Law and Hospital

So today has been one of those really shitty days, you know the days when nothing has gone right and it’s bound to get worse.

Well today was definitely one of those days, if I start to not make sense, that’ll be because I’ve suffered a concussion and can’t think straight, but you know what feeling when you have to get out your frustration via a keyboard, well this is one of those times.

Over the weekend I realised that I was taken £50 off of my monthly wage, for a pension scheme. Something which I never agreed to, so I brought it up today at work and no one on my team knows nothing about it so I e-mailed the Payroll department, they told me that the scheme was contractual, I told them that I didn’t agree to enter into a pension scheme and I want to be removed as I’m only 26 and I don’t want nearly £600 year taken off of me to only see it again in 40 years time and what I got back was disrespect and spoken to like a child.

I have a copy of the e-mails, I sent my self to show you kind people to see if you think this is right.

Hi there,

I noticed on my wage slip this month that I gave £49 to a pension scheme although I don’t remember filling out the form saying I was interested in the pension scheme, if I did then this was a mistake. Far too young to be worried about my pension!!

Could I possibly be removed from this as I could do with the extra money now rather than in 40 years time J

Thanks,

Peter.

Peter Howorth

Service Desk Assistant, EMS

Payroll:

Hi Peter,

The Pension is contractual for new starters and you are automatically enrolled into the scheme upon signing your contract. I am therefore unable to remove you from the scheme.

If you have any further queries then please let me know.

Kind Regards

Dave Allan

Payroll and Benefits Officer

Me:

Hi Dave,

So does this mean I won’t be able to leave the scheme at any time? I have to pay nearly £600 a year in to something that’s not beneficial for me?

Thanks,

Peter Howorth

Service Desk Assistant

Payroll:

Hi Peter,

At the present time you will not be able withdraw from the scheme and I understand why it may seem like it is not beneficial now but come nearer to retirement age I am almost certain that perspective will change.

That said, I will escalate your enquiry if you still wish to withdraw from the scheme.

Kind Regards

Dave Allan

Trying to make me think it was alright to take this much away from me a month!

Hi Dave,

While I’m sure I would be interested in a pension later on in life, for the moment I have far more pressing things for my bank account to worry about.

I would appreciate it if you could escalate it because I was told in my interview that I would be given the option to opt in to a pension scheme after my 3 months probation, not that I’d be registered straight away without given the option to leave (Which I’m not sure is legal anyway whether it’s in the contract or not).

Many thanks,

Peter.

Peter Howorth

My manager then arrived at about half 11 and I forwarded her these e-mails, she was the one that told me I could opt in after three months if I choose because she hadn’t been told any different, she then e-mailed Human Resources and they said that it was being implemented in 2012 anyway, they just implemented it early. Which while it is true everyone will be entered into a pension scheme automatically in 2012 for big businesses then gradually for medium and small businesses, it is illegal not to give you the option to opt out.

Now I know quite a bit about employment law because I was a Union Representative for Unite, the biggest Union in the UK and one of the biggest in the world, I was trained extensively in employment law, I e-mailed the HR department.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Pensionsandretirementplanning/Companyandpersonalpensions/DG_183783

Hi Carys

The government website clearly states twice that employees will be able to opt out if they want – This is what I have requested:

Pensions and retirement planning

Automatic enrolment into pensions at work from 2012

From 2012, many more people will have access to a pension at work, to help them save for their later years. Employers will have to enrol all eligible employees into a pension and make minimum contributions into the scheme. If you are eligible, your employer will enrol you automatically into a pension. You will be able to opt out if you want.

…/    /…

The enrolment process will be simple and you may choose to opt out of the pension, if you wish. As long as you stay in, your employer will make a minimum contribution to the scheme. In most cases you will also need to contribute but your employer may pay your contribution for you. You will also get tax relief from the government.

It is illegal for any company to force a pension scheme upon an employee without giving them the option of not having it, can you investigate this further or I’ll be forced to investigate it myself.

Thanks

Peter.

