Not Alone

An e-mail I received first thing this morning…

My dear Peter,

I thank you enormously for your efforts so far, and lament the fact that my password seems to be un-cooperative to say the least. Perhaps a typing error is to blame, curse these sausage fingers! If you would re-set my password I would be eternally grateful, of course I realise I am too late for it to be done today, but if you could at your earliest convinience… Well let me just say Peter, that would be just peachy!

Yours always Morgan.

P.S. This is not meant in a sarcastic way, I once worked in a call centre and have since tryed to break the monotomy of official correspondance!

Did brighten up my morning! Anyway…

The short week at work is now over with, even though it was only four days I’m glad it’s done with as now I have a whole week off work to use up the rest of my holidays before the end of the year.

It’s good to know that I’m not the only one that seems to get in trouble at work for trivial things, my team-mate Mark certainly was put through his paces this week, he had his review which was far from stellar, saying that he’s not doing his work properly in a nut shell, though he’s one of the people on the team I respect the most.

He gets in trouble because he opens his mouth about Craig (The prick Service Desk Consultant that keeps getting me into trouble) whenever Craig puts a foot wrong, but because Craig is so far up the arse of so many people he rarely gets in trouble from what I see.

Mark is “Junior Consultant” a made up title I suppose as he’s on the same money as an assistant, though because of his vast knowledge of his job role he was given this title, but because of the horrible review that he sent me he was demoted to back to Assistant. That was on the Monday while I was still in Wales, he apparently said nothing during his entire review, “threw his review sheet across the table and walked out saying ‘I’ll e-mail you'”. Pretty impressive but a total lie, the management seem to not like him very much and I don’t know why.

Considering the poor amount of work Craig seems to accomplish on a daily basis, the man is constantly making personal calls and he’s given special dispensation just because he’s buying a house… really?! Mark never makes personal calls, he sits there in silence all day, he comes in, does his work and goes home, unless you provoke him then he will e-mail his grievances. So Mark e-mailed back his response to his review and after careful consideration he was given back the title of Junior Consultant from the manager and the team leader, basically because they couldn’t respond to what he wrote as they knew he was right so they took the easy way out.

So Tuesday we get an e-mail updating us on his job role, then Wednesday morning he e-mails them and says that after careful consideration of his own he’s refusing the promotion and wants to stay as assistant (he plans to leave in March anyway), then the manager e-mails him back saying he’s not able to be an assistant as HR says he “knows too much” which in his words was “like some FBI shit”.

Then the penny dropped, I said to him to think of it like this, the manager and the team leader both tried to demote him and HR have basically gone “no, no, no, no, he’s staying where he is.” then they’ve passed it off as their idea to keep him there. Very sneaky!

Mark and I have bonded over the past couple of weeks over our hatred of Craig, Mark then tried to pass on his duties to Craig during lunch time via Skype (the way we communicate to save shouting over the office in case anyone is on a call), Craig then dodging responsibilities decided to ignore Mark, I picked up his duties, suddenly an e-mail went round the office from the manager telling us to pass on duties face to face to avoid confusion, there was no confusion, he was dodging responsibilities, which Mark told her but she was covering his back yet again.

Mark also said there’s a massive problem within the team with how people are treated differently to others, just because you have the title of consultant doesn’t mean you get to get away with more stuff, I passed on my stuff to Craig yesterday and he said he wouldn’t know what to do if an e-mail came through, but he’s a consultant which means he should know everything?!

I said to my manager in six months I’ll be better than he is, she replied with “You’re already better than he is” and that’s saying a lot considering I’ve only been there two months. With Mark taking the brunt of the punishment I’ve been given the week off it seems, Craig knows that I am going to surpass him, my manager knows how much of an asset I am to the team and the team leader… well, she just thinks whatever Craig tells her to think.

So exhausting to say I rarely do anything all day! The office politics is vast! I am a master of the game though, that’s why I became a supervisor in the factory I worked in despite the fact the upper management absolutely hated my guts. I will lay in wait, my probation ends next month and providing they don’t extend it which is what they always seem to do from what I am told, I shall soon be the man on that team. My manager loves me after all.

So glad I have the full week off, I haven’t had a week off in such a long time, I know I’ve been out of work for weeks at a time earlier in the year, but that’s not really time off, I’d either be spending my days searching for work or sat around worried about how I haven’t got a job and where my next pay check was coming from.

This time is a chance for me to utterly relax! Monday and Tuesday I’ll mostly be sitting around doing nothing, most probably start working on the Twist of Hate story as I’ve been having a bit of a break with that recently, Wednesday through Friday I’ll be taking my girlfriend to Bath, a decision made after seeing a post Kate did on her blog, then Saturday and Sunday I don’t know what I have planned.

This weekend I shall be going to my brother’s house for bonfire night, spot of food and alcohol is on the cards me thinks, Sunday I’m going Karting with my mate Phil and a few other guys, this should be fun, the only other time I went karting was while I was taking my driving lessons, I kept pressing the brake and the accelerator at the same time which fucked up the clutch so I was told off for that so I stopped using the brake, then one of my pals clipped the back of my car at high-speed, I slammed on the accelerator thinking it was the brake and slammed full speed into the tire wall, the next thing I know I’m sat on the tire of the car still holding the steering wheel which I’ve ripped out-of-place and my legs are still inside the car, my ankle fractured in 6 places where it was pinned.

That was pretty much the end of my karting career so I can’t wait to see how I go now I’m older, more experienced as a driver and more of a crazy son of a bitch.

Also the reasoning for the Not Alone title is I’m not the only one that’s been in the wars body-wise recently, last week my brother seemed to acquire a spinal cyst which I can imagine is extremely painful, he said he was in constant agony, I told him to sit down as that relieves pressure on the back, that seemed to help him, then he took some antibiotics and he’s now on the mend.

A cyst is something I have never had but I know other people who have had them so I’m glad he’s as ‘Ard as me and was able to power through it! I shall get him extremely drunk tomorrow to make up for the lost time!

I shall try to get some photo’s up from karting if possible, if it’s not possible, I’ll just grace you with how I came in last place, but killed everyone else in the process, boom!

Have a good one everyone!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

2 thoughts on “Not Alone”

  1. Oh shit… Most of that post is why I’m done with corporate America. No more office politics and a**hole bosses!!! You seem to deal fine, tho, like you said. 😉
    Haven’t checked out your videos yet from Wales, will do that tonight 🙂
    And wow, really? A Kart accident? Shattered ankle? You really are ‘Ard 🙂

    1. I think certain people are realising that Im not a pushover and have decided to leave me alone 🙂

      Not only a broken ankle, but I finished the race then went to McDonalds 😀

Leave a Reply

