Sleepless In Chesterfield

This weekend has been pretty awesome to be honest, it’s not often I have a good weekend, I’ll have a good day or I’ll waste it doing nothing but this weekend has been pretty exceptional. This whole week has been quite good in fact, aside from the spineless prick at work trying to get me in trouble at every turn, now the other person that started with me is leaving next week to go and work for HSBC, it’s only solidifying my place in the company because they can’t afford to lose both of us. I’ve never been more untouchable.

Tuesday I saw my brother and his new wife for the first time since they came back from honeymoon, I took them and my girlfriend out and treated them to a meal at TGI Friday’s, I love TGI’s, the boneless wings are amazing and the burgers, oh my God! They brought me back a gift, something I hinted at and they got me exactly what I wanted, I wanted a Pittsburgh Steelers football jersey. I love football jerseys, my parents went to Las Vegas last year and brought me back a San Diego Chargers jersey. My bro also shaved my head before we went out because it was looking pretty shit and now you can really see my scar!

I think I shall start a collection actually, I don’t really watch American Football but I am a sucker for American sports wear! Paid for dinner then I treated them to the cinema, we watched Johnny English 2, I haven’t seen Rowan Atkinson in a role for so long but my God he hasn’t missed a step, I love that guy, he is most definitely one of my favourite actors of all time.

Just everything he does is awesome, whether it’s Johnny English, Black Adder (That starred House’s Hugh Laurie) or Mr. Bean, he is so versatile it’s unreal.

Speaking of versatile, Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge gave me my fifth Versatile Blogger Award, well, she gave me two! For this piece of awesomeness and the modestly amazing story Twist of Hate! Thanks Zo!!

Spent quite a pretty penny too be honest but now I have a more stable job I’m not worried about my bank account anymore. I don’t have to watch every single penny coming out because I know it’ll eventually get back in the green, I may have to spend less time on the internet at work and more time learning the business and the company and everything else we do just so it’s not just the manager that thinks I’m unreplaceable.

Friday I finished work, did nothing for the last three hours of the day, didn’t log one e-mail, didn’t take one phone call, it was dead. Afterwards I got home and around 7:40pm I ordered this awesome laptop, it was funny because even though I’m an adult and I’m 26, it was like I almost still seeked permission from my dad to buy such a thing, he gave me the third degree of why I needed one but it was more of a want than a need, I love having a laptop, I was given one for free end of last year to take to France with me, it didn’t work but my dad being amazing with computers fixed it up, when I got back from France though I had to give it back, I wasn’t happy about it.

I love being laid in bed on the internet, I love being in bed like I am now and writing this blog, this is a big reason of why I wanted one, to continue my blogs with ease. I love WordPress, I love the community and whenever my Gmail notifier goes off I hope it’s a comment on one of my posts rather than some dick putting something on my Facebook wall.

So I ordered the laptop then I went out around Chesterfield with some friends, had a great night, I haven’t seen them for awhile due to money problems so it was good to catchup.

Saturday my laptop arrived around half 7 in the morning, I didn’t go to bed til four so I wasn’t bothered until about 12pm when I woke up properly, I spent most of the day getting it how I wanted, putting on the programs I need, bookmarking the sites I visit on Firefox and now it’s perfect.

I was going to get a netbook, something small and compact but I want something I can watch videos on the move, something that displayed internet pages correctly, but not overly expensive. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love a laptop that looks fucking ace that costs around £1,500 but I’d never use it to its full capacity, I could afford around 300-350, so I bought a Fujitsu AH530 Lifebook.

It has a faster processer than my desktop, which is pretty basic to be honest, it’s not great, it’s not really fast. The base unit cost about the same as the laptop did. After spending the day playing with this I went to my girlfriends house for a bit, had some dinner, watched some X Factor (I know, I know, but I can’t help but watch!), then some more of my friends were out around Chesterfield! They had a last minute decision to go out and dropped me a text inviting me out, my girlfriend was booting me out at 11pm anyway because she had work Sunday morning, so I headed out and had a couple of drinks, I wasn’t over the limit though, my friends Jake and Ashleigh asked if I’d drive them to Sheffield for £20, they’d pay the same in a taxi but thought I’d like the money (which I would). Chesterfield has changed so much now pub-wise, it’s just not the same place it was when I used to go regularly 6 years ago, they’re trying to make it posh but the only people that go in there are dirty chavs that need to die!

