I Hate Traffic

If there’s one thing I hate more than anything in the road it’s traffic, I can’t stand it, I know I’ve mentioned it on my blog before but after this week it needs mentioning again. Why does there seriously have to be traffic? Every morning I barely make it to work on time nevermind what time I left! What is actually about a 20 minute drive from my work to the company car park, takes me an hour in the morning!

An hour! What really pisses me off is when there’s traffic for no reason, like, you’ll get a head in the queue for traffic then suddenly there’s no traffic?! Where did it go? Why was it caused?! I’ve been sat still for 20 minutes, driving at paedophile speeds and suddenly it opens up, well how did it get queued in the first place?

I just don’t understand it to be honest, I really don’t. Then when I get off the motorway I get stuck on a dual carriageway that takes about 20 minutes to get through every morning because at the end of the carriageway are sets of traffic lights at a roundabout. In Sheffield, there are traffic lights every ten yards away from each other, they’re fucking pointless!

In some cases they do have their uses, like at crossings but when there’s just a random set of traffic lights on a straight road… Why?! I progress further to work and there’s another roundabout just before I get to the car park and that has a pointless set of traffic lights as well! Which people stop at, I don’t though, I refuse to as I don’t see the point in them, straight through them and onto the motorway. Boom.

I’d hate to be living in Sheffield going the other way too, because as I’m driving on the motorway for some reason the traffic is backed up for miles, every day, surely there can’t be something blocking traffic that badly.

I also hate it when some idiots had an accident on the motorway, they’re in the layby getting seen to but everyone always has to slow down to about 30 just to have a fucking nosey at what’s going on, not realizing the fact that you’re currently ruining somebodies day, someone that needs to be somewhere, I was stuck behind a car, there had been a pretty nasty accident with a few ambulances and police cars and the like and the car in front damn near stopped just so he could watch what was happening… Uh… Dickhead… GET A FUCKING MOVE ON OR GET OUT OF MY WAY! Seriously in the outside lane on a motorway he’s doing 10mph, he nearly had an accident himself.

I remember when I used to take public transport, you don’t think of the traffic when you’re on the bus, if I didn’t work in another city I definitely would take the public transport, but until I have enough money to actually go and move there, I’ll be stuck enduring this hell.

It’s funny when people get right up your arse aswell, wanting you to move out of the way, well no tosser, I can’t move out of the way because if you have opened your eyes you incompetent prick, you’ll notice that the entire road is full of idiots like you.

Bring on the flying cars I say! The whole world will be a lot easier to navigate through.

In other news, I’m glad this week has finished, it’s gone pretty quick to be fair and was definitely a better week than last week but I’m ready for the weekend that’s for sure, the glue is starting to come off of my head, but so is my hair so because of that damn bump to the noggin I’ll end up with a bald patch, never mind, I’ll shave my head when it’s all out. The most strenuous thing I did today at work was around my desk, not that you know what it looked like before, but here’s a picture of part of my desk, I’ll try and get a better snapshot of it on Monday when I go back…


Note my shit drawings to the right, randomly scattered about, the note pad I drew them on to the right, my awesome wall paper. Basically what I did was stand the computer tower up as it was under my right monitor and so my monitors weren’t at a level height and that annoyed the shit out of me so I pushed that right to the back, then pushed back the monitors meaning I now have more space, hanging on the left monitor is my headset although you can’t see that because I’m shit at taking photos, need to add some things to my work area to personalize it a bit more, so if you’ve got any suggestions be sure to let me know.

I must say though, it’s a lot more roomier than my desk at Ventura…

Seriously, what sort of company is this when they don’t even have flat screen monitors? Or even use at the very least Windows XP!? Glad I don’t work there anymore. Note the can of Relentless Energy drink to the right because of how extremely boring this job was. Though to be fair on both jobs, I did/do spend half my day on the internet!

So yeah as I have a lot more space now, give me some ideas on what to put on my desk at work!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

9 thoughts on “I Hate Traffic”

  1. Get a cactus and call it Boris.

    Also, I too hate traffic although I get to work on foot. Which is equally as irritating, especially if it’s raining or if pigeons spot you and try to rip out your eyeballs.

    1. Where do I buy a cactus, I like this idea…

      And I know the troubles you have had with pigeons, I’ve killed at least 5 of them with my car mwaha. The war is in our favour!

  2. As someone who now hails from New York, I understand this completely. Traffic there is like someone works at a fictional car dropping from the sky factory, and constantly drinks on the job.

  3. We had a traffic jam outside my house yesterday. There were two tractors and 60 cows stopping the post van from getting by. I think the tractor drivers had gone off for their morning coffee and Pineau (keeps the cold out – it was only 24 degrees here yesterday-that’s 75 for our Fahrenheit friends). Someone left the gate open and the cows all crowded around the tractors in the hope of extra food supplies.

    The worst time of year here is the tourist season. Lots of traffic on the motorways and I can’t get to Bordeaux to the big Asian supermarket to buy soy sauce and curry paste. Tourists in my region follow the Pineau / Cognac trail. There are about a million châteaux and they all offer free tastings at the road side. The roadsides are littered with abandoned cars when their owners have had several too many and decide to sleep in the hedge or take a taxi home.

    1. It’s interesting to see how different traffic still disrupts normal life. Only 24 degrees lmao, when it’s 24 degrees where I live (even in the middle of summer) that’s too hot!

Leave a Reply

