Change of the Tides

As I’ve stated in the past I am currently in a psychological war with one of the people I work with, he runs to the team leader when he has a problem with me rather than telling me himself, I run to the manager when I have a problem with him. Things have settled recently, especially since improving skills at work and going on holiday for a week.

He’s even started making me cups of tea again! I’m not the only person that’s been having problems with him though as my managers manager had to have a meeting with him and the other guy on our team about the problems they’ve been having, telling them they need to get on for the good of the team, but of course they’ve decided to take the “Let’s Ignore We Exist” approach.

I think he started to realise though that the manager liked me quite a lot and that I was her new golden boy on the team, well today all that has changed.

I knew today was going to be a bad day, I could feel it in my waters, especially considering I was late by half an hour because I overlaid in bed this morning, I should have stayed in bed and pretended the world didn’t exist, because today was the day that my manager was forced to take redundancy. I don’t know why exactly, those details are never released to people so low on the corporate ladder, apparently her managers manager, the top person in the area is wanting to restructure the Service Desk, he had discussions with my manager about changes to her job role and for what ever reason she didn’t like them.

Obviously it’s going to take a lot for anyone to willingly leave a company they’re the manager of so I know it couldn’t have been a good change, but he’s a tough man that big boss man and he basically said you can have it this way or leave, so after 12 and a half years service to this company she has opted to leave.

12 and a half years! The longest job I’ve ever had so far was 4 years. But she’s gone as of the end of today and that makes the team leader the new person in charge. But I’m upset about it for many reasons:

1) She’s the best manager I’ve probably ever had and I’ve had a lot of managers in my short time, I know what makes a good manager and she definitely was at the top of my list.
2) I’m no longer anybody’s golden boy, I’m just another member of the team, I know, I know, but I’ve never been anyone’s golden boy before.
3) I no longer have anyone to forward my complaints to that isn’t biased, I like my team leader I do, but I think her professional relationship with the prick in question gets in the way of matters and there is a massive dispute on this team about the way certain people are treated.

Not only that the Director of IT and Systems has also said further plans for re-structuring of the Service Desk will be announced in due course. Who knows what this will mean, I’m pretty happy the way things are at the moment so it can’t be a good thing, I hate change and within the space of a day there has been a massive change.

All that arse kissing for nothing! My probation ends next month, it was almost guaranteed I’d be staying on, now this has thrown that theory into chaos.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Change of the Tides”

  1. Having to deal with unreasonable people at your place of employment sucks! It just be so much nicer if everybody played nice for a change.

    Anyway been there, done that and am still able to buy food enough to tell my story.

    In my profession, which is teaching English 101 and Creative Writing at teh freshman level, student evals can make or break your career. This is the only way we are evaluated as educators, mind you. ..as sitting ducks on a pond waiting for the first angry student to take a cheap shot at you for making them work to earn their grades. So anyway, mine plummeted a couple of semesters ago when I got sick and came to work anyway, which made me a space cadet. . .

    As a result, the conservative ones got together and complained that I assigned too much homework. . .imagine that. . . conservatives not wanting to do their homework including essays on equal rights and such. . .and then blaming you for not earning A’s.

    I was so furious with the lying and deception, I decided to recommend remedial assistance for them instead of my knee jerk response which was to blow a gasket. ..which went over like a lead albaross flying with a broken wing. . . as. . .

    they were insulted at the suggestion of hard work and further study to improve their grades. ..
    and mutinies ensued

    and because we live in an America that rewards student complaining over student learning, I lost my senior adjunct status.

    So now my hours have been cut back. ..and strangely enough I’m OK with it. (after a massive depression over the unfairness of higher education and the exploitation of adjunct instructors who work sans sick days, healthcare, fair wages. . ) I eat a lot of very simple meals. .. I’ve parked my car to take the bus. ..I’m poor but principled, and well, happy.

    1. I know I’ve dealt with worse so I’m holding my own so far lol, I can’t imagine teaching, if I was in a position of yours is definitely be getting fired, not for doing my job badly but for beating some sense into these idiots. I fear the future!

      1. Thanks, Pete. It’s an epidemic. . .happening in every profession across the board. It’s this crazy system left over from the days of monarchs and subordinates. I mean the same oppression with a different label. :OK it’s better if you all fight each other so you won’t see what I, the rich guy at the top is doing. ..never mind building community. Communities just band together and kill the king.”

