“Can’t Find Work Because I’m Under 25” Shut Up You Time Wasting Tits

While I was driving home from work today, the wind trying to blow me into the car at the side of me on the motorway, one news article gets repeated over and over and has been for awhile now, it’s starting to grate on my fucking nerves now.

Every ten minutes it seems I’m hearing about how unemployment is on the rise for people under 25, constantly moaning how they can’t find work no matter how hard they try. My advice is, try harder. I’m constantly hearing about these people that have left school and now can’t find work and it really pisses me off when I hear the phrase, “There’s no jobs out there at the moment”.

That’s utter bullshit, this past year alone I’ve had different jobs and even though for one reason or another five of those have ended that’s not the point, the point is there are jobs out there. You’re just not looking hard enough, if you were really that desperate to work you would do the first thing that comes along.

Now I’ll admit the Job Centre is a pile of shit, not once have I ever gotten a job through them and it’s very rare I’ve ever gotten benefits money (I hate benefits anyway, to be classed as the same sort of shit stain of society that stands outside said Job Centre drinking a can of Stella.) from them too. Job agencies are the way to go, you have to keep trying, every day. When I was out of work I pretty much spent the entire day looking for work.

One of the idiots that was on the radio said he started some scheme at college that teaches them wood work and other skills, said it was hard to get up at 8am, didn’t think he could do it. Well that’s why you can’t find a job because you’re sleeping through the entire day. I had those days myself I’ll admit and I know first hand that you have less chance getting an interview for a job at 2pm than you would applying for the same job at 8am.

I have a friend, Dan. We worked together at the electronics factory, by far not the brightest bulb in the pack, left the job to go and work at a scaffolding place, got fired from there after two weeks for generally dicking around and ended up out of work for a year. Getting the odd agency job here and year then out of work again for 16 months, citing the excuse there aren’t any jobs, well that’s bollocks because I had been getting work and while I may have more charisma about me than he does, you don’t really need that in factory work, he’s just not willing to travel. Luckily he’s now found a job doing the exact same thing he was doing but for a smaller company than he was 5 years ago.

Then it said on the radio that the reason some people under 25 can’t find work is the lack of basic Maths and English skills, well how is that our fault or problem? That’s the persons problem for being a retard at school, fucking up their own future and is now expecting us to do something about it? Maybe you should have paid attention, then you’d have been able to go to college and then find somewhere real to work.

There are students that are coming out of University with degrees that are now working at McDonalds (A place that is ALWAYS hiring) and while it does make you question what the point of University was in the first place, you can’t expect to jump straight into a job in the related field you’ve trained in.

My friend Siobhan not long left University with a teaching degree and less than six months after leaving Uni, she already has a job at a school in Chesterfield. So there are exceptions and those people that tell me University is pointless are idiots.

I wish I hadn’t messed up my education and went to University sometimes, but I’m happy where I’m working at the moment and the pay I’m getting and in the long run, that’s the only thing that matters to me.

Unemployment for that age group is fastly approaching the million mark and I’m not saying there are a million jobs out there waiting to be had, by no means. But what I am saying is that there are jobs out there and you have to be willing enough to reach out and grab one.

This is one of the reasons why some people complain about immigration, don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate foreign people, I’m not xenophobic, but it’s fact that if you let in thousands of foreigners who then instantly find work, then that’s thousands of jobs that are out of British hands, who aren’t able to leave the country to find somewhere else to work. But then again think of it this way, if the foreign people of this country can find work, then it’s something YOU are doing wrong.

That whole, “Coming over here, taking our jobs.” thing gets on my nerves, because they’re not your jobs are they, because all you do is sit at home, complaining that you can’t find work and it makes me sick that my taxes pay for you to sit on your fat arses watching Jeremy fucking Kyle.

Outbound sales, there’s always jobs going for that, if there aren’t any jobs about then why are websites like jobseekers.direct.gov.uk, TotalJobs, JobsToday and various other ones always packed with them?

Stop whining on the radio, stop whining on the streets, get on the internet, get buying newspapers, get back to school if anything you uneducated pricks and find a fucking job.

What is the country doing to try and help the people that are over 25? Where the unemployment figure is much higher? Where they have families? Why are we suddenly only bothered about the young?

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

10 thoughts on ““Can’t Find Work Because I’m Under 25” Shut Up You Time Wasting Tits”

  1. So true. I know it’s hard for some people, but a shit job is a job all the same. I was walking through town the other day and was actually suprised by the amount of shops taking on seasonals.

    I’m a graduate from the University of Leicester with a 2:1 in History. Do I really want to be wasting my time at ASDA? No. Do I do it anyway? Yes. At the moment, you have to take what you can get, and the majority of people complaining about not being able to find work are those (as you rightly say) that sit around and just complain that ‘there’s no jobs, maaaayte’.

    I have friends that desperatly need work and are desperatly looking, and I have those that ‘need a job ‘cus I’m sooo boooored’ but ‘didn’t turn up to the first shift ‘cus I was, like, tired’.

    And I honestly don’t believe that ‘foreigners’ are taking our jobs either. Quite to the contrary; I like to believe that we should live in a free world where lands aren’t owned by certain nationalities. Boundaries are purely fictitious and shouldn’t restrict where we want to live, or work. But for those who always take the ‘they’re taking our jobs’ posistion are infact the ones that do sit at home, claiming money off the government, and complaining.

    Hmm. Suddenly I have the urge to start singing, ‘We are the angry mob, we read the papers every day…’ – la la la!

    Oh, and is this a bad time to mention I was once in the audience on Jeremy Kyle? 😄

    1. Hah if I was given the chance to be in the audience of Jezza I’d probably do it too, just so I could jump the stage and knife him, I hate him, showcasing these freaks of society. If I have a problem with someone the LAST thing I do is go, “Right I’m taking you on Jeremy Kyle!”

      Agh that whole show and other shit like Trash, Kilroy, Mary Povich etc makes me angry.

  2. Great post! Its the same over here, bunch of people blaming a lack of jobs instead of their lack of motivation. Sure, like you said, its not easy but neither is it impossible to find work.

    I should have read this earlier, ’cause now I’ll be going to bed ranting about lazy assholes!

    1. It made me laugh this morning driving to work, apparently all these under 25s are working part time jobs now!! There’s more under 25s working part time jobs than ever, well it’s not impossible to find work then is it! A lot different from yesterdays stance of EVERYONE IS UNEMPLOYED! Who makes up this shit.

  3. It is just a lack of motivation. When I was out trying to get a job, I spent my free time writing all that I could so that maybe, I could get a job writing when I got done with a not-writing, easier to get job. It’s working out.

  4. So true!!! I had a work placement person who used to watch ‘Eastenders’ on the internet during her work hours 😀 bless…

  5. It’s very similar in Russia. Many youngsters just don’t really want to work because at the beginning you have to work your ass off to earn some good money and just be noticed, promoted – whatever. One of my friends has had about three jobs in the past two years and she’s not even 25 yet. So, I agree, Pete – everything depends on us 🙂

    1. In the past two years I’ve probably had 8 jobs, 7 of which for whatever reason haven’t worked out but it proves that there aren’t a lack of jobs in England.

Leave a Reply

