Bath and Beyond

Sorry for the lack of posts recently, I’ve probably mentioned somewhere that I’m going away for a few days with the other half, but if I haven’t… I’ve been away for a few days with the other half. Thanks to Kate’s suggestion I decided to take us down to Bath and do all the things she did and more! The drive down was agonizing because you know me, I like to get places as soon as possible. At one point we were stuck in traffic for ages!

The one thing I wasn’t impressed with was the £5.40 I had to spend at the toll bridge on the M6! WHAT!? Are you seriously charging me to use one bloody motorway? Should have used the M1, stupid SatNav!

Bailbrook House in Bath is where we stayed, it was pretty much in the top corner of Bath, about a 40 minute walk or 10 minute drive from the city centre.

Front of the Hotel

The hotel itself was a four star hotel, because I don’t stay in shit holes, the restaurant in the hotel was one rossette which apparently means it’s well fancy and what not. Once we got in and dropped off our stuff we decided to go down to the restaurant for something to eat, the staff were well up their own arses.

The waitress seated us and got us some drinks then she said,

“Would you like some water on the table?”

To which I replied.

“I’d rather not, I prefer to eat my food with dry legs.”

Didn’t even crack a smile! Moody bitch. Anyway the food we had was expensive but it was tasty, my taste buds were satisfied but my bank balance certainly won’t be hah! Everyone else in that restaurant the guests and whatnot were also up their own arses so it wasn’t very fun having to sit there being behaved.

After dinner we went for a walk around the grounds, the place is proper nice, it used to be one person’s mansion which is crazy.

We had an early night as we were both pretty tired watched An Idiot Abroad on my laptop and decided to get breakfast in bed ordered and delivered for half 9! Sounded like a good idea at the time, the best thing about that breakfast was the crunchy nut cornflakes, the beans looked like they had been sitting for far too long, the sausages were fucking disgusting, the best wasn’t bad but the hash browns were hard?! Was not impressed, I was looking forward to it as well. Such a disappointment but never mind, what do you expect when it’s included in the room price?

We headed out about 1pm because she was pissing around with her hair and make up and whatnot for ages! I had a sneaky go on Runescape while she was getting ready, yeah I’m that sad!

The first thing I wanted to go and see was the Roman Bath’s, took us ages to find it! We passed it about five times before we realised what the hell we were doing! Anyway paid the money to get in, went in and had a walk around it’s pretty impressive too be honest, I like learning about history and how they managed to get on in life before ‘Ard Pete was even concieved in people’s mind!

The baths themselves are heated because of the geothermal energy rising up from the limestone, there was a sign that said do not touch the water… So I touched the water, it was alright, wasn’t that hot just warm, though I suppose it being autumn has something to do with it! Having a walk around the grounds we looked at other areas of the place aswell.

After that we went to the famous Pump Room, it was proper quiet in there, no one seemed to communicate, again another fancy place to eat in, had some expensive sandwiches, but they were worth the price, they were the best sandwiches ever. Our waiter looked like he was in a biker gang but had to dress up nice to work here, with his pony tailed ginger hair.

I’m sat there tapping away on my phone trying to get on to Kate’s blog to find out what the sundae’s were called, then I notice a sign that says “No Mobiles” oops!! I found out what they were called, I wanted a Pump Room Glory, it wasn’t on the menu that they gave us though so I asked and then he brought us the proper menu, sneaky bastard!

While we were waiting my girlfriend wanted to taste the water out of the fountain, so she went and got us two glasses, I forgot this bit from Kate’s review of the place, I tasted it and it was disgusting, it was real spa water, it tasted like iron, I downed it all in one though so not to look wasteful haha! Really wish I hadn’t.

YUM

Soon after that the desserts arrived, I had the Pump Room Glory, my girlfriend had the Chocolate Brownie Sundae, yeah I was impressed, they were very nice!

Afterwards we went on another trek around Bath just generally taking in the sites, such an impressive place especially when you live somewhere like Chesterfield where everything is trying to be revamped all the time, trying to make it modern, the thing that makes Chesterfield great is it’s one of the first market towns in history, so why would you want to change that?

At around half five we decided to go back to the hotel, we had pretty much seen everything. Once we had gotten back we chilled for a couple of hours, think it was the fresh air that had taken it out of us, and after all that sugar in the sundae’s I had her bouncing off the bleeding walls until she calmed down!

We decided to order room service rather than go down into the restaurant with the snotty up their own arse people. Then we played a game of “Can you have sex before room service arrives.” We failed badly, a knock at the door, the girlfriend ran into the bathroom, I threw on my jeans and t-shirt, answered the door to a pretty waitress holding a massive tray while standing there with a raging hard on! So embarressed, I made small talk, she must have known what we were doing, I felt so sorry for her though because that tray was heavy and large and she had to carry it into another block where the rooms were and up the stairs. Then she had to go back down to get the drinks and the desserts.

