No Pain, No Gain

Thought I’d keep you all updated on how I’m getting on with the gyming, I had a week off when I smashed open my head on that damn sign and then a few more days off when I got raped by that psychopathic doctor but now I’m back into the full swing of things, little did I know one of my clique goes to the gym, Ray’s been going since March, never even told me! Or he did and I just forgot but recently I’ve been going with him and as he’s slimmer and buffer than I am I’ve been doing what he’s doing.

Obviously he’s stronger than I am because he’s more in shape and comes regularly (I can still beat him in an arm wrestle though so that’s why I’m the top dog). Went down on my own Tuesday and Wednesday, worked on my cardio mostly then did a few weights, Thursday I met Ray at the gym, didn’t do much cardio as I over did it the past couple of days and my problematic left knee started acting up so pretty much did weights. Worked on the back and biceps Thursday, had Friday off because my arms were dead, it wasn’t so painful that I couldn’t bend my arms like last time but it was still pretty achy, but it felt good because you know your arms are working.

Pushing myself to the point where I just can’t do it anymore, if you get out that one extra rep you know you can’t do without REALLY trying then you know you’re building some muscle to those bad boys. After we were done on the weights we went for a swim, I don’t like walking around in just shorts in public really, I try my hardest to breath in so people don’t think I’m as fat as I actually am hah. As do all men I suspect. After the swim in was sauna time where we had a 15 minute sweating contest, one which I think ended in a draw.

Then to top it off we had a 20 minute chill in the jacuzzi, not really working out anything there apart from your eyes as you watch the hot ladies get their swim on.

Friday I had the day off, it was pretty boring at work and I wasn’t in the mood to go to the gym, plus arms hurt, my knee hurt, I thought I’d chill, well, that and the internet was down yesterday and as I’ve watched everything I usually watch there was nothing to do so I caught up on some lost sleep and fell asleep around 9, woke up at 10 this morning… 13 hours!!

Two years ago, when I was able to throw this over my head with ease.

My body hurt a bit more than it did Friday but after spending the day watching US X Factor, which is so shit especially compared to the UK one I hit the gym at around 5pm.

Ray had worked on his chest and triceps yesterday so wanted to do biceps and back again, I couldn’t do my biceps as they were still dead so I did the triceps and chest. Did pretty well, no doubt I’ll be in a mess afterwards but I’d forgotten the good feeling you get after going to the gym. Knowing that your muscles do actually exist. After an hour on the weights and a bit of cardio I found out they had a punching bag there! OH YES! I definitely gave that a whirl, nothing better than punching your frustration out on something!

We headed home tonight and made plans to go out later, I like going to the gym with someone else more than alone because you don’t feel so much of an idiot so it’s good I have a gym buddy hah.

All I need to do is find a good diet to help with the weight loss, I rarely eat, I eat once a day and that’s about it but that doesn’t seem to help. Not to mention the low metabolism!

As I said, work on Friday was pretty boring, I got an e-mail asking me to find a good photo for them to use on my security pass, as I’ve been using a visitors one since I joined, I gave them a couple of examples but they weren’t into it, damn shame because they’d have looked sick on a security pass! Accidentally sent the photos to human resources aswell, something they won’t be amused with.

They didn’t reply but I could sense their disappointment, I looked at every single photo of me on Facebook and… well, I don’t take serious photos so I’m probably going to have to have one taken at work.

And that’s pretty much all I’ve done this weekend, I hope you all have an awesome one too!

Pass Photo Suggestion One
Suggestion Two
Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

19 thoughts on “No Pain, No Gain”

  1. I found this post especially humorous, not sure why. Perhaps the photo of you in sexy lingerie did it. 🙂
    Proud of you for working out, I know it’s not easy but you’ll get there. One piece of advice, if you don’t mind – if you’re only eating once you’re not going to get the results you want. You’re actually working against yourself that way. You MUST eat a good breakfast within 30 minutes of waking up. Then, you should eat small meals about every 2-3 hours, with a small healthy meal at night. This will get you the best results.

    Thanks for reposting the shaving cream pic, I love that one! Too bad they won’t put that on your pass.

    Cheers.

    1. I know! People keep telling me but I don’t get time for breakfast as I’m pretty much up and off to work as soon as I wake up and when I’m on my dinner I don’t really eat anything then, I need to take some sort of healthy snacks with me!

      Eating once a day isn’t good as your body isn’t able to burn off the fat, tis a pain in the arse I need to deal with.

      If I demand enough that they use that photo maybe they will 😀

  2. “All I need to do is find a good diet to help with the weight loss, I rarely eat, I eat once a day and that’s about it but that doesn’t seem to help. Not to mention the low metabolism!”

    Woah! If you eat only once daily you are putting your body into starvation mode and it begins to store more of the calories from your meal as fat. If you want to lose weight and avoid yo-yo dieting, I suggest you eat 4 frequent small meals with lots of greens and fruits every day. The frequent small balanced meals (4) will improve your metabolic rate, and you will lose weight and keep it off. Drink lots of decaffeinated green tea as it’s an antioxidant. Do not eat any processed foods and other junk snack foods. Do not drink any so-called sports drinks. Eat poultry and fish rather than red meats.

    1. I know its really bad usually I’m not hungry so I don’t eat, even though I should, Ill start buying and eating more fruit, I tend to drink water more than anything throughout the day, I prefer the white meats to red, seriously need to make some overhauls to my daily routine, especially now I had a job where they don’t care if I eat at my desk or not! Thanks for the advice! 🙂

      What does green tea taste like? =\

  3. This is so funny! Pete on a lingerie is a killer. Off to school now for an exam.. now all things I reviewed are gone. o.O

Leave a Reply

