Top 10 Songs…

…That Gets Me In The Mood For A Night Out

Almost at the end of my top ten lists, a little bit later than the other ones as where I am it’s technically Sunday, but it’s still Saturday in America so that still counts! Later because despite the fact that I said I’d be staying in and going to the gym I still went out for a few drinks with my main man Will! Pretty good night, no one threatened me for once, Chesterfield is still a poor night out though.

Although I did get a girl chatting me up, hot too, I have a girlfriend though but it still boosts my confidence! I’m just a suave mofo I suppose. I was thinking about what this list should be about before my final Top 10 list and as I went out tonight it gave me the idea of giving you a list of top ten songs that I listen to to get me in the mood for a night out, whether I’m getting ready before I’m out or while I’m out and it’s songs that boost my mood and get me having a good time. Normally in most pubs and clubs these days you get the classic chavvy dance music where they just play something shit with a lot of base loud, so loud that your ears are ringing when you leave. Maybe it is the age getting to me but I’m only 26, I put it down to my hatred for the music they play although some places actually play decent music and I want to share my favourite music.

Some of the bands I’ve listed I’m not really a fan of them at all but every once in a while in bands I don’t like release a song I do like so let’s get on with it…

Starting at Number 10:

Let It Rock by Kevin Rudolf

Can’t remember where I first heard this song, it may have been in a club but I’m in love with this song, it’s so upbeat and whenever I hear it in a club I mark out and it definitely boosts my mood, I also whack it on when I’m getting ready, when I’m getting my self suave, looking fresh, looking spicy. Spicy like a nik nak!

Number 9:

Rollin’ by Limp Bizkit

There was a club in Chesterfield called Lava, which changed it’s name to Elements (Though it was still basically the same, change the name and it drives business apparently, well no because now that clubs shut!) and on the top floor they mostly played rock music, I’m not a fan of dancing but when they played this song every week I’d be on that beast pulling some mad shapes. And yeah I do do the “Rollin’ arms”. Believe it.

Number 8:

Crack A Bottle by Eminem

Can’t having a getting ready list without having Eminem on here, there are so many of his songs that I listen to when getting ready but this is definitely the best, upbeat and easy to sing a long to!

Number 7:

Gravity by Embassy

This is a relatively unknown/new band, first heard this song when it was featured on the preview for Stargate Universe, I hope they make it big because they’re f’n awesome! I listen to this song where ever I can, whether it’s in the car or getting ready before going out. If you haven’t heard this before, I have no doubt that you’ll love it too.

Number 6:

Invaders Must Die by The Prodigy

Can’t say I’m a fan of Prodigy really, this is probably the only song I listen to regularly, it has that beat that makes you want to move, I often play it in the car as well as getting ready and it’s almost a certainty it’ll be played in the clubs. Though since Elements shut down I don’t really go to any clubs anymore as the rest are pure dance/trance/house rubbish.

Number 5:

X by Xzibit

Yeah, I have a gangster side, what of it? I do actually like quite a few rappers, naturally I prefer rock music but when I was to G it up before a night out this is what I listen to, may seem sad but I know every single lyric to this and when I’m listening to it I often rap along (And I sound pretty gangster myself). I also love the part at the end when Snoop finishes the song off and yeah I give it the westside fingers while I am rapping along. I’m giving the westside fingers now…

Number 4:

Animals by Nickelback

Despite the fact that I haven’t mentioned Nickelback at all before now, they are actually one of my favourite bands and I have all of their albums. They’re just not as good as the other bands I find favourites, this song is ace for getting ready to, don’t often hear it on a night out unless you go to a grungy rock pub, of which there are none in Chesterfield and I also know every word to this too considering I’ve listening to be about 1400234 times.

Number 3:

The Prayer by Bloc Party

Not that much of a fan of Bloc Party either to be honest, not that I hate them or anything but mainly because a lot of their stuff doesn’t interest me, they did do this song though which I like the beat to. When this is played loud in a club I can’t help but bob my head and it’s always on while I’m getting ready, had it on while I was in the shower once, nodding my head, next thing I knew I slipped in the shower and bashed my head on the edge of the bath… totally worth it though!

Number 2:

Mobscene by Marilyn Manson

I’m also a pretty big Manson fan too, I like a lot of his stuff especially when I want to make my self angry haha! I love the music video to this, the beat, the sexy ladies in the bunny outfits and just about everything else. It’s a perfect song to get ready to!

Number 1:

Feel Good Inc by Gorillaz

I knew when creating this list which one would be number one and it’s definitely deservedly given to Gorillaz, I’ll some times be getting ready for a night out and think to my self, “I really can’t be bothered tonight” but then I slap this number on and it does get me in the mood probably more than any other song. Not a massive fan of their stuff but I do like some of it and this is probably one of my favourite songs to listen to when I’m feeling down so this definitely deserves being at the top of the list.

Hope you’ve enjoyed the penultimate Top 10 List and maybe you’ll be getting ready for a night out one day and you’ll put one of these ten on, as always I want to hear what songs get you in the mood for a night out or love hearing while you’re out. You may like dance music, I’ll forgive you, but don’t tell me to listen to it because you’ll more than likely be getting an eSlap.

The final list tomorrow I’m really having difficulty with, just narrowing down what songs I want in the top ten but at least you know that when I do post it, those songs will definitely on there for a reason!

Peace!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs…”

  1. Yours is one of the only blogs i subscribe to that I do not automatically delete the incomings. I do not get a chance to listen to new music. i’m stuck in the seventies and in the sound cloud electronica but thanks for the gravity tune by embassy. I really dig that sound. Let it rock is engaging. Keep on writing.

Leave a Reply