That morning when we had breakfast in bed, I hid under the covers while my girlfriend answered the door, that guy was at the very least 7 feet tall, extremely scary looking man, he’s one of those that if he wants to rape you, he will rape you and you will like it. It was like having lurch in the room! So the trays probably weren’t a problem for him but for that poor girl, Fiona said to invite her for a threesome. Hmm.

Anyway we had our dinner then we got busy again, then we just watched random television for the rest of the evening. Check out was at 10am the morning after (A joke I think, as it should be at least mid-day).

The morning after we checked out, the bill was considerable. But I knew it wasn’t going to be cheap which is why I didn’t go mental when I was in Wales a couple of weeks ago.

It was windy!

We decided to go and have a few more hours in the centre of the Bath to see if there was anything else we could do, we had an open top bus tour of the city, where I took many a video, videos shall be posted tomorrow most probably, they’re in the process of being uploaded now, or you can go to my YouTube channel at some point later and they’ll probably be on there already!

The open top bus tour was pretty cool actually, there was another route that took you into the countryside and you get a skyline view of the city, I wanted to go on that but we didn’t have time due to the parking running out and we didn’t know where the skyline tour picked up from, on the tour we did go on there was a guy talking about the ancient places and whatnot but I made my own commentary haha!

After the tour we jumped off and walked around a bit more, listened to a guy playing guitar, pretty sweetly too, I took a bit of a video of him playing but it doesn’t do him justice, could have sat there all day and listened to him.

But we had to get moving, we got in the car park and headed home, about five minutes into driving out of the centre of Bath I thought, Wiltshire is only an hour away from here and it’s unlikely I’ll be coming down this way again for a long time… So I went to go and see something I’ve always wanted to see, one of the true great wonders of Britain.

Stonehenge!

The Hanging Stones!!

I know it’s only a few rocks dumped in the middle of a field but it’s so much more impressive than that, this was constructed before there were building tools, before any such thing as a crane had even been considered being invented so how the hell did they get the large stones on the top of the other 18 foot high stones?

It’s been something that has been debated for a long time, it was created by a civilization that left no written history. Can’t touch it because it’s roped off, which is a bit shit but I suppose if everyone could touch it you’d never get a good photo of it, I think we were the only people around that actually spoke English. Everyone else in England must had seen it already! People that were seeing it were Spanish, German, Chinese, Japanese, Asian, French, it felt like standing at a United Nations meeting! It was cool though I was taking group photo’s for people that were struggling taking one at arms length.

If you ever do get a chance to see it, go and see it, it’s only a few stones in a field yes but it’s so impressive to see up close.

Funny how it was £7.50 for adults to go and see it a woman said if I joined English Heritage I’d get the entrance fee back, I asked how much it was to join, £40, errr no, I’ll stick with the entrance fee thanks!

After we were done looking at Stonehenge we then finally went home for real this time, which took a good four hours, missed the M6 though which meant no toll charges! Happy happy days!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “Bath and Beyond”

  1. Looks like a beautiful country all the way round. Great pictures for sure. I envy you. We usually go up North to a cabin and stay in the woods a couple times a year but went with his brothers family last time South for the boys golf weekend. As much as I like to watch golf, I don’t like sharing my vacations, so it left me itching for time away. Soon I hope. 🙂
    Stonehenge looks impressive, I hope to see it someday too. What are some of the other things you think one MUST really see in England?
    Glad your back 🙂

    1. Definitely Bath and Stonehenge, also give London a try, I don’t particularly like London as its pretty hectic but I would like to see Big Ben and Buckingham Palace, the London Eye too, only been twice to London, once with school to see the Millennium Dome and again last year to see Brand New at Wembley Arena.

      Blackpool and Skeg Ness if you want out of date cheap and tacky experiences haha and of course Alton Towers theme park!

      I’m not sure where else I shall have to have a good think, this country is filled with towns and cities like Bath though so its easy to go somewhere for relaxation!

  2. Bath looks awesome! I’m glad you had a good time. I’ve never been to Stonehenge either… I think it’s one of those things where you know it’s in your country, but you never get round to visiting it, although you always go to visit landmarks in other countries.

    Around the time Stonehenge was being made, so were the pyraminds being made in Egypt. It just makes our stone-based achievement pale in comparison a little… but I’d still like to go! Thinking about it, it would be really interesting to understand our history a little bit more. We’re kind of surrounded by it but don’t even realise. History is indeed a wonderful thing. And I’m not just saying that because of my history degree bias 😉

    Oh, and awesome photos. You might have been away for a few days, but you definitely came back with a good ‘un!

    1. Thank you 🙂 its definitely worth seeing but only if you’re near that way, I wouldn’t travel the 3h30m just to see that for 20 mins but if you’re ever near Wits gerrit seen!!

Leave a Reply

