basically on the cross trainer you stand up and do like a running motion on the machine, I remember years ago me and a mate did a full hour on one of those things, it was so funny trying to walk afterwards, look liked I’ve been arse raped.

But I did 35 minutes on there to make up for the lost time on the bike then headed over to the treadmill, surprisingly my cardio isn’t that bad to say last year I wasn’t smoking and going regular and since then I’ve smoked a lot of cigarettes and done next to no exercise for a whole year, so I was impressed that I could still go, felt a bit light headed but that’s probably because I haven’t eaten all day. I don’t know if you’re meant to gym on a full or empty stomach but I chose the latter option just in case I made my self ill.

On the treadmill, started off with a fast paced walk for the first ten minutes then did a five minute fun after that, I always feel self conscious when I’m running on those things because things are jiggling that shouldn’t be jiggling, plus I was next to some hot lady so I felt a bit of a dick but nevermind, I’m not there to pull or impress anyone so I blanked her out to the sounds of Muse.

After the cardio machines were over with it was go time with the weights, this is where I knew I’d fail, I was actually starting to gain some real muscle last year and since it’s gone back to a flabby mess, I did my best though, on the lat pulldown I used to pull over 80 kilo’s but now couldn’t do more than 56, went to the other weight machines and worked only on my arms for today, knowing that they’ll be dead tomorrow I’ll work on my legs (Never have trouble lifting weights with my legs).

After a few different weight machines the last one I went on was the bicep curl and I managed 27 reps when my arms just stopped working, I physically couldn’t lift anymore, that’s when you know it’s time to stop before you do yourself some damage, now my arms are shaking, it hurts moving the mouse! I reckon tomorrow my shoulders and arms will be unbearably painful, I’ll give it until Monday to heal as tomorrow I’ll be working on my legs and maybe stomach then after work Monday back on the arms again!

It is fun going to the gym but I am impatient, I want to lose weight now and be strong now but I have to face the fact that it’s going to take time and when all is said and done and I’m where I want to be all the pain will have been worth it.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

7 thoughts on “Et Tu Gym?”

  1. Good for you, Pete. 🙂
    As far as eating before/after… You need calories before but don’t want anything big in your stomach or your body will spend energy digesting instead of focusing on your muscles. 🙂
    Wait about 30 after eating fruit and granola over yoghurt or the like. Just a tip.
    Keep it up!

    1. Thanks for the tip! Maybe you can give me more tips on what to eat besides fatty junk food, but food that doesn’t taste disgusting and is still filling haha. I need to eat more regularly aswell because I only eat once a day and that’s when I get home from work and apparently eating once at night time isn’t good because your metabolism doesn’t process the food very well!

      But I never have the time for breakfast (though they do let us eat at our desks) and I can never be bothered to have anything for lunch ahah.

  2. I used to hate the running machine, I’m ridiculously heavy footed so it sounded like an elephant was stomping through when I started to run! Well done for getting back there though, I’ve been saying I will for the past 2 months!

    1. I’m very heavy footed so I know what you mean haha, I try and find someone bigger than me to run next to then they don’t think it’s me 😀

Leave a Reply