Peter Howorth

This has now turned into an issue for management to look at and I’m not joking, I will not be forced into a pension scheme especially when I’m only 26 and I probably won’t even make it until 65 anyway with the way I’m going. So this has pretty much had me angry for much of the day but it was okay because I was going out after work with my girlfriend, brother and his wife, something I had been looking forward to all week. They go off on their honeymoon Thursday so I wanted to have a night out with them before they left and it was all my treat, I had planned to take them all for a meal and then a trip to the cinema.

Half five came and I finished work, where I work, across the road there is a wall that leads to the car park of where I was parked, near enough next to the wall as you climb up there is a solid metal sign giving everyone the rules for the car park and what not, I climbed the wall went to stand up and smashed my head underneath the steel sign,

“Ah you fucking twat” I shouted out loud while rubbing my head, however as I was rubbing my head my hand felt wet, I looked at my hand and there was my hand covered in blood, before I could do anything blood started pissing out of my head and running down my face, my face was covered in blood and I couldn’t stop it!

I ran back into work and begged the security guard to fetch a first aid kit, the security shot up and froze with fear while I stood there bleeding, luckily two of the programmers that work on my floor took me into the kitchen area while he found a first aid kit, my head filled the empty cups in the sink with blood, my t-shirt that used to be black was now a dark maroon colour, the first aid kid at work had no proper bandages, Richard, one of the guys got me to clear the blood away while he strapped on an eye patch (No bandages, fifty eye patches!!!) and taped it down, the other guy Jim then took us all to the Northern General Hospital in Sheffield where the nurse asked me what I had done, pretty self fucking evident really!!

After half of my face was cleaned up!

A nurse then checked to see if I was concussed by flashing a light into my eyes, asked me if I was unconscious when I hit my head to which I replied, “No mate, I’m ‘Ard yeah?”

He looked at me, “…Right.” jotted something down on his clip board and sent me back to sit down and the three of us waited for two and a half hours guessing the ailments of the other people in A&E, people going to see the doctor with twisted ankles before me who was clasping onto a bleeding head! An absolute joke.

The doctor eventually saw me and cleaned my face up, cleaned the blood away from the wound and could clearly see my skull, the cut it self is about three inches long, he glued it shut, which wasn’t a nice experience then gave me a leaflet on head injuries and advised me to take the next 24-48 hours off, no driving, no nothing.

The bad thing was I was in Sheffield, a 25 minute drive from my house. After we left Jim took me back to my car, I was so grateful that these guys not only took me to hospital but waited with me until I was finished then took me back to work, even though they work on my floor, we’re in different departments so I’ve never spoken to them, it was extremely kind. They could have dropped me off and fucked off or not taken me at all (Like the three people that walked past me before). I was offered a lift home but I didn’t really fancy keeping my car in an unsupervised car park over night and said I was alright to drive home, afterall, at the time I was.

So I get in the car and I get about five minutes away from my house, I had felt pretty dizzy so I kept to the first lane and did 50 miles an hour, then I began to get really dizzy, thought, “Shall I speed up and get home quicker?”. No because that would increase the chance of me dying, I had to pull over to a service station and get my dad to come and pick me up while one of his friends drove my car home for me.

That was only an hour ago, I feel like absolute shit, I text my supervisor and told her what happened, she said not to worry about it. But it certainly has depressed me, if it happened yesterday or tomorrow I wouldn’t have cared, but on the night I had planned for my closest people? Absolutely gutted.

The only good thing out of this is the pain receptors in your brain is like a gateway, it focus’ on the pain closest to your brain, so the moment I hit my head the pain in my arms and chest from the gym as completely gone for the moment and I’ve been able to extend my arms fully again, which is a nice feeling but it’s been such a shit day and I can’t even go to sleep until 8 hours after I had the accident to ensure that I wake up in the morning.

Thanks to who ever read this, I hope you feel my pain!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

20 thoughts on “Law and Hospital”

  1. For Christ’s sake, Peter! That looks nasty. I’m really sorry to hear about your day. I hope you’re feeling better today but bet it probably still hurts like a b***h. My goodness, man…
    Well, I must say the reason I enjoy your blog is because I never know what I’m in store for each day.
    Feel better, keep both feet to the ground!
    🙂 Zoe

    1. Twas only a couple of hours ago since I got back haha, I’ve popped a few painkillers and I’ll be fine, I always am haha.

