RuneScape – Here We Are Again

In 2001 there was a new game that was released, its name was RuneScape, I was one of the first people to sign up in January 2001 and enjoyed the game thoroughly, I played this game for many years right up until RuneScape 2 was released in 2004, it’s basically your only best free MMORPG on the internet, I can’t believe how many hours I put into this game, but with me being in college the first couple of years it was released I had plenty of free time.

Over the years more and more stuff had been added to it, more skills, more quests, more everything, I reached all I could when I completed all the tasks on the free membership, so I then forked out the money to upgrade and get more quests, I know, sad as it seems it was only £3.50 so it wasn’t that bad really.

But over time due to many factors, such as the poor quality of computer that I had, the poor internet speed, getting a job, generally getting bored of it I stopped playing and I haven’t played it for a very long time.

Every now and then I’d log into my account just to see what was going on, but that’d only last a few moments then I’d be gone again, I’d say I haven’t played properly for about six years.

Then Anna mentioned it on the forums yesterday, this made me check it out again, I walked around, I killed some goblins, I ate some fish, then my interest got stronger and stronger throughout last night/this morning, I got home from a pointless dentist appointment and suddenly found myself paying for the membership fee once again, that was 8 hours ago and since then I’ve pretty much lost my entire day to RuneScape!

How could you do this to me Anna! Now I’m obsessed with RuneScape once again! So much has changed since I last played it, there are now clans, I’ve joined one but I’m open to leaving it should the opportunity arise.

I joined one clan, two of the clan people were having cyber sex via the clan chat! Really?! Is this what youth of today have to resort to when they want to get their jollies?

It’s funny how people call me a n00b (newbie to the game) when I was playing when they were just learning how to write! But I suppose the same is present in all games.

I find myself doing nothing when I finish work apart from blogging and watchin TV so why not try and get back into the game? Why not try and learn all of the new things? I shall give it a month, see if I am still addicted to it by the time December rolls around, if not then I should probably just get rid of my account and accept the fact that I have no interest in the game. But for now we shall see how it goes.

If anyone wants to add me as a friend in the game my character name is, wait for it… Ard Pete 🙂 feel free to add, we can chat while I try to increase my skill points.

Good job I now have a girlfriend otherwise I’d definitely be dying alone!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

31 thoughts on “RuneScape – Here We Are Again”

  1. It’s been forever since I’ve played Runescape. I can’t even remember my username.

    I’ve been checking out WoW these couple of days. Still can’t understand the hype about it.

    1. The thing about WoW is you’ll never be great at it, because you have a life, the best gamers in WoW are either too young to have a life or middle aged imbeciles that only cares about what the trolls are up to. I myself haven’t played it because I refuse to pay that much for a game and then continue paying a subscription fee. This is why RuneScape is the best alternative.

      1. True. I won’t be paying for Wow either. After playing so many mmorpgs in the past, I’ve always wanted what WoW was like. ehh it’s not that great. I’m waiting for Guild Wars 2

        1. There’s one game I always wanted to play and that was City of Heroes, never got the chance to play it, but from what I heard that was pretty good.

  2. I downloaded the game but could not get my head around it so its deleted.

    Download Jewel Quest Heritage its free.

    It took me about 5 – 6 months to get past the first level which contains about 70 parts, and there are 3 levels, i’m on the third level and i must get back to it.

  3. @dribblingpensioner, you don’t have to download RuneScape, you just play it for free on their website 🙂 They have a downloadable thing for you to play the game without going directly on the website (I have it) but that’s completely optional and most players just go online.

    And YAY PETE! RuneScape will eat away at your life as it does mine. If I wasn’t such a loner on the game I’d add you… but we’ll see how it goes. I’m currently trying to complete Monkey Madness. MADNESS INDEED! I’ve died so many times. But as the Lumbridge cook famously says… ‘At least you keep coming back to life’ 🙂

    Oh, and have you checked out the Grand Exchange? Literally the best feature added in recent years. There’s no more running all over the world to find a shop to sell your Runeplate bodies in anymore, like back in the good old days… you just do it on the GE. Magic!

    Also get a pet rock when you can. ‘The lowest maintenance pet you’ll ever have’. Happy RuneScape-ing!

