Sans Concentration

Well despite the fact that I was advised not to do anything for 48 hours after the bump on the old head, I decided to go back to work today after only one day off, sick days are cool because it gives you a reason why you’re not doing anything but I really need the money and couldn’t afford to have any time off.

I got to work today expecting to start doing some formal training (As I’ve pretty much been winging it so far, but doing quite well in the process), the manager come up to me this morning, saw the three inch gash on my head and told me we’d hold off on training until Monday, which was a relief because I’ve had a serious headache for two days, I was put on the easiest of easy work today, mainly password resets and logging the odd call that came in. Today was pretty easy going but it was like sticking needles in my eyes every time I looked at the screen, the hot weather didn’t help either.

The cool thing was the manager let me have yesterday off as a holiday so I’d still get paid because we don’t get sick pay in the probationary period, I was happy with that because I didn’t fancy working back the hours I missed and I certainly didn’t want the day to go unpaid. I asked if there was any update on the pension scheme argument I started with HR and Payroll and she said upper management are now running around like headless chickens because they know I’m right and they need to get it sorted, I advised her that if I wasn’t removed by the end of next month and not given back the original £50 that was taken off of me, I would be looking into getting legal advise (And being a member of Unite the Union it wouldn’t be hard) so I may actually win this one.

The little amount of work that I did have to do was still pretty difficult, I don’t know why but I just found it really hard to concentrate, I’ve had migraines before and still able to concentrate on whatever task was at hand, talking to customers on the phone my speech was sometimes slurred, don’t know if that was due to tiredness or what but not only that I’m finding it difficult to think clearly, maybe it’s just the after effects of losing over a pint of blood or the hard shock to the brain I took and it’ll clear up in a few days but even writing this blog, I’m finding it hard to think about what I want to write. Maybe a weekend of rest is all I need.

Pretty worrying to be honest but I’ll see how it goes, I have an easy day tomorrow and it’s usually pretty quiet on a Friday then I’ll have the weekend to rest my brain, just bought Supernatural season 4 so I may just get lost into that for a couple of days. A good thing is I’m pretty well known around work now and everyone has asked me if I’m alright, I brave faced it and told them I was fine. Show no weakness!

I made it up to my girlfriend for the fact that Tuesday had to be cancelled by taking her out for a meal, but even she noticed I was a little off tonight, forgetting things and what not. Couldn’t even concentrate on pressing the right buttons on the card machine at the end as I ended up tipping the waitress 3 pence rather than £3! She must have thought I was a right tight bastard, after that I took her to the cinema to watch The Change-Up but as we had an hour to wait we decided to watch the Warrior instead and oh my God what a film that is, so intense and passionate, glad that MMA is finally the focal point of a film rather than boxing and wrestling, some of the best fight scenes I’ve ever seen was in that movie and if you haven’t seen it… Go and see it! You won’t be disappointed!

If there is one thing I did do today, it was keep clear of that fucking metal sign.

Anyway, off to bed! Sleepy.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

1 thought on “Sans Concentration”

  1. Man I can feel the pain all the way over here. I’ve done that before but not as bad though.

Leave a Reply