        Anyway, the students are a product of their times, some are motivated to study, but most aren’t. I have been trying hard to reach them this semester with simplified assignments and more hands on instruction. This is a new generation with a lot of distractions and bad ideology being forced on them. ..so you know, I have to honor that too. Things are going better now and my evals were nothing short of stellar last summer after I’d made the changes. So when I accepted the fact that the system wasn’t going to change and I’d have to adapt to it somehow. ..half-way is better than the highway for me anyway.

        Something my colleagues did for me while I was going through this was sharing their own stories and it helped a lot to know I wasn’t alone. That other people had to deal with it too. “Don’t let the bastards get you down,” they kept saying, “just follow your own heart.” Wise words and I’m saying them to you too. 😉

        1. Haha yes! “Don’t let the bastards get you down” I certainly shan’t, I’ve obviously grown as a person because I’ve learnt to bite my tongue a lot more these days!

  2. It sucks losing your favorite co-worker/supervisor. I know! It changes your outlook at your entire day, but you’ll start seeing things differently now and very often something good pops into view. Who knows what? You’ll be fine and someone’s golden boy in no time! 😀

  3. Aw, sorry to hear that Pete. I hate change too. It’s better to know where you are than get thrown into chaos- big fish in a small pond and all that whatnot. Must have been pretty hard for her to choose redundancy too- it’s the whole ‘boiled frog’ theory. The longer you stay, the harder it hurts.

    But don’t worry Pete- you’re our Golden Boy! Very rarely does a day go by when I don’t check your blog. I consider you a friend and you have a whole collection of readers who’ve loved you enough to subscribe. You’re one of the best and I don’t say that lightly… the place just wouldn’t be the same without you! It might not mean much, but even if you have to start at the bottom at work again, you’re always on top here 🙂

    1. Awh! 😀 you’ve put a very big smile on my face! That’s one of the nicest things anyone has said to me, you are definitely a friend of mine and you give me the motivation to keep on blogging! I’m only as good as the subscribers that read this shizzle 🙂

      I suppose what worries me the most is after 13 years she’d probably seen more change than anyone, so whatever these changes were that her boss wanted to make it was enough to make her want to leave and apparently there’s more changes coming so I doubt I’ll like them very much! So long as they don’t get rid of me, I’ll just go with the flow.

  4. The Company I’ve mentioned that I was at 8 1/2 years was at the top of it’s game when I left, and I and many others were doing quite well… I left because I had hit 30, and had never pursued any of my Dreams, which at the time was Film Making

    Which of course left my Dad and his Girlfriend hinting for the next 5 years that I should try to go back… Not because I needed the money, but because I made good money while I was there

    I have no regrets…

    The reason I speak of it is some 6 years after I left I ran into the International Sales Director, which was kind of a dumb title, as basically he was the Manager of the Inside Sales Force, nothing International about it, ha… As we had a whole other Division that dealt with out of Country Sales.

    Anyway, he was a Phenomenal Sales Rep who after several years became the Inside Sales Manager, and by the time I left he was doing quite well… Big House, Porsche, Self Destructive Poker-Holic, the works, lol

    And when I ran into him, he told me that the Company was sold, and all the Sales Reps (which mostly likely would have included me), had been fired, and the Managers were made into Sales Reps.

    Bottom Line, he probably dropped from somewhere in the neighborhood of 250k to 350k a year, to 50k or so I’d imagine

    Point being, things change, even with the Greatest of Companies, and trust me when I say, this was a Great Company

    Best I had ever worked for

    The one thing that never goes anywhere I have to tell you is your Experience… And now that you’ve Experienced being Greatly Appreciated, you are forever Changed…

    I was voted Employee of the Month, which then turned into Employee of the year at that Company, and not only did it go onto all of my Future Resume’s, more than that, I always felt Better and Stronger, and More Confident from that moment on

    And to be honest with you, that added Confidence like you’ve Experienced not only will be with you in making future decisions about what you’re willing, and not willing to deal with, but it will also be with you in anything that you Pursue…

    My Successes at that Company probably account for 80% of my Confidence in deciding to Pursue Film Making

    Not to be Cliche’, but the Term that Sticks with me, and for the most part has been true, is when a Door Close, a Window Opens… F$#@@! that particular Company, their loss would be someon elses gain if it didn’t work out, and at some point, it will probably be your gain more than anyone else…

    Nuff Said, good luck with the new Dinamics, watch the Door, and Keep an Eye Wide Open for that Window

    DarkJade-

    1. Certainly backs to the wall time! The reason I’ve never been the golden boy before is because I’ve never been one to follow managements rule, I used to be a union rep so if I see anything that I don’t agree with I’ll fight it and of course that’s going to put you out of favour with management. This time I’ve been biting me tongue and shall continue to attempt to do so.

Leave a Reply