      I like to keep it fresh on a daily basis even if it does mean giving myself brutal injuries!

  2. Oh fucking Hell, what a shit day. Literally everything about it is just awful, especially when everything happened all on the same day. It loses it’s meaning the more it’s said, but I really do hope you’re alright, and I’m sending you virtual hugs. Hopefully tomorrow will be a little better, and don’t even think about doing anything for the next two days! Two days of rest and shit daytime television is a heal-all 🙂

    And two and a half hours for an injury as serious as that? A&E is a total fucking joke. Thinking of you, Pete.

    1. It was a pretty scary experience, even for someone as tough skinned as myself, two and a half hours of non-stop bleeding while people with bad legs and arms get seen to first.

      Even if the leg is broken, it’ll still be broken after I’m sorted, where as all my blood won’t be in my head by the time they’ve been potted up! Gonna see how I feel tomorrow, if I’m alright by the end I may go back to work Thursday, if not, short week 🙂

      Thanks for the virtual hugs 🙂 much appreciated, it’s been a hell of a day =/

  3. Get some rest once you’re able to sleep. Nothing else matters at this point, good of those people at work to help you out. That isn’t always the case. Count your blessings, and go out with your loved one’s another night, just take care of yourself. Head injuries aren’t something to ever mess with. Stay around people for the next 24hours, try not to be alone. My sister got mad at her husband, and didn’t talk to him for a full night one time, because he appeared to already be completely drunk when she got home from home. Ended up he had suffered a head injury at work, and no one from his work let her know, pretty lame.

    Take care of yourself, this is life man.

    DarkJade-

    1. I honestly don’t know what I’d have done had those two guys from work not been there, that security guard was fucking useless and there was no way I’d have been able to drive to the hospital considering I had blood in my eyes. I certainly will be resting, I’m totally exhausted, at least I don’t have to listen to people drone on about computer software tomorrow.

  4. Oh God, what a shitty day it was 😦 Hope you’re fine now.
    And I sincerely hope you wil have as few days like that as possible. Preferably none at all! 😉
    Take care!

  5. I agree, you had a bad day.

    However, I suggest you strongly reconsider your attitude to the pension plan, which is I’m guessing like our superannuation. MOST people DO NOT have enough to retire on in the style they’d like to be able to because they didn’t start saving early enough.

    Mind you, her the employer contributes 9% of one’s salary to a superannuation find and the employee can add more if they like (and salary sacrifice it to save tax).

    You may THINK 26 is young – before you can blink you’ll be 46 and looking at it all a whole lot differently.

    1. Trust me I will get a pension eventually, but for the moment there is a lot of stuff I need to pay off first and that needs my attention before I start thinking about my future, not to mention I want to make sure I’m working at this company for more than a few months first.

      We get state pension, this is just like for extra money. But I also don’t like being told I have no choice to be in a pension when they’re obviously in the wrong and operating against the law.

      1. I agree being debt free is a worthy objective! State pensions are being phased out here – and could you actually LIVE on it anyway? LOL I’ll agree on the legal aspect though – nothing worse than people getting it THAT wrong!

        Glad to hear you are doing better. Your head may well weep for a few days – but have you considered suing the people who own the sign???? You may not need a pension plan!

        1. One of the guys that took me to the hospital suggested that as I’m not the first person to hit/cut my head on it, although he said mine was the most impressive, I do nothing in half measures lol

    1. Much better today thank you 🙂 had 13 hours sleep which is a bit worrying but I woke up with head ache and my head still seems to be bleeding but aside from that better than I felt last night!

  6. I’m so sorry about what happened to your head. What a nasty cut that is! Please take it easy.

    On the subject of pensions my husband and I are self-employed. We have a completely different take on pensions than you do. Yes, you ought to have an opportunity to opt out and we did that years ago. We know from personal experience that you may deeply regret that opting one day because we do.

    Get some rest now, you hear?

    1. I’m not saying I won’t want to start a pension in a few years time when I’m more financially stable, but at the moment I can’t afford it and I don’t like not being the option to leave which is illegal and them thinking they can get away with it.

      And as far as rest goes, back at work already! Luckily it’s not a hard job so I’ve been pretty much chilling all day 😀

Leave a Reply

