Six Week Review

Well today… I pretty much did nothing at work for the third day running, seriously it’s become so quiet at the moment and that’s with three members of staff off! Today I pretty much stalked WordPress the whole time I was at work, did random bits of data admin, took a few calls here and there, logged the odd e-mail, that was about it.

I didn’t even take a call until an hour and a half into being there! So quiet! I tried my hand at helping some people on the WordPress forums that had problems but only the basic ones as I pretty much no nothing, how users like “auxclass” and “TimeThief” do it on a daily basis I’ll never know, sometimes I wished that these people would just figure it out for themselves, it’s not difficult, “How Do I Remove Posts”. Go away.

Anyway, they’re just a fraction in a large party of people I enjoy talking to and sharing our stories with.

The one thing I did do today was have my “Six Week Review” meeting at work, crikey had it been six weeks at my new job? How time flies, didn’t seem that long ago when I was doing nothing for A1 Comms, but that was back in April now! My time has certainly been thieved!

I’ve gotten pretty pally with my manager, everyone else seems to moan about her and ignore her but at the end of the day, she’s the reason why you’re here. People ask me why am I pally with my manager, well, let’s take the past years managers before arriving here shall we?

SkiBound – Hotel Belle Aurore in Alpe D’Huez, France, my manager was some 21 year old that barely started shaving, ordering me around like I’m one of the young cronies around, giving me a disciplinary on CHRISTMAS DAY for fighting one of my roommates, a fight he had started. Unlucky for him I became friends with the Area Manager and got him a disciplinary for payment.

Dixons Stores Group – My manager constantly moaned about my stats when I was on the phones, schedule adherence which is basically going on your breaks on time, well sorry Steve, but I’m hardly going to tell a customer, “Sorry mate, I’m going to have to fob you off now because it’s my lunch” you daft twat. He then fired me because after 15 minutes of being yelled at by a customer and I mean she was screaming down the phone, I started arguing back and telling her I’m not here to be blamed for bad service, I’m here to rectify that, well, in not so many words but still another manager wouldn’t have gotten rid of me for one thing I did wrong.

A1 Comms – The manager Gerald, obviously new to the sort of position basically didn’t have a clue what he was doing, he had no clue how to manage anything, I was on a lead generation team with one other guy. When the company realised they had messed up and didn’t actually need the two of us, they kept the other guy on because he worked for Vodafone and put him on the sales team, despite the fact he had never sold anything in his life yet I was the one with cold calling experience, one of the top sellers for E.ON Gas and Electric in the United Kingdom. Whatever.

Unicom – I was there for a day, no training, no introduction, no product knowledge, just straight on the phones trying to sell cheaper call rates to businesses. The office was above a run down night club and was an absolute joke in regards to parking (I had to pay £16 in parking because I couldn’t find anywhere free or cheap to park for the day.)

Voice – I was in a dark place, I was desperate as my overdraft was reaching it’s limit. I had only remembered the good about this company and none of the bad, I was invited for an interview and the new manager knew I was one of the top sellers for E.ON and she wanted me back on the terms that I get the required minimum sales a day. I went back, all of my friends had gone, half the E.ON sales team quit in the space of six months and I realised why, it was because that manager was a nasty nasty bitch. How do you motivate someone to sell? Threaten to send them unpaid was her philosophy apparently coupled with the fact that the good data sets were now gone and we were left with horrible data where half the people you spoke to were already E.ON customers. The manager tried to have a go at me and insult me, I told her to shove the job up her greasy fat ass and walked out.

Ventura – This was a 2 week temp job that ended up lasting for five weeks, pretty much straight data entry, it was good apart from the fact it was so far away. When I realised they didn’t actually check your work, I spent half the time on the internet and just made up a random number, the manager was just a little bit old than I was and spent her day talking about all the men she’s having sex with, something I wasn’t particularly interested in. Glad it was temporary. I was meant to be moved to the O2 Customer Service department in September but managed to secure a job with the place I’m at now.

So that brings me to now, the manager, she’s a laugh, she’s from London so she isn’t sensitive, I have been pulled up on some of my terminology a few times, such as calling women birds, bints, tarts and trouts but I don’t mean it in a nasty way. Some of the women have a stick up their arse though so they don’t appreciate it, fair enough, I’ll tone it down. It’s in Sheffield but they have gotten me cheap parking, £25 a month, which in Sheffield, is an absolute dream. The manager leaves me alone for the most part unless she has something that needs doing or unless I need help so it’s all good.

