The Smoking Ban

So on the news recently there’s been a lot of talk of trying to ban smoking in cars, the thought process of this is that coupled with the fumes cars produce it’s “23% more dangerous” than it usually is. Where they even get this number from is beyond my thought process, do they just select the most unlucky number in the universe and apply it to anything they want?

I can tell you one thing for certain, this number is bullshit. It’s made up, there’s no possible way they can put such an exact percentage on something like that, if fumes from cars is so dangerous why not ban driving? They’re certainly going the right way about it by wanting to raise the petrol prices YET AGAIN at the beginning of next year.

If smoking is so dangerous and the government cared one iota about the publics health then they’d make it illegal to smoke at all, stop putting these bans everywhere. I have smoked since I was 16, that’s ten years now, ten years ago you used to be able to smoke in pubs and clubs, anywhere you want, now it’s hard to imagine any such thing even existed. In 2006 the smoking ban hit pubs hard because people stood outside most of the time, a majority of the customers were outside, non smokers alike as they stood with their smoker friends.

At first it was hard, I hated the smoking ban, now I’m used to it, it’s so much better standing in a pub without a cloud of toxic smoke hanging above your head, not going home with a tight chest at the end of the night, sucking the oxygen out of the room. The smoking ban was a good thing.

My mother stopped smoking after 30 plus years, she went on the nicotine patches for a few months and eventually stopped, yeah she put on weight, apparently everyone does when they quit but she’s managed to stop since 2003. She had NO will power and she accomplished it, so the smell of smoke in the house went away which I was also glad about.

So yeah places you live and go to socialize it’s better not to smoke in doors, it’s helped people cut down too, but trying to put a ban on smoking in cars is absolutely pathetic and something that definitely should not go through. If you want to smoke in your own house you can, because you pay for that house, it’s your property. I’m paying for the right to smoke in my car, I pay the road tax, I pay the insurance, I pay for the repairs, I pay for everything so what’s the big fucking deal?

The big fucking deal apparently is that little children in cars are subjected to the smoke in the cars, if you’re driving, don’t get me wrong but a majority of the smoke goes out of the window, I’m not saying it’s okay but my mother has smoked around me for years before I even started smoking and it never did me any harm. I don’t smoke around children anyway and I’m quite courteous when it comes to smoking around people who don’t smoke. I’ll walk away or keep it away from them, but if they’re getting in my car, they know I smoke in my car, they’re getting in at their own risk, no one has ever told me not to smoke in my own car, that’s like me going into their house and telling them to change the channel. (Although I do tend to do that sometimes being the cheeky bastard that I am.)

Not just the children thing though, apparently it distracts you from driving, it’s never once distracted me from driving, I’ve never had a near miss because I was lighting up a cigarette, I heard some stupid cow on the radio say how her friend dropped her cigarette on herself, it distracted her, it made her take her eyes off the road and she crashed. Well that’s not because she was smoking, that’s because she was a poor driver and had her priorities wrong.

The fact is smoking in cars should be perfectly acceptable, there’s nothing more I enjoy than having a cigarette on the way to work or after a hard days work and travelling home. Stop trying to take our liberties away from us, liberties we have earned, scientists can tell us smoking is bad for us until they’re blue in the face but the fact is, WE KNOW! It’s on every cigarette packet, every advert break, we know it’s bad for your health but the thing is, what the fuck isn’t these days? You think smoking is the only thing that causes cancer? You’re dead wrong, cancer can hit at any time and without warning even to non smokers.

You think it’s the only thing that causes heart attacks and heart disease? Maybe you should be looking into the fatty foods that the fat fucks indulge themselves on. I’m not health conscious because for all I know, I could get hit by a car tomorrow, I could be shot, stabbed, robbed, raped, flat-out murdered. Stop worrying about the future and concentrate on the now.

But I’m not just going to end this rant like that, if there’s one thing I know, it’s to add a twist to my stories and I have a twist for you, one you never saw coming.

I’m quitting smoking.

To Be Continued…

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

10 thoughts on “The Smoking Ban”

  1. I hated the smoking ban. Not because I’m a smoker- infact I’ve never even tried a cigarette- but because of something much more bizarre… the nights out! Take Rock City for instance. A good night out usually consisted of coming out of the place after a gig smelling of spilt alcohol, sweat, and other people’s smoke. It was amazing.

    Yeah, I told you it was strange. True though. I still miss it now!

    But anyway, I don’t think people should be banned from smoking in their cars- the cars belong to them, afterall! The government used to tell us that smoking was good for us, and then the ‘dangers’ started to emerge. I’m obviously not denying that smoking is dangerous, but my point is that things change. The reason the government don’t ban smoking altogether is that they recieve a lot of money from the companies that make the cigarettes… it’s just a completely twisted and corrupt subject. The government should focus on more important things.

  2. I was a social smoker. . .worst was when I went to the local blues clubs. ..I would go through a whole pack like the moron that is me and then wake up the next morning with a killer headache and killer crankiness to match it.

    E-cigarettes helped me kick it altogether. I hated the taste of smoke and the smell! And now that the clubs are smoke-free here in the state of Missouri, I’m mostly home eating too much chocolate instead.

    (Anna, that part about the sweat and smoke smell was too funny.)

    1. E-cigarettes? What the hell are they? Do you e-mail nicotine into your brain? 😀

      Blues clubs, I wish we had blues clubs over here, we just get pill popping disco biscuit music clubs. 😦

  3. Since you found my site when looking for dogs who blog I thought I’d stop on by and check out yours. Nice to meet you.

    1. Nice to meet you too 🙂 thanks for stopping by, before a few days go I didn’t know there was such a thing as dogs that blog. How do they move the mouse!? :-/

  4. HI Pete, As you know i also did a post on smoking inside. I agree that they should not try to stop you smoking in your car, but i have not done it for about 8 years anyway.
    I am totally against smoking when there are kids in the car, we are imposing our will on them and they have no say.
    The 23% comes about by running the machine in a clean air car, and then smoking a cig and that tells the % of bad air.
    I started smoking when i was about 14, that is 52 years ago, i have tried to give up, i’ve had a heart attack, so i’m going to give it one last try.

    Can’t wait to read the next part.

  5. Good for you!
    Now, I agree – its really bad for you but I think we should be able to smoke in our own property and, say 25 feet from the entrance to any public building. I don’t believe that the government should be able to tell us to stop that. But… Then you open the discussion of people who smoke that don’t have health insurance and in those cases the government would pick up the hospital bill when their lungs give out, so ????
    In any case, I’ve kicked a lot of vices and smoking was definitely THE SINGLE hardest one. I even still puff on a fag maybe once every 5 or 6 weeks when I get a strong urge. Smoked from age 25 til last August (22 yrs) when my boyfriend and I both quit. I can indulge once in awhile like I said but he knows he can’t so he’s never picked another one up. 🙂 Strong willed.
    I hope you do it. It’s nice not to wake up with the taste in your mouth and I don’t miss the smell on my hands and my clothes. My lungs feel lighter and things taste better… All good things 🙂 You can do it.
    Cheers!

  6. It’s fun reading your posts backwards. I haven’t read your blog for a week or so now and now I read the posts from newest to oldest. I find it makes things more interesting hah.

    I’m not surprised of the bombshell you dropped about quitting smoking because I just read it in your other post 😛

Leave a Reply