So I drove my friends to Sheffield at around 3am, dropped them off and then headed back to Chesterfield, it’s only a 20 minute drive each way, coming back from Sheffield I had a police car following me for ages, I fucking hate that because I knew he was looking for a reason to pull me over and sure enough he did, for doing 35mph in a 30!

Me and Jake a bit sweaty in the club

He probably thought I was drink driving, but I was under the limit so I wasn’t worried, he came over asked me my name, told me I was going a bit quick, said he doesn’t mine when it’s an open road like the one he pulled me over on but I was going a bit quick through some tight roads, had he not been following me I’d have been going a lot quicker and already been home. He asked me if I had a drink, I lied and said no, because if you say yes and you’re under the limit, well, that’s just stupid. I told him we were out in Chesterfield and I just dropped my friends off in Sheffield, I don’t drive around Sheffield that often so I didn’t know the road was a 30, little did he know I work in Sheffield… He said he’d give me a breathalizer and let me get on my way, no fine or anything.

Walked off, talked on his radio, came back and said he was happy to let me go without doing a breathalizer, we exchanged pleasantries, he turned around then I sped off at 70mph. Sucker. Strange that all he did was talk on the radio then let me go, someone on the other end must have told him I was ‘Ard Pete and he proceeded to shit himself.

Little did the police officer know I've been drinking his Mumm.

I got home, watched some television until around 5am then woke up at 2pm Sunday afternoon, hense why I’m awake at 3am. I don’t know if there’s any point in having any sleep now as I have to be up in four hours and I have blog ideas floating around in my head which always keeps me awake! Sunday was basically a write off, I’ve done nothing, didn’t get dressed, barely got out of bed, been watching a tv show called Homeland which is pretty ace, X Factor USA and UK and pretty much done nothing!

So all in all a fantastic weekend, next weekend of course I’m going to Wales, which I can’t WAIT for, even the drive down with me and my friend Will will be pretty awesome, despite the lateness of arrival at least I have next Monday off.

Hope you’ve all had a good weekend too!!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

7 thoughts on “Sleepless In Chesterfield”

  1. Hey Pete! Firdt, You’re welcome!
    Second, wow that scar is way bigger than I expected. Nice addition to the rest, I’m sure. I have a lot of scars for a girl, I guess. Everytime I got a new one my mom would say “they add character”. I suppose she’s right. 🙂
    I watch Homeland too. Matter of fact it’s on tonight and I record it along with Dexter – Sunday night is my favorite tv night. 🙂 Just did the grocery bit and am going to make a Hungarian soup that you’ll probably read about! 😀
    Glad works good again. Didn’t like hearing you had quite a struggle. You’ve done well 🙂
    Have a good week!
    Cheers.

    1. I have the odd scar in places, one of my arm from putting it through a phone box glass door about ten years ago (not clever), one of my wrist from a random injury at work in France, one of my thumb from somewhere I can’t remember haha. Women love a scar.

      I stopped watching Dexter mid way through season 3, waiting to get some more cash then they’re next on my to by list. No doubt I’ll keep you updated on how work is going this week *sigh* hah.

  2. Oh yea… I wanted to tell you that is one of my most favorite hated teams AND PLAYER. And, I watched them beat my poor AZ Cardinals today.
    Grrrrrrrrrrr.
    But do like that you like American football jerseys. That’s kinda cool.

  3. Firstly: TGIs is AWESOME. Their cocktails are amazing, the food is amazing. I’d live there if I could but somehow they always seem to find me after a few days, hiding underneath the tables and nibbling on the feet of their customers.

    Atkinson is an absolute legend. I love Mr Bean and Blackadder- I never quite got into Johnny English, but on your recommendation, I might have to give it a go!

    And YAY LAPTOP! My laptop absolutely hates me but I don’t think I could go through the trauma of having to transfer all my files onto a new one. I’ll just have to wait until it completely dies, weep for a few days, and then transfer everything then. Fun times ahead, my friend, fun times ahead.

  4. What a busy weekend you’ve had!
    Congrats with the new laptop! And with the jersey 🙂
    Sound really like an amazing weekend and I’m glad you enjoyed it.
    Waaaalesss!! This place is among my dream destinations for sure and I’m actually planning to visit it some day.

    1. Thank you 😀

      The place I’m going is called Abersoch, it hasn’t really got that many Welsh people there I don’t think, or they don’t have thick Welsh accents. But it’s a pretty badass place, I’ll be sure to get loads of photos 😀

Leave a Reply