I told my manager I was worried about my six week review, due to the fact a lot of my jobs haven’t lasted more than two months this year, I then said “Actually it’s my 12 week review I’m really dreading” as that’s the end of my probation. She said,

“Don’t you mean your P45 meeting?” (For people not in England, a P45 is a letter you get when you quit/get fired from a job then you give it to your next job for tax purposes)

She said it in a jokingly way though so I knew I was going to be alright. She then said, “Don’t you worry, you’re not going anywhere pal.” which really put me at ease, my manager, my supervisor and others tell me I’m doing really well considering I basically had to figure out the job I was doing myself. So I went in for this review and it was just me and my manager, she pulls out the review sheets.

There are things I need to improve on no doubt, such as accuracy of call logging and keeping my bad language at bay, which I agreed with completely. She already said I was improving drastically on these points.

She also said that sometimes when I answer a call I sound like a Radio DJ or a Gameshow Host, I’m not even lying, but that’s because I get so bored that when a phone call comes through, I answer like… “Goooood AfterNOON! You’re through to TRIBAL SUPPORT! Pierre speaking!” She said to stop doing it as it could make it sound like I was being sarcastic down the phone hahahaa.

She then said she watches in amazement when I type, because I’m extremely fast and accurate at typing, self taught too 😀 she was impressed with the amount of calls I’ve logged, how quickly I pick things up, which is a given because I do pick things up quite fast. Probably due to the 130 IQ hah.

I cope really well when working under pressure, I never seem pressured and apparently the top guy on our team Craig. He’s like the brains of the team is jealous because he can’t handle pressure all that well and my skills are quickly approaching his. In some areas I’m already better that he is and he has two years on me!

I never moan about being given extra work to do, I never moan about anything job related. As far as logging the calls go, I’m the first new starter they’ve had where I’ve started logging them correctly after just a couple of days, but it’s not all that hard to be honest. In her words, “I’m the best new starter they’ve ever had.” and I am already an asset to the team and she said I’ll be here for as long as I want to be.

So aside from the small amount of areas I need to improve on, I’m pretty awesome. I haven’t been trained up on all the projects yet, there are busier projects still to come but they said I won’t have any problem with it. The thing is about the job, I never seem pressured or moan about being given extra work because I’ve worked in far worse environments than this, most of the other staff probably haven’t. Dixons where you were taking call after call, taking around 200 calls a day or at Voice where I was making 200 calls a day, to somewhere where you’re lucky if you take 30 calls a day. I beg for extra work because it stops me from going on WordPress for a few minutes.

Craig’s going to be really happy next week, he’s been off ill all week so I’ve taken over his duties as well as my own and still managed it very easily, so if he was jealous before, imagine how he’ll feel when I tell him there’s not really any point in him being here. Mwahahaha!

Fair to say that these areas will be worked on by the time my 12 week review comes around, considering the problems they had was from the early days of me being there. It finally looks like I have a job I not only like and don’t dread going to, but a job that isn’t going to get rid of me any time soon!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

13 thoughts on “Six Week Review”

  1. Gratz man, that’s excellent… My best job as far as the 40 hours a week thing ever went was at an Orthopedic Brace Company… I was actually there for 8 1/2 years, which is just insane…. I started a Data/Order Entry, one year later Invoicing, one year later I moved into Orthopedic Brace Sales, and was doing that for 6 1/2 years. Granted by the time I left there, I was absolutely fried on Sales, even though I had my own Clients, and got along with them quite well… My sales were also better than ever when I left, but I had always worked regular jobs from 16 to 31, and wanted to give Film Making a shot, which was my Dream… During that time I did some Regular jobs to get by, and whenever I moved and needed a job, that 8 1/2 year job looked great on a resume’, and got me several transitional jobs whilst pursuing Film Making, and Writing

    I work Part Time for an Architect as an Admin/Marketing Consultant, and the rest of the time I spend Writing/Working on my Craft, but in truth I often miss that Orthopedic Brace Job, it was like having my own Mini Company within a Company, as my Boss never bothered me… By the end I came in late, and left early, but I always maintained my Sales, as well as hit my required Sales Growth, so my Boss just let me be… Because he knew I was fried, and he didn’t want to lose me. This friend of mine used to call me Ferris Bueller, because I’d put up decent Sales Numbers, even though I was there shorter times than most of the Sales People… People liked me, but more than that, we had Phenominal Products, 8 to 12 Engineers Designing 2 to 3 New Products every year, it was a great company… Made all of my Jobs after seem like S#%@! lol

    Anyway, enjoy the benefits of your experience, it really is a good time, and you will probably reflect upon it in the future, when you’ve sold your 12th Novel, Living on your Own Island, sipping on a Miti… Hmm… Maybe not, lol

    DarkJade-

    1. Haha thanks mate, the longest I’ve been in a job for is 4 years! 8 and a half is insane and doing sales aswell, I doubt I could handle that. To say you were a shy child and you went into sales is pretty cool.