    1. Lmao where do I get a pet rock from?! I noticed the GE, usually I just used to sell stuff outside of banks, now I have to walk further north haha. Not that I can make rune stuff though, not yet at least. 🙂

      You shall be blamed when my girlfriend leaves me for someone who goes outside more than 5 minutes a day lol!

      1. I think you get one for completeing The Fremennik Trials… or from some quest up in Relleka anyway! And literally the GE is amazing. I remember back in the day I was having to walk everywhere to sell all the crap I had in my bank… and now you just go to Varrock. Some of the older players still don’t like it, but it saves so much time. I now have 1.3 million gp through selling crap on it as things tend to sell for more than in the shops- but it’s convinient so people just always go and get stuff from it. Capitalism at its greatest! 😀

        Although I still can’t afford a party hat- spare 56 million coins, anyone?!

        Seriously though, I love RuneScape. Most people laugh at me so I’m glad you like it too! £3.50 a month is nothing compared to total internet-related happiness!

        1. 56mil?! WTF, how can anyone in the game afford that? I have 350k in my bank and that’s only because someone gave it me years ago, I have no idea how to make money in that place. I suppose learning how to craft Rune items helps haha! Should have picked up a party hat when I had the chance, maybe in 7 years time a grim reaper hat will be worth that much, I have one of those 🙂

      2. Ooh! Maybe! I lost all my early items to the tides of time… i.e. I forgot all my passwords to my accounts.

        And forgive me, a blue party hat nowadays costs: 2,100,000,000 gp. The cheapest one is the purple one and that goes for 1,400,000,000. Yeah… I might have under-exaggerated slightly… o.O

        1. My jaw has literally dropped, who has that many gold coins? Seriously that is beyond mad.

          If you remember your account names/e-mails they’re registered to you can fill in the secret questions and request for your passwords to be reset 🙂

  4. http://runescape.wikia.com/wiki/Partyhat
    ‘Surprisingly, partyhats do play a pivotal role in the RuneScape economy’

    The most expensive item I ever bought was my gnome goggles for 200k! The prices are insane, but it’s part of the game’s history I suppose. It has all these little quirks that leave you wondering wtf? 🙂

  5. Oh oh oh! Pete, have you done the Sheep Herder quest yet? It starts off all nicey nicey and then just goes all HORRIBLY DISTURBING.

    Sorry to keep bombarding you with comments… but I don’t know anyone else who plays it! 😀

    1. Haha it’s fine bombard away! I shall check…..

      I did do it! From the diary:

      “I equipped a prod to herd the diseased sheep then I used it to incinerate all four plagued sheep.
      I returned to let Councillor Halgrive know that the plagued sheep were no more and claimed my reward.”

      🙂

      1. When I did it, I’d already learned the truth about the Ardougne ‘plauge’ so when they told me to kill the sheep I was thinking, ‘At some point, someone’s gonna jump out and say “Only joking!”.

        … but no. I had to lure the sheep in to the pen, poison them and then BURN THEIR CARCASSES! The poor sheep! Another one of those wtf moments.

  6. Computer games are addictive as hell! 😀
    Good luck with it! Can’t say more as I’m not into games, so don’t know a lot about this stuff 😉

    1. I’m not really, there are certain ones that ill play but I’m not a freak that has to own every console and get the same game three times haha

  7. Used to play XBox Live for endless hours. I made friends all over the world that I still have 🙂 I wasn’t really in a clan (those guys were really good and super competitive) but I always had a game to join if I signed on. I loved it. We played Ghost Recon. I feel your concern, you could go right over the deep end if you get hooked again. 🙂 I don’t even own an XBox anymore. Shrews. I’m sure if I did my blog would be about something completely different. 😀

    1. I won’t get into my Age of Empire days… Even enemy to Belgium to visit a friend from that game…. Oh those were the days.
      I really am just a geek. 🙂 I say that proudly, by the way.

      1. Age of Empires is why I don’t have a degree lol! All we played in college was age of empires, snuck a copy on the shared folder and all of the third floor played it, that and Quake 3!!

      2. I hate when my computer corrects me and I don’t notice til it’s too late… “even enemy to Belgium…. ” I meant I EVEN WENT…to Belgium. Dumb smart phones.
        🙂

  8. I used to play Farmville. I’ve never played Runescape is it anything like Civilization? Anyway I don’t know why I’m asking as I’m still recovering from FB.

Leave a Reply

