Karting Is Not My Thing…

I tried to break as many of these rules as possible.

Well the weekend is over and my week have has begun, today I am going to do absolutely nothing! And I mean straight up nothing, it’s currently 14:16 and I haven’t been out of bed yet!

Usually I’d be half way through work by now, which reminds me, I need to go on Skype and abuse my work colleagues! There done, I can’t help but think how quick this weekend went though, it’s not like I did nothing as well, as most weekends I usually do, Friday I went round to my girlfriends house for tea, then gave her what for afterwards.

Saturday, I went to my brothers house and watched the fireworks everyone else in the street had bought, had a bonfire, had a few beers, it was pretty good! Then Sunday I went Go Karting!

I haven’t been karting for years and I’ve only been once before and even that time I broke my ankle so I was hoping to see what I could do this time. The one I went to the first time was an in door track where as this one was an outdoor one somewhere in Leicester. My mate Phil invited me basically to make up the numbers, because I’m pretty heavy and the rest of the guys that went are pretty skinny and shorter they didn’t think I’d have a chance.

They go karting all the time apparently, I didn’t care though, I went for the sole intention of hurting someone. As the first time it was me that was hurt, at least this track didn’t have a huge tire wall to crash into though. How did I break my ankle the first time you ask?

Well I kept pressing break and the accelerator pedals at the same time, not my fault, I just have big feet, so I got told off for using them, so I just stopped braking, going around the corners of the track of my mates came up behind me, clipped the back of my kart and rather than hitting brake I hit the accelerator and I sped full speed into the tire wall, the force sent me out of my seat, I was sat on the tire of the car with my ankle still pinned inside, my visor smashed due to hitting the steering wheel!

The marshals came running over and helped me out of the car, people were watching up above, probably people waiting for their go, they all looked worried, as I hobbled around for a few minutes I waved at them all and they started clapping! Haha! Absolutely loved that bit, the marshal said that was the most grizzly crash he’d ever seen on the track, I don’t do things in half measures though, I finished the race with a broken ankle and just basically had a drive around, then we went for McDonalds afterwards, then we went to the hospital to sort my foot out. Priorities!

So this time I was kind of nervous because I didn’t want to injure myself before going away for a few days later on this week, I was kind of excited too though.

So I got in the car and I could hear the what I assume is a lawnmower engine roar and instant I was overcome with fear, though I was first so I put that fear aside and went for it, there was no tires though just grass which was good but what if I flipped it?! That constantly ran through my head, but I just spun it so many times I did really shit on the qualifiers, then we were told how to take the corners and that’s why I was spinning, we had a 15 minute race then a break then another 15 minute race.

After everything I came in third out of the six of us that went, even beating my mate Phil who came fourth, the guy that told me I was there to make up the numbers, you won’t believe how much I mentally battered him about that on the hours journey home.

But I had more fear than I did enjoyment out of that day, must be from the first time I dunno, I’ll probably go again but I was lucky coming third, it’s definitely not my thing though, I want to do a track day so I can thrash around an Aston Martin mmm yes!

Anyway back to doing nothing, I shall be continuing my work on Twist of Hate at some point today after having some time away from it to recharge my batteries!

This week is going to go so fast I’ll be back sat at work before I know it!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

6 thoughts on “Karting Is Not My Thing…”

  1. I like it good post, wait to your girl see’s this part ” then gave her what for afterwards.”

    You should all have a night at a grey hound stadium, you can have dinner book a table at the windows, take part in 15 races, its a very good night, we have done it 3 times.

    1. I have been to the dog races before, years ago now though but I went with a bunch of people I used to work with. It was good fun, I didn’t win any of the races mind but isn’t that always the way haha.

  2. Pete, you’re so goddamned ‘ard! Even a wall of tyres weeps with fear when you come near. And then attacks you. But then further weeps with fear when you go and get a McDonalds.

    1. Not as much as my friends wept in fear when I came close to hitting them, I had been playing the psychological game all the way from Chesterfield to Leicester mwhahaha

Leave a Reply