      But yeah long serviced jobs like that do look good when going for other jobs although I’m the opposite and get the odd job here or there either quitting because I cant stand going to work another day or because I just get fired. Its embarrassing in interviews, when I had the interview for this job they asked me why I had so many jobs and I just told them it’s been a bad couple of years.

      Thankfully they gave me a chance. Aside from them trying to force me into a pension scheme (which I was the victor) it’s been a good experience so far. they had me do a customer service test other week, 100%. Boom.

      1. Funny that you mentioned the Shy thing, as I’ve mentioned here and there in my Late Teens to early Twenties, I joined a Community Theater Group with my Brother, per his persuasion, and that’s when some of the Shyness seemed to break away… At least enough to be Friendly with people, and I feel that played a big part in why I took the Sales Job… Fortunately it was Inside Sales, so I didn’t have to actually go out there and shake hands, ha… Although towards the end of my Career there I did fly to El Paso Texas to see a potential Large Client, that did pan out… And I did fly to New Orleans for a Product Convention, which was awesome

        DarkJade-

  2. Hey there, I’ve been working my butt off on a big contract job, fielding forum questions, and picking up calls … while my blogs starve. I’m off to cook something up for one now, but wanted you to know I’m enjoying your writing. I sure hope you aren’t going anwywhere — else that is. 😉
    Blog on!

    1. Thank you Timethief! That means a lot, it seems like you never stop, in the real world and in the WordPress realm! I enjoy your blogs too, I’ve learnt so much from “one cool site” and you’re very underappreciated. I’m going nowhere and I hope you never will too 😀

  3. Well done, Pete! I bet it must be really nice to finally feel appreciated 🙂

    I’ve recently applied for a helpdesk posistion at a computer software firm, and while it would be amazing to be asked for an interview… I’m freaking terrified! I think that after all these years ASDA has somehow unbelievably become my security blanket. I feel both warm and sickened by this thought, so it probably is time to get back into the job market! I’ve just got to think… no evening shifts and I’d actually get to sit down! BLISS!

    1. It does! It honestly does, all of my previous jobs I’ve been treated like shit, like I’m just another spoke on the wheel but here they actually leave you alone and make you feel apart of the team when they don’t.

      I was like that at that at the electronics company I worked for, it was something I knew and somewhere I was at for years so I never bothered looking for another job even though there is no career progression (Well apart from being a supervisor after three years and I only got that role because the rest of the team were retards), it wasn’t until I was given the sack for insulting the company on Facebook that I was forced to find something elsewhere, it can be scary leaving something you know, supposing you don’t like it and you can never go back to Asda? Or supposing it doesnt work out and you get the sack.

      But on the flipside, imagine it working out and it being the best thing you’ve ever done. It’s a risk but one worth taking. 🙂 And that’s basically what I work for a computer software firm, just a different job title.

    2. Markets are a bit more Cozy, as at 19 I worked at a Market, as I believe I mentioned in a Forum Thread, started as a Box Boy (Bagger), and moved to a Meat Clerk. I considered going into Produce, for it paid well, and people seemed to be particularly kind to the Guy/Girl in Produce.

      But nope, an incident with a Butcher, which I believe I also mentioned in that thread, lead me to leave the Market Business… After that I shifted into Office work, as I had taken Typing in High School, so the next 5 years were Data Entry, or Filing, or both

      Nothing wrong with feeling warm and cozy with a Market, as it’s generally more of Homey Place… Now that I think about it, after I left Sales and Pursued Film Making for a couple years, one of the Jobs to get me by was at this Awesome Health Food Market, back to coziness well I worked on Career, lol

      DarkJade-

  4. Great job. I have a new story that came out today that you might want to see. If you don’t mind, bring darkjade68 and Anna with you.

  5. Really well done! I bet you’re gonna be one of the best, if not the best, employees begging for extra work and being able to learn so quickly! Good luck with that! 😉

Leave a Reply

