Top 10 Songs…

…Of All Time

So this is it, the list it’s all been leading up to, I write this writhing in pain due to my gym activities as my whole upper body has cramped up! I haven’t been able to do anything today but no pain no gain right? …Right?

Anyway I want to show you all which are my top 10 songs of all time, they may be from bands that aren’t on any list at all apart from this one and that’s only because while they aren’t my favourite band or artist this song is definitely one of my all time classics. This list is probably the hardest list to put together because there are so many great songs out there but alas I can only pick ten, you’ve more than likely heard of all of these bands and there’ll be songs from bands I’ve already mentioned but I’ve managed to hold off posting my favourite songs for today.

So for the final list I shall show you what I truly like music wise by starting off at…

Number 10:

The Way I Am by Eminem

Can’t have a top ten list without Eminem on there, one of my favourite songs and it sounds like one of the few songs that actually came from the heart. Basically telling the world that just because he is famous it doesn’t mean he has to be constantly hounded by idiotic fans.

Number 9:

Hurt by Johnny Cash

This song was a cover Johnny did originally by Nine Inch Nails, he made me like this song as I’m not that much of a fan of NIN and he did this song right before he died. The video he did to it was almost a look back at his career and life and that’s why this is one of my all time favourites. Truly a legend that’ll never be missed.

Number 8:

Painted On My Heart by The Cult

This song deserved to be on this list, it’s one of my favourite all time songs simply because it’s gorgeous. Heard it on Gone In 60 Seconds, which is one of my favourite films and I remember many a time listening to this song after college with my brother while we beat the shit out of each other on TimeSplitters 2 for the PS2, this song brings back so many great memories.

Number 7:

Delicate by Damien Rice

Damien Rice is one of my favourite artists, this song is the best song he’s ever written in my opinion, it’s just so soothing and relaxing. This guy has such a talent and it’s just a shame that he hasn’t produced anything for awhile now, I hope he’s not gone for good because he needs to write more classics like these!

Number 6:

I’m Yours by Jason Mraz

Haven’t mentioned Mraz before, not because I’m not a fan though because this is one of favourite songs too! And just like Delicate is also pretty soothing and cheers you up when you’re having a shitty day. The guy has such charisma and that shines through whenever he’s on stage, it wouldn’t surprise me if he ends up a legend one day too.

Number 5:

Hysteria by Muse

It’s obvious I’d have Muse on my all time favourites list and this is the song that I like the most. The music video is pretty intense and when I heard them play this song live at Leeds Festival it was simply amazing.

Number 4:

Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing by Aerosmith

Could say it’s new in at number four as I had to change the list after realizing a couple of mistakes I had made, I love this band and this song is so amazing, from the Armageddon film which is my all time favourite film it’s perfect to listen to when you want to have a quiet night.

Number 3:

Like A Stone by Audioslave

My all time favourite band definitely getting a mention here, this gets played a lot when I’m in my car or doing anything else that requires music in the background, as my mates would say, “Rate choon”. And yes, they’d be correct!

Number 2:

Not Enough by Our Lady Peace

When I thought of this list, I’ve had ideas for other songs and some of the choices I’ve made I’m still not sure about but I absolutely knew what was number two and what would be number one, this song deserves the number two option, I’ve heard this song everywhere, I love the lyrics, I love this live performance, I love everything about this song. The emotion he puts into singing it is so real.

Number 1:

Iris by Goo Goo Dolls

Bringing us to the final song I want to share with you all is my all time favourite song, I first heard this on the City Of Angels soundtrack, that film is what made me fall in love with Goo Goo Dolls and since then I’ve been a massive fan of this band, it’s one of those bands I need to see before I die and I want them to perform this song. Every version that’s ever been made of this song is awesome, my obsession with this band started with the music video, looking out seeing what others are doing while keeping out of sight himself, it’s how I feel a lot of the time and there isn’t a song I like more than this.

That brings us to the end of the top ten lists, I may do more in the future but I want to thank you all that’s ready any of my lists, I’ve tried to pick out the very best songs I’ve listened to and it seems that a lot of you share the same musical tastes as I do anyway.

I’ve loved finding out what songs you’re into as well and it’s introduced me to some music I haven’t heard before which is what I wanted to accomplish when I started doing these lists.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs…”

  1. My computer’s freaking out, so before it shuts down on me again and has me weeping all over the keyboard, I shall just quickly say this: AWESOME LIST! 😀

  2. … and now it’s behaving itself, so I can clarify a bit more… yay!

    What a fantastic culmination of all your ‘Top 10’ lists. A great mix of musical styles, with examples of bands that you have both mentioned before, and have not. I always love it when people go into detail about the music that they listen to, and why they like it… I always feel music is better listened to when there’s some kind of meaning. It’s always great to hear new songs, but at the same time, it’s always nice to feel safe, exposed, exhilarated, suffocated, freed- by the old ones too.

    And a round of applause for your #1 🙂

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 my number one choice, that songs helped me get through so many bad times in the past, if I ever had a bad day or just want to forget about my life for a moment this is the first song I turn to everytime. This song is why I hate so much music nowadays, there’s no meaning behind most of the music these days and half the shit I use to hear people play at the back of the bus with their phones, “DIS IZ A RATE CHUNE!”

      No son, Iris is a “rate chune” and I seriously can’t imagine a song replacing Iris for as long as I live.

Leave a Reply

