Daytrip Day!

After two days of pretty much doing nothing, my girlfriend decided she was going to get me out of the house today and go on a day trip.

We didn’t really go far but it was better than laying in my sweatbox of a bed room. She took me to a town close by to Chesterfield called Matlock, and like most towns scattered around nowhere they like to keep to their roots.

But if there’s one thing I’m thankful for, it’s that I don’t live there, it seems to be some sort of motorbike hotspot! My God I have never seen so many motorbikes in one place before in my life, I’ve ever only gone round Matlock during the evening to par take in some alcohol abuse so it was the first time I went round there in the day. The constant noise given off from motorbikes was pretty fucking annoying, but you do eventually get used to it.

However it’s not a noise I want to be forced to get used to on a daily basis, so I’m glad I don’t live there.

And trust me, there’s way more bikes than that, I love the way some of them looked, there were trikes, custom made Harley’s some pretty impressive stuff to be seen, however I’d never be caught on a bike, my dad owned a Harley Davidson Electra Glide back in 2003, ended up coming off of it on a motorway on his way to work one day to show it off to his work friends and messed himself up pretty badly, since then I’ve been to scared to even get on the back of a bike.

It’s one of those places you go that seems to have an over abundance of fish and chip shops, naturally we stuffed our faces with fish and chips (Well I had pie and chips) as that was the reason we went there in the first place. Even had some dinner time entertainment as we got to listen to one of the people that work there moan about where the salt as gone from the table. He was a pretty simple boy if I’m honest, working in a chip shop is probably the most his mother could have hoped for him.

“Where are you salt! Bloody hell!”

Calm down boy, it’s just a salt shaker. There’s plenty of others! Haha.

The other reason we went there was to get our arcade on! Whether it’s the 2p machines, the fruit machines or even the games, we were on it like a car bonnet.

You bet your ass I was riding as The Terminator! Unfortunately, I only came 3rd.

After we mixed it up at the arcade we then went for an ice cream, it’s rare that I have ice cream these days or it was a particular treat! Toffee Fudge Icecream I believe it was called…

NOM!

It made me wonder however why all the people that lived here weren’t poor, overweight messes on the verge of a heart attack, the only thing they seemed to have around here were fish and chip shops, ice cream shops, arcades  and sweet shops. With the odd biker shop dotted around, is this what everyone eats around here?

My girlfriend said that all these people didn’t live here but some of them must have done, or maybe they were stuck inside trying to get the fish and chip shops to deliver… I dunno!

I think this spells the end of nice weather around Derbyshire/Yorkshire though as the day ended with rain, good old England, can’t stay too sunny for too long but I can’t say I’m disappointed, I hate hot weather, even as I type now I’m sat in my boxers, sweating like a beast. Yeah get that mental image in your mind!

After the ice cream, the fish and chips and the arcades was over with we then took a look in the various gift shops and sweet shops they had dotted around the area. Far too overpriced but I suppose they sell a lot of that sort of stuff, I ended up buying a bag of apple bon bons, a couple of sachets of popping candy and a lolly pop that looks like a lightsaber. (Seriously, you push a button and your lolly lights up! There was no way I wasn’t buying it.

I started coughing at one point then this randomly happened?!?
BZZM BZZM BZZOW!

All in all, it’s been a good day, something I haven’t had for awhile now and totally made me forget about the gash on my head! My next task is to now get all of the glue out of my fricken hair, doctor said wash after five days, so I do and it’s not moved. Lovely! Anyway here’s three more photos of the day!

Also bought this from Matlock, classic British drink! If you've never had it you've never lived.
Living in the hills? A bit too Horror Movie for me.
I once took a piss off that bridge after several tastey beverages some 7 years back!
Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

9 thoughts on “Daytrip Day!”

  1. What a nice girl you have to take you on an impromptu date 🙂
    Glad you feel better!
    (love the lollipop)
    Z

  2. I LOVE MATLOCK! I used to go there and Matlock Bath all the time as a kid, and I loved the seaside-y theme it’s got going on: fish and chip shops, ice-cream, arcades and all that whatnot. It’s only about an hour away from where I live! And it’s renowned for the motorbikes, ha ha.

    I’ve been back a few times in recent years, but I have to say it’s far more creepy now than it used to be… I still love it, but me and my boyfriend went there on a Sunday and literally everything was closed… there was no one in the streets, but every now and then we’d see some curtains twitching. Some freaky shit, right there- ‘a bit too horror movie’, indeed. So we fed some ducks and left. It was still a jolly good day though, and it sounds like you had a good ‘un too!

    Also, thanks for sharing the pictures- I always like to have a bit of a revel in my childhood! And I’m glad you’re feeling better. Hopefully getting the glue out won’t be too much of a trauma 🙂

    1. I wish I took more photo’s to be honest but I had very little battery life on my phone which sucks, it was Matlock Bath we went to! When was it you went when it was a ghost town? It was absolutely heaving when I went yesterday, bikes gallore.

      We were going to go to the beach, something like Skeggy, but we couldn’t be bothered and Matlock does have that feel without the need of having to go into the sea, it does have a river but it’s not very clean at all.

      I can imagine the people peeking out of their curtains, you must have gone during the wrong time of year, “What are those weirdo’s doing? Feeding ducks, freaks, do they not know we’re closed?!”

      As far as the glue goes, someone told me to soak my head in a hot bath, but I’m not sure if they just told me this so I would scold my face =/ I’ll try it never the less haha.

  3. Oh, we must have gone probably last winter. There was literally nobody about, no motorbikes or owt. Even the ducks weren’t particularly bothered. I shall have to make plans to go again when the weather is freakishly warm like it has been the last few days!

    And yeah, probably not the best idea to go jumping into the river. Although I hear they’re doing the illuminations soon? That should be good. At least then if you tried to jump into the river, you’d more than likely land on a boat and get electrocuted instead. All the fun of the fair! 😀

    Good luck with the glue! Try not to scold your face and the suchlike.

  4. “I once took a piss off this bridge…” Thank you for assisting me in spraying coffee all over my keyboard, Pete. LOL

    Look at you, taking such awesome pics! I dunno about you, but my favorite pics of all time are the ones that look like someone took them because they found the sight interesting or somehow noteworthy, not because they’re trying to market themselves as a snooty professional photographer. (No, that’s not a nice way of saying ‘hey, I like your crappy pics!’ I genuinely think they’re great.)

    What in the hell is with all the bikes?! My brother-in-law is a cool biker dude; I’ll show this to him later on. He’ll be thrilled!

    Please post more travels! 😀

    Kate
    http://ukate.wordpress.com/

    1. I certainly will when I go on more travels! 😀 I don’t know what’s with all the bikes though it’s a big biker spot for some reason, there were at least a few hundred bikes on there, wish I took more photos of them but I didn’t want to look like I was casing the joint haha.

Leave a Reply

